lighting ratios (outdoors)


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
if i wanna correctly expose my subject, and want a 3 stop underexposure for my background.
how do i go about doing this?step by step pls.me noob.
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#4
One possible solution is to use a flash or strobe. Set your ambient exposure for underexposure and then use your flash to light up your subject.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#6
One possible solution is to use a flash or strobe. Set your ambient exposure for underexposure and then use your flash to light up your subject.
oh sorry.yes, i wanted to say assuming i'm using a flash.

so if i take a reading and it says f8 at 1/250s, i should set to f22 at 1/250s to underexp 3 stops right?then how do i 'tell' my flash to expose the subject correctly?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#7
Graduated Neutral Density, it's a filter.
i dont wanna put anything other than NC in front of the lens wor.IQ will suffer right?
 

frenchbean

New Member
Jan 12, 2005
286
0
0
41
Singapore, Bedok
#8
oh sorry.yes, i wanted to say assuming i'm using a flash.

so if i take a reading and it says f8 at 1/250s, i should set to f22 at 1/250s to underexp 3 stops right?then how do i 'tell' my flash to expose the subject correctly?
Using Nikon SB800? Set to TTL/BL mode. Or if you really hardcore use manual lor. :p
 

gooseberry

Senior Member
Mar 11, 2004
1,952
0
0
Central West
#10
Using Nikon SB800? Set to TTL/BL mode. Or if you really hardcore use manual lor. :p
No, I wouldn't use TTL-BL mode. In TTL-BL mode, the flash will try and "balance" the exposure for the subject with the background, which with the settings for underexposure, you will underexpose the subject as well. Set it to standard TTL mode.

oh sorry.yes, i wanted to say assuming i'm using a flash.

so if i take a reading and it says f8 at 1/250s, i should set to f22 at 1/250s to underexp 3 stops right?then how do i 'tell' my flash to expose the subject correctly?
Set your flash to standard TTL mode. I probably wouldn't go down all the way to f/22 unless you really needed to, I'd rather up the shutter speed (go into FP mode if needed).
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#11
Using Nikon SB800? Set to TTL/BL mode. Or if you really hardcore use manual lor. :p
so means on camera body i set to 3 stops underexp using manual mode, and on the flash, i just use ttl/bl?
tot ttl/bl is to balance ambient with subject?
 

ExplorerZ

Senior Member
Jan 9, 2006
7,752
0
36
West Legion
hkchew03.deviantart.com
#12
oh sorry.yes, i wanted to say assuming i'm using a flash.

so if i take a reading and it says f8 at 1/250s, i should set to f22 at 1/250s to underexp 3 stops right?then how do i 'tell' my flash to expose the subject correctly?
if you do not have FEL, you can go the manual way, otherwise FEL first before i step down to f22.

i dont wanna put anything other than NC in front of the lens wor.IQ will suffer right?
i would rather get the lighting right than to squeeze other that tiny bit of "better quality" which most of the time ain't really visible other than pixel-peeping
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#13
No, I wouldn't use TTL-BL mode. In TTL-BL mode, the flash will try and "balance" the exposure for the subject with the background, which with the settings for underexposure, you will underexpose the subject as well. Set it to standard TTL mode.



Set your flash to standard TTL mode. I probably wouldn't go down all the way to f/22 unless you really needed to, I'd rather up the shutter speed (go into FP mode if needed).
ok, let me try this:

meter ambient.
assuming it's 1/250 at f8
i set a 3 stop underexp
so i set to 1/2000 at f8
i have to set my d200 to allow flash FP enabled.
then on flash, set to TTL
fire away.
correct?


other than TTL to set on flash, any other things i must input?
and does FP works on Manual and aperture priority in my d200?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#14
if you do not have FEL, you can go the manual way, otherwise FEL first before i step down to f22.


i would rather get the lighting right than to squeeze other that tiny bit of "better quality" which most of the time ain't really visible other than pixel-peeping
i'm poor with jargons.what's FEL?
 

frenchbean

New Member
Jan 12, 2005
286
0
0
41
Singapore, Bedok
#16
No, I wouldn't use TTL-BL mode. In TTL-BL mode, the flash will try and "balance" the exposure for the subject with the background, which with the settings for underexposure, you will underexpose the subject as well. Set it to standard TTL mode.



Set your flash to standard TTL mode. I probably wouldn't go down all the way to f/22 unless you really needed to, I'd rather up the shutter speed (go into FP mode if needed).
Oops. Sorry, yeah, should be TTL mode.

FEL = Flash Exposure Lock

Just thought of another way, meter as per usual, then attach a ND8 on the lens and use flash with TTL. I think that should work too without setting the aperture too small.
 

surge

Senior Member
Mar 17, 2002
1,313
0
36
46
north
Visit site
#17
if its a harsh day...and you get exposure readings like 1/500@f8, 3 stop under will be 1/500@f22!!!

you can set 1/2000at f11 w strobe but you nee one that can fast sync w you can...e.g sb800 for nikon....set manually at fast sync. thats the only way i guess...can use GND unless your subj is level on one side....defintely not if assuming your subj means ppl
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#18
flash exposure lock
ya!my cam got that.and i didnt think of it!
thanks!

so i focus on her face, press the fv lock, and bring the ambient 3 stops down, fire.

will that work?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#20
uncles/brothers,

i got small hands.handling the d200 with a portrait lens i already can barely hold it firmly.
so, i hope to do away with the ND filters.screw in/out, very troublesome lei.got a feeling i will drop it.:embrass:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom