Low Light, Fast Movement=Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

NEWZEE

Jul 19, 2009
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi All,

Im a rookie to photography...i have a dance event coming up that i am assisting with, i am just looking to gain more skill in this area, i will be out and about lens shopping soon, just wondering which are the best lenses for this kind of situation, i am aware that a telephoto lense would be better but which one?? I have done event photography before but my lack of skill and knowledge resulted in images that had alot of motion blurr and the quality of the photos were terrible. How can i reduce the noise?? Are there any other things i should consider buying to make my shooting better?

If i can just set the scene...The dance competition event is in a big indoor stadium, the only lighting are the stage lights above and on the stage, it is a fast paced show, so there is really no room for error. Flash is allowed but would that make a difference? I have a 430EX.
Thank You.:D

NEWZEE said:
Hi All,

Im a rookie to photography...i have a dance event coming up that i am assisting with, i am just looking to gain more skill in this area, i will be out and about lens shopping soon, just wondering which are the best lenses for this kind of situation, i am aware that a telephoto lense would be better but which one?? I have done event photography before but my lack of skill and knowledge resulted in images that had alot of motion blurr and the quality of the photos were terrible. How can i reduce the noise?? Are there any other things i should consider buying to make my shooting better?

Ok I try to answer your question in 2 parts, coz you're asking 2 questions basically.
Q1: It would be hard to identify which telephoto lens, because:
a) I don't know what camera you have. [I know it's a Canon, but no idea crop sensor or full frame]
b) I don't know what kind of distance you will be away from the performers.