Lens for macro photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

myyong

Aug 25, 2006
Hi all,
I'm a newbie and like to know are there lenses specially for macro photography? i'm using a nikon DSLR, any recommendations on which lens to buy? what's the price range like? i've tried using my 18-135 lens but just can't have a focus at close proximity...:sweat:

westwest1

Deregistered
Feb 25, 2006
@ AMK
get the 105mmVR macro nikkor lens....once u use it...u will fall in love with it....

price last quoted to me was $1250...

cerebrus

Mar 18, 2006
Sembawang Road, Singapore
ExplorerZ said:
tamron 90mm macro... at about 600
Agree with this. It is a very sharp lens for the price you pay. :thumbsup: Not too heavy also. The only down side is that it extends out when focusing.

myyong

Aug 25, 2006
westwest1 said:
get the 105mmVR macro nikkor lens....once u use it...u will fall in love with it....

price last quoted to me was $1250...
does VR plays a part in macro photography?

myyong

Aug 25, 2006
ortega said:
What is your intended macro subject
and intended budget?
Mostly Plants and insects, budget should be less than $500 (second-hand lens)....
what recommendations u have? :)

sulhan

Staff member
May 11, 2002
Melbourne, Australia
www.md-sulhan.com
myyong said:
Hi all,
I'm a newbie and like to know are there lenses specially for macro photography? i'm using a nikon DSLR, any recommendations on which lens to buy? what's the price range like? i've tried using my 18-135 lens but just can't have a focus at close proximity...:sweat:
Hiee..

Don't forget cheaper alternative with extension tubes or reverse 50mm macro photography. I;ve seen great superb works by fellow Cs'ers who do not own really dedicated macro lens.

I personally use a 35-70f4(minolta) with an extension tube. Setup cost less than $100.

Ask your self what type of macro photog that lens you have in mind and i think go ahead from there.

ortega

Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
myyong said: