M1 wireless b band is everyhwere at $22/month


Status
Not open for further replies.

Yappy

Senior Member
May 30, 2004
1,321
1
38
#1
In today's paper... can see competition hotting up for b band..
 

CYRN

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2002
4,575
0
36
photoevangel.com
#4
don't forget that there will be free wireless broadband for 2 years by the Gov
that one... I tot not island wide coverage... juz coverage in high traffic areas. About 50m instead of current hotspots by those shops.
 

arpinkor

New Member
May 13, 2005
457
0
0
Nee Soon
#6
I wonder whether this GSM method is as battery-hungry as WiFi.
Coverage should be better though but bandwidth will be low.
Wait for the guinea pigs to report back first :bsmilie:
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#7
yes.. i am currently using it as i am typing it. U can slot into your laptop, PDA or phone and use it to surf internet from anywhere.. even when u are roaming in JB. As long as there is GSM coverage, it is always connected like your handphone. Speed wise is not as fast as maxonline or singnet. However it is not dependent on locations becos it uses the GSM base stations, it is 100% mobile internet at all times.
 

satay16

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2006
3,067
0
0
#8
yes.. i am currently using it as i am typing it. U can slot into your laptop, PDA or phone and use it to surf internet from anywhere.. even when u are roaming in JB. As long as there is GSM coverage, it is always connected like your handphone. Speed wise is not as fast as maxonline or singnet. However it is not dependent on locations becos it uses the GSM base stations, it is 100% mobile internet at all times.
sounds very tempting, esp the fact that it is unlimited.
 

Mar 15, 2004
228
0
0
38
singapore
#9
HSDPA is finally in Singapore~
i'll wait as well, then drop my singnet subscription to use this instead.
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#10
sounds very tempting, esp the fact that it is unlimited.
yes.. in fact u can make it into a wireless network in your home. Just buy a wireless router from linksys.. slot in the SIM card.. and all your computers at home can get it. Same concept as maxonline but maxonline need a SCV cable port, this router just need a power socket.

;)
 

arpinkor

New Member
May 13, 2005
457
0
0
Nee Soon
#11
yes.. i am currently using it as i am typing it. U can slot into your laptop, PDA or phone and use it to surf internet from anywhere.. even when u are roaming in JB. As long as there is GSM coverage, it is always connected like your handphone. Speed wise is not as fast as maxonline or singnet. However it is not dependent on locations becos it uses the GSM base stations, it is 100% mobile internet at all times.
Are u from M1 ? :bsmilie:
Thot it's only launched on 6 Dec ?
 

satay16

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2006
3,067
0
0
#12
yes.. in fact u can make it into a wireless network in your home. Just buy a wireless router from linksys.. slot in the SIM card.. and all your computers at home can get it. Same concept as maxonline but maxonline need a SCV cable port, this router just need a power socket.

;)
woah........

maybe i sign up for a few months. if i find their speeds not too slow, i think i might really just use their services. but if it is really laggy, then it's back to starhub.
 

fjozn

New Member
Jul 5, 2006
172
0
0
Bt Batok
#14
So how does it work?

Through the existing SIM card or you need to get a PC card for the laptop?
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#15
woah........

maybe i sign up for a few months. if i find their speeds not too slow, i think i might really just use their services. but if it is really laggy, then it's back to starhub.
their 384k is good enough for normal surfing and downloads... i used it to see stock markets, msn messenger, clubsnap, news, and online banking. So far ok for my usage.. of cos...it can never beat 4M cable maxonline. Cable will always be the fastest ! and u will pay more for it also.
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#16
So how does it work?

Through the existing SIM card or you need to get a PC card for the laptop?

the PC-MIA card is given free when u sign up their 3G data unlimited plan.. the 3G SIM card is slot into the PC card when u need to use it for laptop. U can take out to slot into phone or PDA or your home wireless router.

:lovegrin:
 

noom69

New Member
Jan 8, 2006
24
0
0
seanchan69.multiply.com
#17
HSDPA is finally in Singapore~
i'll wait as well, then drop my singnet subscription to use this instead.
Hmmmmmmm... wonder if SingNet or Starhub has such service available?

Is it a card which can be slot into the PCMCIA slot? What happen if we were to use PC, how is it going to be connected?
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#18
ya hor. raincool, you beta tester is it?:bsmilie:

no lah.. i am their user now.. 384k. My company is damm stingy and strict... so i used my own personal laptop and their 3G data plan.. why beg company for free internet ? and everything surf or type is being monitored closely ! :nono: NO WAY MANZ...

i have been paying $68 every month since May, they just informed me that i can opt to pay $22 from next month onwards.. save money loh !

:sweatsm:
 

raincool2005

Senior Member
Sep 10, 2005
1,808
0
0
Raffles Place
#19
Hmmmmmmm... wonder if SingNet or Starhub has such service available?

Is it a card which can be slot into the PCMCIA slot? What happen if we were to use PC, how is it going to be connected?
there is an adaptor in the market, but quiet expensive for now. Currently, i used a linksys wireless router ! the SIM card can be slot into the router when needed to use, and router connect to your desktop ! :lovegrin:

the PCIMIA card is a red colour Vodafone type... for laptop. Given free when i took up duing their launch.
 

CYRN

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2002
4,575
0
36
photoevangel.com
#20
The specs can be found here and the pricing as well.
Looks cool. No contract somemore!

Very tempting to try it out... but I'm hoping for something I can connect to my PDA instead of a lappy. I dun see a CF card option in the offer. :cry:

Better still if have miniSD version... then my HP6818 can convert to skype + GSM. :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom