looking for new flash for FZ30

headfonz

Apr 6, 2006
Hi everyone,

sorry to start this thread again, but i'm looking for a new flash for my FZ30. i'm currently using a Nikon SB50DX, powerful and alot of features, but i had sync problems on occassions thats why looking for new flash.

here's my shortlisted flashes, any advice / comments welcome :thumbsup:

metz mecablitz 54 MZ-4 (anyone know the rough price?)
nikon SB80DX (anyone know if will have sync problems with FZ30?)
vivitar 285 (easy to use?)
suntax 9000 (easy to use?)

i'm budgeting $300 for the flash, i don't mind spending a bit more :sweat: as long as i get value for money. thanks!

I'm in for getting a flash at around $300 as well ...

mind keeping me in the loop as well ? prob comm via PM ..

pretty sure it'll be cheaper if more people were to get it together ......

SoToNgMaN said:
I'm in for getting a flash at around $300 as well ...

mind keeping me in the loop as well ? prob comm via PM ..

pretty sure it'll be cheaper if more people were to get it together ......

great idea...but i have no idea how to start a MO :dunno:
i'll PM you if i come across any bargains

Hey guys, me too. Currently using Suntax 328DTZ. Only 3 power level settings and it cannot swivel. Thinking of getting another flash also. But I think my budget is $150 only. :embrass:
Will check this thread often.

dont' mind me saying, but i think $300 is pretty much to pay for a non-TTL, ISO flash.

I bought a 2nd hand Metz32Z1 for $60 from B&S a while ago. can swivel n tilt. 4 auto modes, but main point it is GN36 at ISO100 and 85mm zoom setting on the flash.

But i could be wrong, any other views on this ?

can consider getting Sunblitz PZ-450AF. i got from several IT Fair ago. under $150.

got features like
. TTL
. manual zoom 24mm - 85mm
. 1/64 - 1/1 flash settings
. strobe setting up to 10x
. 1 - 5Hz setting for strobing
. 1st curtain / rear curtain setting

i think they r always there (at Suntec 1). oso sell third party lense & some other flash. ;p

overdodo said:
dont' mind me saying, but i think $300 is pretty much to pay for a non-TTL, ISO flash.

I bought a 2nd hand Metz32Z1 for $60 from B&S a while ago. can swivel n tilt. 4 auto modes, but main point it is GN36 at ISO100 and 85mm zoom setting on the flash.

But i could be wrong, any other views on this ?

For a non-TTL, ISO flash then $300 really too much lah...i'm toying with the idea of getting a higher performance flash as an investment, maybe next year can buy Lumix L1 DSLR ;p then no need to buy new flash again..dunno what the others think

btw, can't find your Metz32Z1 on Metz website, any idea if CP or any other place still selling this flash? thanks

sORe-EyEz said:
can consider getting Sunblitz PZ-450AF. i got from several IT Fair ago. under $150.

got features like
. TTL
. manual zoom 24mm - 85mm
. 1/64 - 1/1 flash settings
. strobe setting up to 10x
. 1 - 5Hz setting for strobing
. 1st curtain / rear curtain setting

i think they r always there (at Suntec 1). oso sell third party lense & some other flash. ;p

sounds good :thumbsup: , is it at the counters near Topshop? must go and check it out. thanks for the lead!

Hey, i have the same prob as you did when i was looking for flash, but at the end i went to buy the Achiever 828 @ CP for $30. One hot shoe, even if you get the top ranged flash it'll probably not performed.

headfonz said:
sounds good :thumbsup: , is it at the counters near Topshop? must go and check it out. thanks for the lead!

no - no:eek: , u misread liao. its a booth in IT Fair at Suntec de, not a shop in Suntec. tt booth oso sell lense (forgot if its Sigma or Tamron:embrass: )...

sORe-EyEz said:
no - no:eek: , u misread liao. its a booth in IT Fair at Suntec de, not a shop in Suntec. tt booth oso sell lense (forgot if its Sigma or Tamron:embrass: )...

roger roger...think i do some more homework, anyways PC Show at Suntec coming up...
1st to 4th June, maybe got good deals again

headfonz said:
roger roger...think i do some more homework, anyways PC Show at Suntec coming up...
1st to 4th June, maybe got good deals again

at tt time i buy i got limited budget, & tt was a really bargain basement $$ so i buy w/o hesitation. still popping d flash occasionally. :)

sORe-EyEz said:
at tt time i buy i got limited budget, & tt was a really bargain basement $$ so i buy w/o hesitation. still popping d flash occasionally. :)

sama sama here...was planning and saving up since feb to buy FZ7 in june, ended up getting my FZ30 last month when i came across a good package...impulsive buying :bsmilie: but no regrets!

heyo, the Metz32Z1 that i've got is really quite an old model. Discontinued sometime back.

you might wanna check out what the new TTL standard is going to be for the new Panasonic DSLR (slurp!) before committing. Because its their first DSLR, not really sure (at least for me) what "kind" of TTL flash will it be compatible with.

cheers

overdodo said:
heyo, the Metz32Z1 that i've got is really quite an old model. Discontinued sometime back.

you might wanna check out what the new TTL standard is going to be for the new Panasonic DSLR (slurp!) before committing. Because its their first DSLR, not really sure (at least for me) what "kind" of TTL flash will it be compatible with.

cheers

cool :thumbsup: , thanks for the info man!

thanks for all the advice guys, got a Sunblitz Ai 829 TW ($70) today from Camera Workshop after some advice and recommendation from Nelson. nothing fancy, GN28 at ISO 100, zoom 28 - 85mm and swivel & tilt, but sufficient.

went to CP to check out the Achiever 828 but didn't really like the method of operation. guess the money saved can probably go into other investments for my camera :bsmilie:

headfonz said:
thanks for all the advice guys, got a Sunblitz Ai 829 TW ($70) today from Camera Workshop after some advice and recommendation from Nelson. nothing fancy, GN28 at ISO 100, zoom 28 - 85mm and swivel & tilt, but sufficient.

went to CP to check out the Achiever 828 but didn't really like the method of operation. guess the money saved can probably go into other investments for my camera :bsmilie:

yup, good choice, save the $ or use it to get some nice filters like star-six, or better still go get wcon/tcon if you don have one :bsmilie:

ExplorerZ said:
yup, good choice, save the $ or use it to get some nice filters like star-six, or better still go get wcon/tcon if you don have one :bsmilie:

using a vitacon wcon (0.45x, 58mm) for about a month now, quite a bit vignetting. think i'll learn more about my current setup before i get a tcon (thinking raynox)

sorry ah, my photography experience very limited, what's a star-six filter used for?

headfonz said:
using a vitacon wcon (0.45x, 58mm) for about a month now, quite a bit vignetting. think i'll learn more about my current setup before i get a tcon (thinking raynox)

sorry ah, my photography experience very limited, what's a star-six filter used for?

when used for night scene, it will make a spot of strong spot of light into a star with 6 sides

ExplorerZ said:
when used for night scene, it will make a spot of strong spot of light into a star with 6 sides

fwah, interesting filter...its a Hoya right? will check it out. ok, i better don't OT too much. thanks!