MacBook Air 13" (mid-2012) for video editing?

astroboy

Oct 14, 2005
Asia
I am thinking of getting the latest MBA 13". Just wondering if it is able to handle video editing? Well, not the heavy stuff as I am not a pro post-production guy. Just basic editing with iMovie or maybe later an upgrade to FCP.

I know some of u folks will say just go for MBP, but I travel a lot and weight is a major consideration for me.

I am thinking of getting the latest MBA 13". Just wondering if it is able to handle video editing? Well, not the heavy stuff as I am not a pro post-production guy. Just basic editing with iMovie or maybe later an upgrade to FCP.

I know some of u folks will say just go for MBP, but I travel a lot and weight is a major consideration for me.

I hope you realise that MBA does not have a discrete graphics card required to run many third-party plug-ins for FCP and Motion. Also, video footage needs to be stored in a high speed disk drive. The only connector fast enough for that purpose on a MBA is the thunderbolt port. But thunderbolt harddrives are very expensive. So unless you are on a money -is -no -object, tiny -at -all-cost trajectory, MBP is a saner choice.

Thanks so much for pointing out these setbacks. I guess if I must get MBA, I am stuck with iMovie doing simple video editing? I guess will have to live with that. As for ext HD for storage, USB3.0 is not fast enough, right?

I hope you realise that MBA does not have a discrete graphics card required to run many third-party plug-ins for FCP and Motion. Also, video footage needs to be stored in a high speed disk drive. The only connector fast enough for that purpose on a MBA is the thunderbolt port. But thunderbolt harddrives are very expensive. So unless you are on a money -is -no -object, tiny -at -all-cost trajectory, MBP is a saner choice.

forget about the MBA if u want to edit videos.

astroboy said: