Macbook Pro 4GB memory upgrade


Status
Not open for further replies.
#1
Anyone has upgraded their Macbook Pro memory to 4GB on their own? Where can i buy the RAM locally. Plan to upgrade mine to 4GB, so far online is selling ~USD49 - USD60 for the 2 pairs of 2GB...

Any recommendation which brand... how is crucial memory ?

Thanks
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#2
i would suggest buying from SLS, look for shops that knows their stuff
make sure the ram that you bought can work with your mac
make sure that you have a warranty
keep the receipt

if possible, install on the spot and test

i normally buy from SGL or memory world
 

Dec 23, 2007
1,287
2
0
#3
Anyone has upgraded their Macbook Pro memory to 4GB on their own? Where can i buy the RAM locally. Plan to upgrade mine to 4GB, so far online is selling ~USD49 - USD60 for the 2 pairs of 2GB...

Any recommendation which brand... how is crucial memory ?

Thanks
There are many ways in doing that.

1) go back to apple store and ask them to upgrade for you. This usually very costly.
2) got to SLS and get those laptop repair store to change for you. This service charges
need to be included
3) open up the keyboard and insert yourself. This you might void the warranty if there is a
seal sticker over it.

So depend if your Macbook pro still under warranty or not ... you might want to do step 3 yourself. cheaper. Of course you must also know what type of RAM macbook pro can handle (ie: bus speed) so that u can max up the speed.

PS: Im a mac user and I do my own harddisk and RAM replacement.

Hopefully these information helps.
 

#4
i would suggest buying from SLS, look for shops that knows their stuff
make sure the ram that you bought can work with your mac
make sure that you have a warranty
keep the receipt

if possible, install on the spot and test

i normally buy from SGL or memory world
Thanks will check them out :)

There are many ways in doing that.

1) go back to apple store and ask them to upgrade for you. This usually very costly.
2) got to SLS and get those laptop repair store to change for you. This service charges
need to be included
3) open up the keyboard and insert yourself. This you might void the warranty if there is a
seal sticker over it.

So depend if your Macbook pro still under warranty or not ... you might want to do step 3 yourself. cheaper. Of course you must also know what type of RAM macbook pro can handle (ie: bus speed) so that u can max up the speed.

PS: Im a mac user and I do my own harddisk and RAM replacement.

Hopefully these information helps.
Thanks...im going for option 3, mine still has warranty, they will only void the warranty for the RAM, the rest of the macbook will still be valid. Only problem is getting the RAM, any recommendation to where i can get it locally ? Else i will buy them online if its cheaper...
 

jnet6

Senior Member
Apr 21, 2004
8,179
0
36
not here often anymore
#5
i would suggest buying from SLS, look for shops that knows their stuff
make sure the ram that you bought can work with your mac
make sure that you have a warranty
keep the receipt

if possible, install on the spot and test

i normally buy from SGL or memory world
Thanks will check them out :)



Thanks...im going for option 3, mine still has warranty, they will only void the warranty for the RAM, the rest of the macbook will still be valid. Only problem is getting the RAM, any recommendation to where i can get it locally ? Else i will buy them online if its cheaper...

I rather u go for this... Can test on the spot.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#6
best go and do it at the shops.
i did mine at SGL, pop in the ram, 2 diff brands, both hang my MBP.
 

Dec 23, 2007
1,287
2
0
#7
best go and do it at the shops.
i did mine at SGL, pop in the ram, 2 diff brands, both hang my MBP.
agreed with what jeanie's advice. Bring ur mac along and ask them to test for you. those shop assistance should not have any issue for you to test. As for which shop. I usually go to SLS FUWELL ... my frz working there .. so much easy for me to Talk business with him .. lolx ..

And advice, do take note of which shop u going. some are "black listed" one.

:)
 

zekai

Senior Member
May 10, 2002
1,723
1
38
Singapore
Visit site
#8
make sure your mbp can support 4gb ram. the older version cannot.

i bought mine from sgl in sls sq, a cornershop next to the overhead bridge from sls to OG.
bought it home then pop it in.
take note must fit it fully in otherwise cannot boot up properly. hear the "click" sound.

very simple and str forward, can bring it to sgl. they can do it for you too.
they are mac expert!
 

Last edited:

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#9
Anyone has upgraded their Macbook Pro memory to 4GB on their own? Where can i buy the RAM locally. Plan to upgrade mine to 4GB, so far online is selling ~USD49 - USD60 for the 2 pairs of 2GB...

Any recommendation which brand... how is crucial memory ?

Thanks
as to how crucial the memory is...if you only use it to surf web, forget about upgrading it.

unless you do photoshop or lightrooming on the go, else, forget it too.
no point spending the additional $.

my MBP is just a storage device with a big screen to see what i've shot.so i generally use it like the LCD in my dslr..just to 'pixel-peep'....so to speak.
works like a dream.
 

theRBK

Senior Member
May 16, 2005
2,048
1
0
#10
Any recommendation which brand... how is crucial memory ?

Thanks
as to how crucial the memory is...if you only use it to surf web, forget about upgrading it.
er... could the TS be asking in this particular context and sentence construction about the brand Crucial rather than how crucial memory is ;p ... in which case I would say the brand is just fine... :)
 

#11
as to how crucial the memory is...if you only use it to surf web, forget about upgrading it.

unless you do photoshop or lightrooming on the go, else, forget it too.
no point spending the additional $.

my MBP is just a storage device with a big screen to see what i've shot.so i generally use it like the LCD in my dslr..just to 'pixel-peep'....so to speak.
works like a dream.
Thanks :)

er... could the TS be asking in this particular context and sentence construction about the brand Crucial rather than how crucial memory is ;p ... in which case I would say the brand is just fine... :)
hmm... ya u r right, im asking about the brand Crucial memeory... anyway i really appreciate the advice given by jeanie and the rest. Thanks :)

I just ordered my RAM online, got the model and specs needed, decided to take the risk hopefully it works and save few a few hundred dollars... else have to bite the bullet and head down to SGL...
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#12
er... could the TS be asking in this particular context and sentence construction about the brand Crucial rather than how crucial memory is ;p ... in which case I would say the brand is just fine... :)
oh my bad...:bsmilie:
 

#14
ram is cheap, how to save "a few hundred dollars" ?
did you get a quote from SLS?
cheap ah... really :( i have not gone down to SLS to check it out... have to wait till next month as i will be busy over the weekend or a few weekends :confused:...

some net searching is about ~260 for 2 stick i think... im buying ~$80 online... unless i kena chop or the RAM dun work then i have to :kok: myself and head down to SLS to get it... :sweat:
 

David Kwok

Senior Member
Aug 23, 2008
1,107
0
36
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#16
Which series of MacBook Pro do you own ? If it's not anything after and including Santa Rosta chipset, you will not be able to totally from the 4GB of memory.
Any SODIMM PC5300 667Mhz DDR2 memory should be able to work on your laptop.

Macbook Pro memory upgrade is done on the underneath of the laptop. The last I known is there is no stickers that will prevent you from upgrading it, so just get a cross head screw driver, unscrew the 2 screws fastening the compartment, remove the memory by lightly push the 2 side fastener away from the centre, the memory will sprint up slightly. Nothing of a rocket science here. Just be gentle on the operation, you shouldn't encounter any procedure where u need to force, at most a click or a firm slot in feeling when u install the memory.

Just for your information. Having more memory is good to have, but not necessarily make your system run faster. To fully utilitize the memory, u need memory hungry applications like Adobe CS, or run quite a few applications. If you want to have a speedy laptop, I suggest you can upgrade your harddisk to anything above 5400 rpm, or if you don't mind the heat abit, a 7200rpm one will be nice.
 

ynwa88

New Member
Mar 23, 2007
11
0
0
#17
I upgraded my MBP(2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo ) to 4GB with 2 X 2GB Kingston DDR2-SDRAM, PC2-5300, 667 MHz, 200 pins (S$55/2GB). As per David mentioned, very simple job, "nothing of a rocket science here. Just be gentle on the operation...."

If you still not sure how to do it, you can just "youtube" "how to change RAM for Macbook Pro", the movie clip will show you how to do it. ^_^

Cheers!
 

Jul 29, 2006
39
0
0
#18
Hi...

Just want to share my experience. I just upgraded my 2 year old macbook with 4 gb ram yesterday myself, in just 5 mins! I bought my 4gb ram from this guy called Sam, and he gave me instructions on how to do it. He could also do all that for you for a small fee. His website and email below:

AbSoLuT.MAC Store
eBay ID: absolut.mac
T:9798 8865
E: absolut.mac@live.com

My 2x2gb kingston ram costs me $88 (cheaper than the earlier entry that says $55 per 2gb). There are cheaper RAM but unknown brand. I decided to spend more on good branded RAM.

He also upgraded my HDD from 100gb to 320 gb, installed Mac 10.5 Leopard and iLife 08- for a unbelievably low fee! Absolutely fantastic and reliable service. I highly recommend him rather than going to wheelock place, which will cost you more than double what Sam charged me.

Check him out. It's worth your 5 mins exploring with him. My mac now runs like a dream, even tho the shell is the old while plastic one - better than the macbook you buy from the shelf (my HDD is already bigger than the standard macbook).
 

Last edited:

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#19
anyway. u can just buy some rams from SLS. PC themes or fuwell...

Kingston or Cosair will do the trick.

if dunno to install. i guess some members can offer their help in exchange for a drink or coffee right ? :bsmilie::bsmilie:

i would do it for u if i had extra time. :bsmilie:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom