LX3 build quality


Status
Not open for further replies.
May 29, 2007
317
1
18
#1
anyone worried about the analogue switch for on/off and shoot/review pic buttons?
I love my LX3, but worried the buttons will give way. I know my bro in law's canon ixus 60 had this pbm after 1 year use exactly. What about past user of panasonic cam forummers, anyone experience button failure specifically in panasonic cameras??
 

JPLim

New Member
Mar 1, 2008
508
0
0
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#2
I have used my FZ50 for more than 2 yrs.
More than 4k photos have been taken so far, I din have any problem with my baby yet.
So I think that it should be alright as long as you dun use that too rudely bah!
 

Anson

Senior Member
Jul 31, 2006
8,210
7
38
ansonchew.com
www.ansonchew.com
#3
I think potential LX3 buyer might want to note. Unlike in a FZ50 which also have a TTL hot-shoe, Olympus flash (4/3 standard) may not fit into the LX3. I have tried my FL36 on the LX3, it doesn't seem to be able to fit.

And the original Panasonic flash are quite expensive. :(
 

eow

Senior Member
Jun 22, 2004
10,060
6
38
#4
I think potential LX3 buyer might want to note. Unlike in a FZ50 which also have a TTL hot-shoe, Olympus flash (4/3 standard) may not fit into the LX3. I have tried my FL36 on the LX3, it doesn't seem to be able to fit.

And the original Panasonic flash are quite expensive. :(
impossible, i have the fl36r and the vivitar 285hv.
they all share the same mount size and all fit into the 3rd party flash hotshoe adaptor which i use for radio wireless .
Had tried the vivitar 285 on the lx3...all fit and work perfectly, no reason why yr doesn't work, Even a chinese forum already had someone shooting with the lx-3 and fl36r combo
 

drakon09

New Member
Aug 12, 2005
3,877
0
0
#5
I think potential LX3 buyer might want to note. Unlike in a FZ50 which also have a TTL hot-shoe, Olympus flash (4/3 standard) may not fit into the LX3. I have tried my FL36 on the LX3, it doesn't seem to be able to fit.

And the original Panasonic flash are quite expensive. :(

The Panny flashes are rebadged Oly flashes anyway.
 

Anson

Senior Member
Jul 31, 2006
8,210
7
38
ansonchew.com
www.ansonchew.com
#6
impossible, i have the fl36r and the vivitar 285hv.
they all share the same mount size and all fit into the 3rd party flash hotshoe adaptor which i use for radio wireless .
Had tried the vivitar 285 on the lx3...all fit and work perfectly, no reason why yr doesn't work, Even a chinese forum already had someone shooting with the lx-3 and fl36r combo
I am using a FL36 not FL36R, I have tried with two of the LX3 in the Comex show it didn't fit. It is not the connector issues, but rather the gap of the hot-shoe is too small ( compared to a FZ50).

Hence I would advise before you buy a third-parties flash for LX3, bring your camera along.... :)
 

tomcat

Senior Member
Nov 7, 2003
5,515
11
0
63
Visit site
#7
Maybe you didn't loosen the flash connector first before trying to slide it in. As far as I know, the flash mounting is standard for all DSLRs and P&S cameras... even film cameras.
 

Anson

Senior Member
Jul 31, 2006
8,210
7
38
ansonchew.com
www.ansonchew.com
#9
Maybe you didn't loosen the flash connector first before trying to slide it in. As far as I know, the flash mounting is standard for all DSLRs and P&S cameras... even film cameras.
I unfasten it from my FZ50 & try to put it in the LX3. Why would I fasten it before slotting it into the hot shoe? One possibility is that the display set's hot shoe is dented.
 

eow

Senior Member
Jun 22, 2004
10,060
6
38
#12
I unfasten it from my FZ50 & try to put it in the LX3. Why would I fasten it before slotting it into the hot shoe? One possibility is that the display set's hot shoe is dented.
that unit could be either too new or faulty
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom