Lens for Portrait Photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

shashin

Apr 14, 2006
Hi all,
I am a newbie to CS and wish to check some info with all the experts here:)

Actually i just bought a Nikon D70s (with prime lens) recently.
I like to take human photo, and need to check if which lens is more suitable and good for portrait photography so that i can invest into correct lens ;p

Cheers,

shashin said:
Hi all,
I am a newbie to CS and wish to check some info with all the experts here:)

Actually i just bought a Nikon D70s (with prime lens) recently.
I like to take human photo, and need to check if which lens is more suitable and good for portrait photography so that i can invest into correct lens :p

Cheers,
what lens you have now? can consider the 50mm f1.8, it's sharp, light, good and cheap too.

50 mm F1.8... Won't be wrong... cheap and good.:thumbsup:

The 50mm AFD 1.4 or 50mm AFD 1.8 is a very good lens for portraits.

You may also consider the 60mm Micro Nikkor or the 85mm Portrait lens.

Do consider in the 1.5x cropt factor and your likely to get half body portrait or close up.

Have Fun..

wow... really thank your for the fast info :vhappy:

know from my friends that 50mm/f1.8 is a good lens, but he mentioned that it
maybe good only for taking model's face due to 50mm, for whole body shots
it might not the ideal one, issit true? :embrass:

humm... how about the 105mm lens huh?

catchlights said:
what lens you have now? can consider the 50mm f1.8, it's sharp, light, good and cheap too.

actually i only hv the prime lens now lor :embrass:
btw, can prime lens take good portrait huh?

It depends on how you use your lens.. for full body can consider 24mm or 35mm..:)

shashin said:

erizai said:
50 mm F1.8... Won't be wrong... cheap and good.:thumbsup:

too bad, cos seem like no stock in the market now :(

shashin said:
actually i only hv the prime lens now lor :embrass:
btw, can prime lens take good portrait huh?