Less people taking public transport

I wonder if they will remove the ERP at TPY lor 8 after the expansion of CTE is complete..

Haha remove think fat fat hope la. Once setup they will not remove as still have the removal cost ler.

TPY Lor 8 is their additional excess bonus income ler.

So much excuses to increase ERP rate over the year but traffic still so congested...might as well put ERP at all carpark exit and flat rate. Once you drive out you start to pay lor. :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Haha remove think fat fat hope la. Once setup they will not remove as still have the removal cost ler.

TPY Lor 8 is their additional excess bonus income ler.

Yah.. i doubt so too.. really kns..!!

Not true. ERP increases affect everyone as the transportation of goods, food and people all need to pass thru ERP gantries ;p

Are people in charge of ERP increases, reimbursed when using ERPs? :think:

nope....he is referring to the possible consequence of increase in prices of goods/services, food and even possibly public transport (except mrt/nel/circle line/downtown) because these companies have to factor in the increase in ERP when their raw materials/finished goods passes through the ERP-ed roads or to factor in additional fuel and time due to detours around the ERP-ed roads.

so, the ERP indirectly affects us...:cry:

Well if that is some then indirect cost pass back to consumer very simple, as a consumer i will not spend excess unless really necessary.

As such it directly also impact the GDP or GNP, and also the impact the eco so in the end the Man in white have to step in the ease the tension or encourage pple to spend...

resulting maybe lower in ERP charges. Well all this is just thinking only haha it will have to see if things really happen tat way first.

WLL :bsmilie:

the expansion might be an excuse to collect more :D

More good years ahead... PAPaya 万岁! :cheergal:

Less people take public transport now???

No wonder I can finally find space for both my hands to hold on to when taking trains recently!!

Men in white really very good.

1. Less PPL take public transport..........more driving cars.

2. Increase in ERP to help congestion.

Why dont improve public transport or reduce cost of public transport to increase usage of public transport? Why must INCREASE ERP to try to make public transport appear cheaper?

And they already know inflation is rising during economic downturn........maybe they dont know.

Another thing that bugs me is the foreigh "Talent". Singapore import them from China and India where wages are low to keep wages in Singapore lower. Then there are those expats from Germany and USA who are really paid top dollar and much more than the general population. Happily the wages of the Men in White are pegged to the upper tier of these Expats.

So even the foreign talent also benefit them. WORLD CLASS LEADERS we have. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

conspiracy theory: policymaker increase the bank loan on car to 100% so more people can afford owning a car (reason given that people are complaining that they can no longer afford cars). Once more cars are on the road, when people start complaining about traffic jams, they have good excuses to build more ERP gantries as well as increase the ERP rates not to mention the increase in COE price. When people cannot tahan and go back to public transportation, then the public transportation companies (all under the control of one holding company) ask for fare increase because their service is being stressed and they need to provide more services to the demand. They build up the fixed asset and operation costs with air-conditioned exchange and the like so it shows on their book that they are not making that much profits.

The cycle continues and the poor guys continue to pay through their nose...

I think I'm beginning to see a trend: electricity tariffs goes up after F1 is being held, ERP increases after findings report a drop in public transport usage, GST increases after the we folks cast the lots (if we even got a chance to do so).

It is truly mind-perturbing that instead of escalating the improvement in the public transport to win maket share policies has been drawn to throw ineffective disincentives to private transport users. If market share is gained by disincentives to alternatives rather than adding value to the services to its consumers, it will only increases consumer negativity and bad sentiments towards the services.

However, knowing the place well, many will just try to bear with it. :confused:

How I wish I get can get escorts to open up (or force) other road users out of their lanes so that I can get to where I want to as fast as possible. Who cares if everyone is stuck in the jam, I am not. Oh, did someone mention the trains were packed till people were literally glued to the train doors in the cabins? I won't be bothered or care, it won't be affecting me. :rolleyes:

Do not believe in such statistics from local news. These findings are not from an independent source.

everyone just take bus 11 lah, can go anywhere, johor also no prob.

all the improvement in transportation will not help if people dont stop driving and start taking public transport. ERP = deterient, make people drive less EVEN if they have a car in their carpark.

I just wonder, where does this word world class come from?
What is the definition of World Class?

I don't think anyone around the world except Singapore uses this word excessively. It is such an embarrassment when someone mentioned to overseas visitors, we have world class transport system, HDB (hope not world class prices for public housing), etc.... :embrass:

I just wonder, where does this word world class come from?
What is the definition of World Class?

I don't think anyone around the world except Singapore uses this world excessively. It is such an embarrassment when someone mentioned to overseas visitors, we have world class transport system, HDB (hope not world class prices for public housing), etc.... :embrass:

Stop deluding ourselves. By trying to say we are world class, we will stagnate because we will tend to think we are already there when in fact we are still far from it.

One of my lecturers ever did mention that we are but a third world country with lots of money.

Has your lecturer ever been to a third world country to make that statement?

Stop deluding ourselves. By trying to say we are world class, we will stagnate because we will tend to think we are already there when in fact we are still far from it.

One of my lecturers ever did mention that we are but a third world country with lots of money.

the first paragraph is fair. no country is going to be ever world-class, actually. there is always improvement to be made. name the best country in the world, i wager their citizens have something to complain about for sure!

the second, i think national pride aside, that is a pretty unfair statement unless you elaborate. better to do so, else you end up misquoting your lecturer. :bsmilie: