Markins M10 + Gitzo G1541T


nerdie

New Member
Feb 14, 2002
1,066
0
0
37
#1
Hi, noobie question but i have no experience with tripods and ballheads..

Can the Markins M10 go with Gitzo G1541T? I was thinking of getting the Q3T to go with G1541T, but may get the M10 instead..

Advice appreciated, thanks!
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,645
63
48
lil red dot
#2
Should fit. Ballheads and tripods use pretty standard screws. Only 2 kinds out there, and you can get adapters.
 

Kit

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
11,691
42
48
42
Upper Bukit Timah
Visit site
#3
Hi, noobie question but i have no experience with tripods and ballheads..

Can the Markins M10 go with Gitzo G1541T? I was thinking of getting the Q3T to go with G1541T, but may get the M10 instead..

Advice appreciated, thanks!
Markins will match Gitzos. Why do you need an M10? A Q3T will meet requirements of most users.
 

nerdie

New Member
Feb 14, 2002
1,066
0
0
37
#4
Might get a 2nd hand M10 that's for sale.. about the price of a new Q3T
However, i just found out the Gitzo G1541T won't be able to fold with the M10
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#5
Hi, noobie question but i have no experience with tripods and ballheads..

Can the Markins M10 go with Gitzo G1541T? I was thinking of getting the Q3T to go with G1541T, but may get the M10 instead..

Advice appreciated, thanks!
It fits bro.. They all have standard threads... i m using a M10 :)
 

nerdie

New Member
Feb 14, 2002
1,066
0
0
37
#6
numnum: which tripod are u using with the m10?
 

Leong23

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2007
3,186
5
0
within myself
#7
It will fit, but it will be a bit top heavy when using M10 on 1 series tripod.

M10 fitted more nicely on 2 series tripod.

Q3T is specially design for G1541T, so that it can fold in to be more compact.
 

#8
Might get a 2nd hand M10 that's for sale.. about the price of a new Q3T
However, i just found out the Gitzo G1541T won't be able to fold with the M10
You are right, you won't be able to fold a G1541T if you have a M10. Perhaps, you should get a Q3T instead.

It fits bro.. They all have standard threads... i m using a M10 :)
He's talking about the (180 degree) folding of the tripod. Not if they fit.
 

Feb 3, 2010
556
0
0
East
#9
What are you using to require M10. Q3T and 1541 more than enough, for me 7D and 7-200mm also can.
 

cubo21

New Member
Jun 28, 2009
104
0
0
West
#10
Can I check whether this set up can support a 100-400mm lens? Any lower cost setup for canon500D with a 100-400mm lens?
 

nerdie

New Member
Feb 14, 2002
1,066
0
0
37
#11
What are you using to require M10. Q3T and 1541 more than enough, for me 7D and 7-200mm also can.
I may get a 2nd hand M10, which is about the price of a Q3T..

You are right, you won't be able to fold a G1541T if you have a M10. Perhaps, you should get a Q3T instead.


He's talking about the (180 degree) folding of the tripod. Not if they fit.
Yup, you are right, about the 180 flip :)

It will fit, but it will be a bit top heavy when using M10 on 1 series tripod.

M10 fitted more nicely on 2 series tripod.

Q3T is specially design for G1541T, so that it can fold in to be more compact.
2 series a bit heavy though.


The G1541T is not very tall unfortunately, so i'm still thinking about it..
There's this brand called Power Clam, looks very similar to the Markins
 

jnet6

Senior Member
Apr 21, 2004
8,179
0
36
not here often anymore
#12
The G1541T is not very tall unfortunately, so i'm still thinking about it..
There's this brand called Power Clam, looks very similar to the Markins
It is actually called Photo Clamp, heard that Jin Studio is the distributor. However no offical news yet.
 

justarius

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2003
1,226
0
36
Northeast
Visit site
#13
Was using an M10 with the G1541T; as others noted, it doesn't fold properly neatly, unlike the new design Q3T (which is way better).

As you pointed out, it's not tall though. To put it an eye level, you need to nearly fully extend the central column, compromising stability especially with big mama lenses. A 2 series will really be much better.

If you are using big mama lens on that combi (M10 + G1541T), it may be liable to be top heavy (cos ball head is big too) once central column fully extended.
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#15
The G1541T is not very tall unfortunately, so i'm still thinking about it..
There's this brand called Power Clam, looks very similar to the Markins
Bro, get the 2 series and ur problem will goes away..

its not tt heavy comparing to the 1 series.. :)
 

nerdie

New Member
Feb 14, 2002
1,066
0
0
37
#16
brudder u r too tall for the g1541t.. unless u intend to squat and bend over :sweat:

ryan
That's holding me back! And the fact that if i get a D700, i may have to get a new plate ;|

Bro, get the 2 series and ur problem will goes away..

its not tt heavy comparing to the 1 series.. :)
Haha, thanks.. to clairfy, 1XXX, 2XXX, 3XXX all differ in terms of height is it?
 

Top Bottom