like some feedback on mini-compo.

sORe-EyEz

Jun 28, 2005
SGee
i m currently considering a between Denon D-M33 & Onkyo CS-210.

any1 kno if Yamaha hav any new 1s (or slightly newer 1s)? any other brands?

under $500 budget. accessories like speakers cable not included in tis budget. any1??:sweat:

$500 is a big budget for mini-compo think you should try it out yourself as everyone cup of tea is different. Design, sound, bass, treble, function, etc.... make a different to most.:p

sORe-EyEz said:
i m currently considering a between Denon D-M33 & Onkyo CS-210.

any1 kno if Yamaha hav any new 1s (or slightly newer 1s)? any other brands?

under $500 budget. accessories like speakers cable not included in tis budget. any1??:sweat:

:thumbsup: Good choice!

Get the Denon D-M33 ... its a good set. When cash allows, grab yourself a pair of Mission M71s and listen to the soundstage open up ... So far for this range, the Denon or the onkyo can't go wrong. Maybe you want to PM garion for his opinion .. he's using 1 set with a pair of Missions.

Speaker cable can slowly lah ... ;) ...

tis 2 r in 4 a close fight till d day i actually get either. i do hav a pair of Mission M71 at home. its w/ me 4 several yrs.

D-M33 sounded slightly on d warm side in-store, speaker cable may hav played a part (CS-210 oso). (after adjusting its tone controls 2 my preferance)

CS-210 lacks d finesse of D-M33, but still a v competent system. like diff tea diff fragrance?

tis 2 systems were at diff stores so its not a v fare comparison.

both r closely matched in terms of
. design (no annoying fanciful blinking LED lightz on front panel)
. build (aluminium front panel)
. sound quality (handles most genre of music well)
. price
. size (small in size, big on performance)

Yamaha did hav a range of 3 designer minis (table-top TSX10, 15 & 20) some time ago but were sonically less competent (even d most costly of d 3!). i m still taking my time 2 look 4 otherz as i m not in a hurry 2 buy (unless got gd discount!:bsmilie: ).

Teac CR-H100 is also a gd contenter but dunno where selling...:dunno: oh, i left out JVC's 1st WoodCone(TM)* mini compo. if its abt $500 i betta go sound it out b4 its phased out!!:sweat:

any1 kno if i can buy any of tis mini compo w/o d speakers??:sweat:

Aiyo ... Denon lahhh .... :bsmilie:

It comes from a line of award winners... the rest don't bother to look / touch already seriously.. unless you're looking at seperates then its a different story again :sweat:

D-M33

wad i like:
. tone controls
. RDS
. more functions (sound wise)

wad i dun like:
. rear ported bass
. tiny speakers (compared 2 CS-210)
. actually costs above $500 (quite a bit more)

CS-210

wad i like:
. front ported bass
. larger speakers
. costs under $500

wad i dun like:
. older model
. wish it was cheaper ;p

really no other contenders arhx, its still d same 2 brands slugging it out? where's Teac & Yamaha, etc?:complain:

Put functions and likes and dislikes aside and concentrate on the sound quality, which i mean is important in the long run. Personally tested these sets before ... i'd still go for Denon. Somehow, yamaha excels in its DSP chips found in their HT amps .. i stand by them ... as for their mini-systems, something seems to be missing.. i'd go for denon anytime as somehow they sound much different and much better...Teac is out definitely.

agree tt Yamaha's Table-top is lousy.

but Teac tt bad meh?:dunno: tot its CR-H100 not tt bad...

Denon will get my personal *Best of wads New* award!!

but its d price diff of abt $100 between them.:(

Going by statistics ... denon has won the most awards for their mini-systems seriously ... :thumbsup:

Seriously I don't understand why you don't like rear ported speakers vs front ported ones. I'm using both - KRK Systems ST6 & Spirit Absolute Zero ... both of these are studio monitors and are neutral sounding ... the KRK - Front ported ... Spirts - Rear (and they sound better than the KRK i have to admit) ... connected to a pre / power seperates system

get Denon, it is da BEST for the price range!

its my preferance mah.:sweat:

anyway rear ported speakers need more critical positioning 2 sound their best. if not bass will b v weak.

d number of awards it won isn't a major factor. European designed & engineered product wins european blah-blah awards? do i sense d amount pride there? i trust my own ears arh.:sweatsm: