Marina Bay Sand at night


bambang

New Member
Nov 28, 2010
48
0
0
#1
Hi Guys

Please C&C my picture below. Thanks a lot ;) Why my picture looks blur (not sharp)? Is it something wrong with my camera setting or lens problem?:confused:





1. In which area is critique or feedback to be given?
Exposure, composition and overall image

2. What were you hoping to achieve with this image?
To get a sharper night scene picture.

3. Under what circumstance was the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
night shooting without flash. Using remote and tripod, 0"8 F4.5 ISO 100, Sigma 28-300.

4. Thread-starter's personal thoughts about the image.
i feel picture not sharp and I need input to get sharper one.
 

intikhab76

New Member
Mar 22, 2010
230
2
0
Tampines
www.flickr.com
#2
Hi TS,

Here's my opinion for the image you posted above;

The image looks ok but it lacks in sharpness due to your F stop. If you want the whole building captured sharp that is getting a deeper depth of field, your aperture need to be at least f11 -f16.

Composition wise, you've zoomed in quite a fair bit which makes the image look as a tight crop.

With ISO at base 100, you've got that right and with the use of tripod :thumbsup:

You also need to note that if you're using a tripod remember to switch the IS (Image Stabilizer) off. Cause it starts to works the opposite way unless the cam is hand held.

Try to look and study the settings our landscape specialist here in this Forum, shoot more and see the difference. You'll improve for sure and that comes with practice & patience.
 

Last edited:

sinned79

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2009
10,868
3
0
Singapore
www.aboutlove.sg
#3
Camera Maker: Canon

Camera Model: Canon EOS 550D

Image Date: 2010-12-31 22:46:51 +0800

Focal Length: 28.0mm

Aperture: f/3.5

Exposure Time: 1.300 s

ISO equiv: 100

Exposure Bias: +2.00 EV

Metering Mode: Matrix

Exposure: shutter priority (semi-auto)

White Balance: Auto

Flash Fired: No (enforced)

Orientation: Normal

Color Space: sRGB

GPS Coordinate: undefined, undefined
 

uranium2k

New Member
Feb 26, 2008
212
0
0
manbehindcamera.blogspot.com
#4
It's probably not sharp because of the aperture u r using. Try closing the aperture further to f16. You can expose the shot longer in compensation. It'll probably be sharper but still will not be super sharp because of the physical limitation of the lens u r using. :)
 

kei1309

Senior Member
Apr 12, 2010
7,321
23
38
Earth
www.facebook.com
#5
just so in case you head back there for a sharper shot, do take note that the composition is off on this one. don't cut off the buildings half-way, and if there are nice reflections of light on the water, you might wanna fit them into the frame too...

lest you go there, come back with a sharper image... and everyone tells you to head back there for a better composition :D
 

Abbot Man

New Member
Aug 4, 2009
181
0
0
gallery.me.com
#6
Hi TS,
The image looks ok but it lacks in sharpness due to your F stop. If you want the whole building captures sharp that is getting a deeper depth of field, your aperture need to be at least f11 -f16. .
The picture does look not very sharp; but is it really due to Depth of Field ? F-stop isn't the only factor that determines Depth of Field. The subject is easily 100m away and the focal length used is 28mm. The calculated estimated Depth of Field is about 87.3 m in front of the subject and infinite behind the subject. Unless the focus point is not at the building I would expect a reasonable sharp image even if TS is using f/3.5, focal lenght 28mm and at that shooting distance.
 

Alpina

New Member
May 5, 2010
378
0
0
#7
hi TS, may i ask why you chose to use shutter priority?
 

phazed1

New Member
Jan 19, 2009
276
0
0
#8
Agree with Abottman, should be sharp at infinity. Looks like some type of blur caused by vibration - wind?
 

#9
Kudos to bro sinned79 to attach the EXIF data for the convenience of other bros. :thumbsup:

Camera Maker: Canon
Aperture: f/3.5
Exposure Time: 1.300 s
ISO equiv: 100
Exposure Bias: +2.00 EV
Metering Mode: Matrix
Exposure: shutter priority (semi-auto)
White Balance: Auto
Firstly the aperture is too wide for such shots, was TS shooting handheld such that you were forced to use shutter priority and large aperture? A decent aperture to use would be about f/11, you might want to read and learn about hyperfocal distances as well. :)
 

lioneldude

New Member
Nov 11, 2007
803
0
0
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#11
When I saw this, I thought it is:

1. Out of focus.
2. Camera shake (unlikely) - Remember to off IS and enable mirror lock. Use cable release or 2 sec timer.

P.S. Please get the name of the building spelt correctly. Sands, not Sand.
 

Last edited:

ZerocoolAstra

Senior Member
Mar 13, 2008
9,522
0
0
rainy Singapore
#12
The picture does look not very sharp; but is it really due to Depth of Field ? F-stop isn't the only factor that determines Depth of Field. The subject is easily 100m away and the focal length used is 28mm. The calculated estimated Depth of Field is about 87.3 m in front of the subject and infinite behind the subject. Unless the focus point is not at the building I would expect a reasonable sharp image even if TS is using f/3.5, focal lenght 28mm and at that shooting distance.
I would be inclined to concur with you there.
Don't think the aperture is the main reason for the lack of sharpness.
probably stopping down would improve sharpness a bit (lens' "sweet spot"), but f/3.5 and focusing so far away would have sufficient depth of field for sure. Shouldn't be so blur.

My guess is the lack of stability of the support system, and possibly not turning off IS (if lens is IS-capable).

Composition also not pleasing though. Such a tight crop...
 

coolthought

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2008
2,310
1
0
#13
are you using a tripod?
mentioned, he is using a tripod.

TS. what tripod were you using?

I would be inclined to concur with you there.
Don't think the aperture is the main reason for the lack of sharpness.
probably stopping down would improve sharpness a bit (lens' "sweet spot"), but f/3.5 and focusing so far away would have sufficient depth of field for sure. Shouldn't be so blur.

My guess is the lack of stability of the support system, and possibly not turning off IS (if lens is IS-capable).

Composition also not pleasing though. Such a tight crop...
the sigma 28-300 has no os.
 

brapodam

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2009
1,672
4
38
AMK
#15
From what I see, it looks like misfocus not due to aperture size (since I don't see any part of the photo sharp at all), or camera shake. Could be that the tripod not strong enough + strong wind or something.
 

bambang

New Member
Nov 28, 2010
48
0
0
#16
Thanks everyone for the positive comments and advises.I'm a newbie , therefore i'm not familar with the setting but i'll try. For the above picture i used tripod,w.remote,TV function and sigma28-300 non OS lens. I heard my friend said 28mm should be able to capture the whole marina bay sand but my one why cannot!!?? I never crop the picture but i reduced the size. Now i abit confuse.I don't know where go wrong???:confused:
 

sinned79

Senior Member
Jun 18, 2009
10,868
3
0
Singapore
www.aboutlove.sg
#17
I heard my friend said 28mm should be able to capture the whole marina bay sand but my one why cannot!!??
cos ur camera is not a FF camera but a crop body. hence 28mm isn't really 28mm taken into account the crop factor of 1.6. so its actually 28mm x 1.6 (which gives 45mm isn't really wide enough), u will need something wider like 10-22mm (for crop bodies) if u want to capture the whole building.
 

Last edited:

coolthought

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2008
2,310
1
0
#18
Thanks everyone for the positive comments and advises.I'm a newbie , therefore i'm not familar with the setting but i'll try. For the above picture i used tripod,w.remote,TV function and sigma28-300 non OS lens. I heard my friend said 28mm should be able to capture the whole marina bay sand but my one why cannot!!?? I never crop the picture but i reduced the size. Now i abit confuse.I don't know where go wrong???:confused:
You need a lens that can shoot wider. From a similar location like yours, shooting at 18mm and it was just wide enough with hardly any breathing space.

I think the concern here should be the quality of the image.
 

bambang

New Member
Nov 28, 2010
48
0
0
#20
All of my picture is not sharp(blur).Is my lens got problem? What can i do with my lens ?It still under warranty.Do i need to buy new lens? What are the lens i should buy?
 

Top Bottom