Mac VS Other Laptops (Video and Photo Editing)

TerHan

May 19, 2010
Yishun
www.sghuffe.com
Dear all, can i just check what is the brand of laptop you would suggest in terms of Mac or Other laptop. I heard form my friends that for video and photo editing, using Mac is better. Is that true? :) thanks...

why is it better? which friend? got his name and photo? so that we can tell from his look how reliable is he in saying this. what was his expression when he told u that? was he drunk?

There is no better, but Mac is said to be better because it has no virus issues, it just works and works efficiently, and you have access to Final Cut Studio, a powerful video editing software exclusive to the OS X platform.

I've recently switched from a Windows desktop computer to a macbook pro. Software-wise, photoshop to aperture 3.

Why? I think photoshop and aperture are 2 different kinds of software aimed at achieving different outcomes. Photoshop is better for creating composite images and doing complex image manipulations, but aperture is more suited to a photographer's workflow then a graphic designer's. I can see so many advantages as a photography enthusiast to have my photo editing software able to manage my photo libraries as well as touch up on my photos at the same time. I'd admit that photoshop is a much more powerful tool, but it has too many features I don't even need, and its too complicated. On the other hand, Aperture 3 has most of the features I require from it, plus a little more. To describe the differences of the two in another way, I found that I had change myself to adapt to using photoshop, but aperture seems to adapt to me instead. As with most apple products, it's much more user-friendly, intuitive, it's like you know what to do naturally. Aperture's better workflow also meant that I open lesser programs, the computer runs more smoothly, and I output my photos faster.

Btw, my desktop has the exact same specs as my first mbp, and the whole system lags and slows down with viewnx and photoshop open after editing a few photos. I can only do a limited number of photos before I have to restart. I don't see the same problem on a mbp.

Aperture's better workflow also meant that I open lesser programs, the computer runs more smoothly, and I output my photos faster.

Btw, my desktop has the exact same specs as my first mbp, and the whole system lags and slows down with viewnx and photoshop open after editing a few photos. I can only do a limited number of photos before I have to restart. I don't see the same problem on a mbp.

photoshop = one program

aperture = one program

my laptop's specs < new mbp, and i don't lag with photoshop + pentax photo lab open, even after 30 + photos. that only happens when i try stitching with ptgui at the same time, which is understandable.

i think your desktop really kena too much spyware, adware or something, there is no reason for a windows desktop to underperform a mac with the same specs.

photoshop = one program

aperture = one program

my laptop's specs < new mbp, and i don't lag with photoshop + pentax photo lab open, even after 30 + photos. that only happens when i try stitching with ptgui at the same time, which is understandable.

i think your desktop really kena too much spyware, adware or something, there is no reason for a windows desktop to underperform a mac with the same specs.

Well, to be fair, the desktop has a lot of junk in it, and the mbp is new. The same desktop sometimes take more than a few minutes to boot up.

you need to run a clean ship..

it's all automatic, i make my laptop do things like virus scans, malware scans and defragmentation when i sleep. :bsmilie:

Try to load your Macbook Pro like what u had done to your windows desktop and compare again. I can assure u the speed on your Macbook Pro will outperform your desktop.

I totally agree, but I have a feeling this thread is gonna turn into a windows vs mac flame war soon. :bsmilie:

It all come to if the software that you wish to for photo and video editing comes only in Mac O/S or Windows O/S.

Mac O/S --- Less likely to be attacked by virus, spyware and hackers.
Windows O/S --- Lots of application available.

That my $0.02:sweatsm:

I totally agree, but I have a feeling this thread is gonna turn into a windows vs mac flame war soon. :bsmilie:

lol. agree, that's what usually happens. i'm a mac user, i dun think i'll be going back to windows anytime soon. workflow is smoother. loading speed faster, less chances of crashing.

however if you play computer games like modern combat and stuff, maybe you might wanna stick to PC. lol. if you have some old printers that you have been using from your younger days, you might wanna stick to PC, there might be some driver problems for mac.

but getting a mac is a personal decision, dun let all the mac vs PC war get to you.

Haha.. Thanks for the feedback so far. NAh, the objective of this thread is to find out which system is more effective/suitable for photo editing. Nothing more than that, just a honest question from a newbie like me. :)

I'm a person who has a working Windows desktop and a Macbook.

The difference? Not much. Unless we are talking about the nitty gritty system configuration stuff. Like adjust the desktop size, power saving features etc. On either platform, it is named differently and located under different places (i.e. for windows -> control panel).

If you are using the same software but making a switch from Windows to OSX, I don't see any different except, now you will use cmd+whatever as compared to ctrl+watever more often.

Performance wise, when it comes to pictures editing on Photoshop, both are on par assuming the same file is being edited. I can open 20 RAW files on my Macbook and it will slow to a crawl but still manage to complete the batch editing. Likewise, my windows desktop is similar in performance when doing the same.

My desktop specs far exceeds my Macbook. A dedicated dual dvi graphics card, 2 gig ram, dual core CPU. My Macbook is the late version Macbook Aluminium. Shared graphics resources and also not as powerful when compared with my desktop.

I've recently switched from a Windows desktop computer to a macbook pro. Software-wise, photoshop to aperture 3.

Why? I think photoshop and aperture are 2 different kinds of software aimed at achieving different outcomes. Photoshop is better for creating composite images and doing complex image manipulations, but aperture is more suited to a photographer's workflow then a graphic designer's. I can see so many advantages as a photography enthusiast to have my photo editing software able to manage my photo libraries as well as touch up on my photos at the same time. I'd admit that photoshop is a much more powerful tool, but it has too many features I don't even need, and its too complicated. On the other hand, Aperture 3 has most of the features I require from it, plus a little more. To describe the differences of the two in another way, I found that I had change myself to adapt to using photoshop, but aperture seems to adapt to me instead. As with most apple products, it's much more user-friendly, intuitive, it's like you know what to do naturally. Aperture's better workflow also meant that I open lesser programs, the computer runs more smoothly, and I output my photos faster.

It looks like macs are working well for you, and that's great, but others, not so much. Here's a comment from the macrumours forum, "Originally Posted by SOLLERBOY
I'm running an i5 imac which chews the heck out of anything it wants to but it keeps tripping up on aperture 3. Very slow to respond. 100% of 8gb RAM used. 60c + Heat build up. 300+% processor power just looking at an image. Although this seems to have stopped when the new update was installed. It seems to be running fast and cool. I think the last patch was a duffer.

I'm scared to install it on the Macbook as that struggles with photoshop a little bit so who knows what it would do if it had to run aperture."

People will say macs are intuitive and faster, other will not feel the same way, but the truth probably is somewhere in the middle.

Haha.. Thanks for the feedback so far. NAh, the objective of this thread is to find out which system is more effective/suitable for photo editing. Nothing more than that, just a honest question from a newbie like me. :)

Hey Bro...actually there's no better/effective system suitable for photo editing. I run both Mac G5 and HP PC. Sometimes use Mac, sometimes use PC depending how much touch up you want to do and what you want to do. There's no one fixed system to do everything.

Finally if you got dole for only one computer, then go for a PC with its larger number of software available. However, if you want specialised software that only the Mac has it then its no brainer to get the Mac. :cool:

People will say macs are intuitive and faster, other will not feel the same way, but the truth probably is somewhere in the middle.

i think what's irritating is that the fanboys will pretend that they are not fanboys, despite the fact that the two have their pros and cons, and then proceed to say things like "oh, look, the windows zealots are here again, here comes the flame war".

just pointing out that a poor 3 year old laptop with a significant number of its keyboard keys missing is running photoshop and multitasking perfectly fine, with little hassle with regards to maintenance as well. all it takes is bothering to tweak a few settings. some of these people make it sound as if you HAVE to get a mac *or* a brand new pc to run photoshop smoothly for multiple images.

it's just like canon versus nikon, i don't mind if someone says that he prefers canon over nikon, but if that same guy starts spouting out gibberish like "oh, canon definitely does this job better", then you bet i know what i think of him.

i think what's irritating is that the fanboys will pretend that they are not fanboys, despite the fact that the two have their pros and cons, and then proceed to say things like "oh, look, the windows zealots are here again, here comes the flame war".

just pointing out that a poor 3 year old laptop with a significant number of its keyboard keys missing is running photoshop and multitasking perfectly fine, with little hassle with regards to maintenance as well. all it takes is bothering to tweak a few settings. some of these people make it sound as if you HAVE to get a mac *or* a brand new pc to run photoshop smoothly for multiple images.

it's just like canon versus nikon, i don't mind if someone says that he prefers canon over nikon, but if that same guy starts spouting out gibberish like "oh, canon definitely does this job better", then you bet i know what i think of him.

I don't understand leh...do some basic maintenance lah and computer will run as good as new. This type of comparison question also must ask. :eek:

dunno, i guess some people are just lazy... like this friend of mine, i helped him clean his computer once. 3 months later it was back to square one, because he just happily clicked anything and everything without thinking.. disabled the free (and relatively effective) antivirus and anti-adware programs i installed.....

and then complained that his computer was lagging.

i wanted to pengsan.

This is probably one of the more balanced and considered answer I have seen for this question which have been asked many, many, many times :thumbsup: