long exposures. how?

noob117

Oct 16, 2006
west
hey guy/girls.
i hav seen sum pix in the night shots forums.
they expose the pix for like 500 over secs to make a super dark area bright.
how they know the timing to get a ok exposure? not under or over expose?:dunno:

Agak-agak.

Film is best for long exposure. try long exposure with dSLR, and you will see hot-pixels come out.

Arto.

Yah, I have the same question too....read book that says the formular Exposure=Aperture X Shutter Speed is only applicable to shorter shuter speed.....if like <10 sec this formular is not accurate liao....so, need to agar-agar...:dunno:

hey guy/girls.
i hav seen sum pix in the night shots forums.
they expose the pix for like 500 over secs to make a super dark area bright.
how they know the timing to get a ok exposure? not under or over expose?:dunno:

Well I don't know about the rest.. for me I calculate the amt of light..

if ISO 1600, f2.8 = 10 seconds to get proper exposure..
1600 => 800 => 400 => 200 => 100 = 4 stops, so take 10 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2
then ISO 100 F2.8 = 160 seconds..
F2.8 => F4 => F5.6 => F8 = 3 stops, so take 160 x 2 x 2 x 2
then ISO 100 F8 = 1280 seconds needed for an exposure..

my explaination is like this..i think the stop system still plays a part..
at 30sec to increase 1 stop its 1min..and for 1min to increase 1 stop its 2min..and for 2min to increase 1 stop its 4min..so on and so forth..hence as the longer ur exposure becomes, the accuracy of seconds becomes insignificant..just my 2cents..

this is nice way of calculating too:thumbsup: ..will try it out:)

I think TS is asking how you know the initial setting, like you need ISO1600 f2.8 form 10s in the first place?

By the way, when time is >10s (IIRC), your formular is not correct....this is what I read from a book.:dunno:

Yah, it's call the reciprocal failure that makes the Exposure=timexaperture inaccurate...:thumbsup:

for film u need to take care of reciprocal failure....

Sorry, I have finally got the time to rectify my statement. the formular is only accurate from 1/1000s to 1s. So anything more than 1s shutter speed is not accurate (but I think it wont affect many of us lah). And it is call Reciprocity Failure, not Reciprocal Failure.

Check out this site on how to compensate for the difference.

However, I am not sure if it affects digi cam....Canon says it doesn't affect their cam...

wah so leceh.
will it like spoit the shutter if its open for too long?

Yah, it's call the reciprocal failure that makes the Exposure=timexaperture inaccurate...:thumbsup:

Sorry, I have finally got the time to rectify my statement. the formular is only accurate from 1/1000s to 1s. So anything more than 1s shutter speed is not accurate (but I think it wont affect many of us lah). And it is call Reciprocity Failure, not Reciprocal Failure.

Check out this site on how to compensate for the difference.

However, I am not sure if it affects digi cam....Canon says it doesn't affect their cam...

oops...remember the term salar...:sweat:

digital is nt affected as much as film...

ic ic
any ideas on any thing to start wif?
i can onli use max of 30secs wif timer.
i dun have remote release. i hold then later cam shake.

may i know how much is a reasonalble priced one for a canno 350d?