Matrix Theory

Wolfgang

Apr 29, 2002
Riddle Realms
wolfgang.clubsnap.org
This might contain some paragraphs that a few may consider, spoilers. Therefore, do not read if you are adverse to them.

Disclaimer: I didn't write this. It was forwarded to me via email and i thought it would be fun to share it with y'all. :)

Cheers! :)

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

Add on note: The subsequent postings by fellow CS members do contain major direct spoilers so read on at your own risk! :)

Matrix Theory Explained

Zion is a program, just like the Matrix. How is
Neo able to figure out that
he is able to stop the sentinels in Zion near
the end of the film? The
spoon given to him earlier. It had obviously
been bent loads, but how
outside the Matrix?? This gave Neo the
inspiration and the understanding
that Zion is still a matrix.

"The One" is a program, but has to be "attached"
to someone in the Matrix.
So Mr. Anderson got it in the 6th version of the
Matrix. Then "The One"
program's purpose is to allow Zion to be
destroyed then to rebuild it. The
reason for this is because of anomalies - the
1% of humans that don't
accept the Matrix. These are all brought out of
the Matrix program and into
the Zion program by the "Morpheus" program and
other similar "ship captain"
programs. Then once all the anomalies are out of
the Matrix (and in Zion),
that is the time for Zion to be destroyed, thus
killing all the anomalies
off. The Matrix is then upgraded, thus creating
the next version of the
Matrix, but Zion must be rebuilt so that the
next lot of anomalies can be
brought out again so that they can be destroyed.
This is the feedback-loop, and is the reason to
retain a handful of people
so that Zion can be rebuilt. So this is why Neo
said the
prophecy was a lie - the One's purpose was not
to end the war as the
prophecy stated.

Unfortunately, "The One" program must be re-used
each time, or copied, so it
can be "attached" to a new anomaly inside the
Matrix.
So what happens to the old "The One" program?
It faces deletion, and as the
Oracle explained, it goes into exile instead,
just like the French bloke
(the Merovingian) did. He was the first One
(probably from the second
version of the Matrix), and once he fulfilled
his duty, he became an exile
program and "abdicated" his "Oneness" by
choosing Persephone and power. This
is evident in the bogs when Persephone asks Neo
to kiss her. She says she
wants him to kiss her so she can feel what it is
like again to be kissed by
something close to human, just like the
Merovingian used to be. Then she
says to Trinity that she envies her, but that
these things are not meant to
last. So the Merovingian used to be just like
Neo - a One - thus proving
further the feedback-loop explained earlier.

The correct door in the Architect's room
Now there are two possibilities here:

1. All the previous One's chose the right door
allowing a "temporary
dissemination" of their code into the Matrix
(i.e., the code they "carry"
thus indicating Neo is indeed human), then he
must select (unplug) 23 people
from the Matrix to rebuild Zion. This takes away
the possibility that
stories from previous rebuilds of Zion will be
carried through. But Morpheus
indicated in the first Matrix that this is the
case anyway. He said, "there
was a man born inside, able to change things, it
was he who freed the first
of us," - basically the One previous to Neo. And
this proves that the
previous One chose the right door also. Neo's
purpose is also to choose the
right door, but he does not because he faces
deletion afterwards and has the
choice of going into exile - programs choosing
to go into exile is the one
thing that can't be accounted for in program
parameters. Thus, he chooses
the left door instead this time. How was Neo
able to choose the other door?
Because of his extreme willpower? - Even the
Architect indicated that he'd
noticed this - "Interesting. That was quicker
than the others." Or more
likely, because the Oracle upgraded his coding
with the candy on the park
bench. The candy/cookie was a method to change
the One's program. She said
he has made a believer out of her - this is
quite human-like and perhaps the
previous One's didn't accept the upgrade candy,
now she has hope... hope
that Neo will finally choose the other door.

2. All the previous One's chose the left door,
saving Trinity and letting
Zion fall. So this time is no different. But the
Architect does say, "You
are here because Zion is about to be destroyed.
Its every living inhabitant
terminated, its entire existence eradicated,"
and also, "this will be the
sixth time we have destroyed it, and we have
become exceedingly efficient at
it," - assuming the Architect isn't lying, then
they have already destroyed
Zion (i.e., Zion has fallen) five times - i.e.,
the result of going through
the left door.

Morpheus and Trinity are programs.
Morpheus's purpose was to find the One and
deliver him to the Architect.
Trinity's purpose is to control the One by
getting in love with him. Trinity
is supposed to be the mother of the new One
every time the Matrix is
Reloaded. That's why the sex scene was so
important and why she was named
Trinity.

The Architect says, "she is going to die, and
there is nothing that you can
do to stop it." He was correct though because
she did die just like Neo did
in the first Matrix (Oracle said he or Morpheus
would, and she didn't lie,
but he came back to life). Trinity dies, but
comes back to life (we are
using medical definition of death in all this of
course!).

The Architect has already laid down an ultimatum
for Neo choosing the left
door:
The Architect - "Failure to comply with this
process will result in a
cataclysmic system crash killing everyone
connected to the matrix, which
coupled with the extermination of Zion will
ultimately result in the
extinction of the entire human race."
Neo - "You won't let it happen, you can't. You
need human beings to
survive."
The Architect - "There are levels of survival
we are prepared to accept.
However, the relevant issue is whether or not
you are ready to accept the
responsibility for the death of every human
being in this world."

Looking at this further, the Architect does
say "coupled" with the
extermination of Zion will the human race be
exterminated. So he says
everyone connected to the Matrix will die, but
if Zion is not exterminated,
the human race will not necessarily die. Also,
there is likely to be a
time-window between not going through the right
door, and the cataclysmic
crash, thus allowing Neo to unplug as many as
possible from the Matrix, then
those people won't die. This will be the start
of the next Zion. As for the
Matrix, a cataclysmic crash doesn't mean the end
of the Matrix - just needs
rebooting or reloading!

Agent Smith is the only "human" in this world.
He's the one spreading
himself like a virus replicating himself over
and over until the Matrix will
finally get overloaded and fail. Smith is the
one who wants to get out of
the Matrix for good. He said so in the first
Matrix, "I must get out of
here, I must get free! And in this mind, is the
key," squeezing Morpheus's
temples, "my key! Once Zion is destroyed, there
is no need for me to be
here!"Smith knows that by killing Neo he can
escape the Matrix because Neo
is the key to resetting the Matrix, or to shut
it off. It was originally
killing Neo (in the first Matrix) that allowed
Smith to become powerful
(cloning ability) - so killing Neo again will
allow him to gain Neo's powers
completely, and thus gain the power to shut down
the Matrix.

So where the hell did Smith come from if he
wants to destroy the Matrix?
He's obviously not meant to be there - he's a
computer virus as he has every
characteristic of a virus - he multiplies and
spreads and infects (and
emulates) other programs like one. He is exactly
as he described humans at
the end of the first Matrix - "You move to an
area and you multiply and
multiply until every natural resource is
consumed and the only way you can
survive is to spread to another area. There is
another organism on this
planet that follows the same pattern. Do you
know what it is? A virus." But
who put him there? This will only be revealed in
Revolutions (Revelations?)
I guess - but I'm betting on humans in the real
real world, i.e., outside of
Zion and the Matrix. They're at war with the
machines and trying to destroy
them by infecting them with this virus - Agent
Smith. So the irony with this
theory is that Agent Smith represents the human
race!! Neo represents the
machines! Agent Smith says to Neo just after
he's seen the Oracle that he
became free when Neo destroyed him in the first
Matrix (remember when Neo
entered his body and exploded him from inside
out) - as a virus, Smith has
the ability to "inherit" other programs'
abilities and thus inherited some
of Neo's.

To be Cont'd

Cont'd

The anomaly is all the humans that do not accept
the Matrix. The Architect
says "Your life is the sum of a remainder of an
unbalanced equation inherent
to the programming of the matrix. You are the
eventuality of an anomaly,
which despite my sincerest efforts I have been
unable to eliminate from what
is otherwise a harmony of mathematical
precision. While it remains a burden
to sedulously avoid it, it is not unexpected,
and thus not beyond a measure
of control." This includes Neo, but Neo's Matrix
One program so that he can follow his purpose as
explained earlier under
"The One explained".

However, he is also supposed to protect himself
and destroy anything that
gets in his way - i.e., Agent Smith - so that he
may fulfil his purpose.
Further proving Neo - and other non-accepters of
the Matrix - are the
anomaly, the Architect says,"Your life is the
sum of a remainder of an
unbalanced equation inherent to the programming
of the matrix." The clue
here is Neo's program name - "The One". Take one-
third for example. 1 over
3 is 0.33333 recurring. A computer cannot deal
with recurring numbers, so
must accept a limit, let's say 0.33333 for
argument's sake. Multiply by 3,
you get 0.99999 - never 1.00000, where has
the "remainder" 0.00001 (One)
gone? This is the limitation of computers, this
is the mathematical
imprecision inherent in programming (of the
Matrix) and the eventuality of
the One anomaly unable to be eliminated.

What is the equation then? Not sure, but it
definitely involves pi. The
Keymaker refers to the window of time to open
the door to the mainframe as
314 seconds. 3.14 is pi to three sig. figs., or
the number of radians in
half a circle. Half a circle is like the cross-
section of a womb, similar to
the alcove of Neo and Trinity's love scene -
conceiving the next One? "NEO",
incidently, is an anagram of "ONE". Trinity and
Neo - one on one; a
choice - one or one. Leads us to 101. "101" is
mentioned numerous times in
Matrix 1 and Reloaded.
Neo's room at the beginning, Merovingian is on
the 101st floor, the 101
freeway of the car chase in Reloaded, then when
Trinity is hacking into the
power plant system, she resets the password
toZ10N0101. Freaky. Indicates
that she is a program because that's not
some random password she's put in. 101 is binary
for 5, which in zero-based
binary counting: 000 is 1, 001, is 2, 010 is 3,
011 is 4, 100 is 5, 101 is
6 - And this is the 6th version of the Matrix!
Then there's 303. 303 is the room Neo got shot
in Matrix 1, the Oracle
lives in room 303, it's also the hotel room
number Trinity is
in in Matrix 1 and it's seen at the end when Neo
fights the Agents and Smith
and begins to literally see the code that makes
up the Matrix. 101 x 3 =
303, a trilogy, 3 + 0 + 3 = 6 = the 6th
Matrix.Trinity means 3.

Who is the "mother" that the Architect refers
to? The Architect says,
"Please," in an almost disapproving sense when
Neo suggests the Oracle, but
does not reveal who it really is or even
directly that Neo is wrong. The
architect was the one who created the Matrix;
the co-creator is neither
Persephone nor the Oracle. Both of them are only
programs that have a
purpose in the matrix, just like the rest. The
Architect is in charge of the
Matrix world and the co-creator is in charge of
Zion. She has almost the
same age as the Architect. Therefore, that woman
is the Head Counsellor, the
only woman of importance that lives in Zion and
the one who asked for the
two captains to volunteer at the council
meeting. She's the one who knew all
along about the Matrix. She was the one who told
Zion's Defence Minister to
cool off and to let Morpheus do his work so
things could go as planned. Or
alternatively, it could indeed be the Oracle.
She is the only program that
truly wants humans to have a free choice... at
the same time, she sees the
future, because she knows the program code - she
is like God - which is why
Seraph protects her - see "Who is Seraph?" below.

What's so special about Neo's avatar? Neo is a
skilled hacker, and his
avatar in the Matrix is based on the person that
founded the AI of the
original machines that eventually took over the
world... How? Take a look at
the disc he gave to the bloke at the door at the
beginning of Matrix 1. It
said "DISC AI" on it. The hollowed book Neo
takes the disc out of is
"Simulacra and Simulation" - a collection of
essays by the French
postmodernist philosopher Jean Baudrillard. He
opens it to the section "on
Nihilism" (meaning nothing is truly known,
etc.). "Baudrillard's concept of
simulation is the creation of the real through
conceptual or 'mythological'
models which have no connection or origin in
reality. The model becomes the
determinant of our perception of reality--the
real." And Morpheus says,
"Welcome to the desert of the real," in Matrix
1. I'd say this book
describes The Matrix to a tee. So this disc
contains the key to the AI, and
thus how to destroy the machines, so I think
they'll use this info in
Revolutions to ultimately destroy the machines,
which means he'll have to go
back to the nightclub and find the guy he gave
it to.

Who is Seraph? The reason Seraph (the chink guy
Neo meets before meeting the
Oracle) had golden code and was so spectacular
is that he came from the
first incarnation of the matrix, which was
heaven. "Seraph" is singular for
the plural "seraphim". The seraphim are the
highest choir of angels and
included amongst others: Lucifer, Gabriele,
Raziel and Malaciah, and they
sit on the 8th level of Heaven just one below
God. So Seraph will obviously
have a big part in Revolutions, but whose side
will he be on - the machines
or the humans?? That is the question.

The Twins
They are exiled programs that emulate the human
myth of ghosts as the Oracle
explained. They are programs behaving badly.
Persephone killed one of the
Merovingian's bodyguards with a silver bullet
because he was emulating a
werewolf. So if the Twins could phase into ghost
form, why didn't he when
his arm was trapped in the door of the garage?
Was it because he was wounded
or because he can't phase when his arm is
trapped? No of course not. The
doors of that building, when shut, always led
somewhere else(usually in the
mountains) when opened again without the
Keymaker's key. So if it were
slammed shut due to the Twin phasing into ghost
form, the Twin's arm
would've ended up god knows where, but certainly
not attached to the Twin's body.

End

:bigeyes: read until i :faint:

Time to watch the final episode!! :D

:what: :what: :what:

Too complicated for me to digest...:p

Let's watch Nemo instead...:D

StreetShooter said:
There are lots of things I would like to discuss...
... but I'm getting a headache.

Well, i would like to but i will wait till i finish watching Revolutions. :)

AReality said:
Read liao dun understand leh...

Heheh.. me too, i had to keep re-reading it just to try to make sense of it. :)

SniperD said:
this is so cool.. finally.. everything's explained.... thattotals the missing variants of the long equation...

thanks wolfie...

hehe.. well, it is after all only a theory so don't take it as absolute.. watch the final movie and then see if this guy is right. ;)

I must catch the final part of the Matrix to put the whole puzzle together...

can only digest the part about the Twins' arm thing.. the rest... uh... :dunno:

"What is the Matrix?"
"The Matrix is a trilogy of screenings for humans to think that there was one complete story, but was too long for one single sitting, and hence cut into three portions so as to get the maximum $$$ from the humans who think they're out of the Matrix."

hm... interesting
Similar to what my lecturer explained in his lessons.... :think:

The maths part is the "ONE" i dont understand because i have little liking towards mathematics :bsmilie:

My head is spinning. I think i'm going to... :ipuke:

What's intriguing is whether the producers of the movie (lets assume the analysis is correct) had pre-conceptualised the entire movie prior, established and linked up the identity of all the characters as presented in the analysis.

On one hand, too many coincidences (e.g 101, 303, AI etc...) makes one believe that the relationships were crystalised prior and were how the producers wanted us to connect the roles of the characters and events. On the other hand however, the extensive details (like the theory of the philosopher) and the interwinning and intricate web linking the characters and events appear beyond human's imagination.

:sweat:

And like what most people would say

WHA KAN CHEEM AR.

That was an interesting read.. Time to obtain matrix 1 and 2.. Then watch 3... then buy 3.. then watch all them 3 and come up with a theory..

Anyway, i admire the fella who wrote this "theory". He really spent his time devising the whole plot.. Hell, the numbers part was amazing..

Soo many smart people in the world.. :)

i'm back from revolutions. well everything that was written doesn't exist...

but still the guy who wrote this must have had a really imaginitive mind so he deserves some credit

Watched it liaoz, disapointed....I dono why suddenly Smith can fly and why Oracle and Neo choose suicide? And the how come Smith die like dat.

My theory is Neo somehow corrupted the program Smith in part1 so he becomes like a virus and since Neo started it he must finish process by he himself being assimilated. Actually Virus-Smith is the bargain chip without whom Neo wouldnt be able to secure the freedom of Zion.