Lens Choices

ckiang

Jan 17, 2002
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.ckphoto.net
Originally posted by Kevin
Wah very "deep" ah! Must save this thread and study slowly. Get a lot of choices with SLR mean soend more more money also right.:(

Anyway, Sam from John3:16 just certify my old Minolta 5xi still useable so I am going to send to Minolta service to demold (service it). How often do you all send in the SLR for service?

If I want to replace my current lens (30-85mm), any recommendation (economical one lah:D )?

Thanks--

If you maintain it well, there is usually no need to send for frequent servicing, maybe once in 2-3 years to calibrate the shutter, etc will be enough.

A good choice of lens to replace that 30-85 would be a Tokina AF 28-70mm f2.6-2.8 ATX Pro II. That costs $650 in Cathay or around $400 odd used.

Originally posted by ckiang

If you maintain it well, there is usually no need to send for frequent servicing, maybe once in 2-3 years to calibrate the shutter, etc will be enough.

A good choice of lens to replace that 30-85 would be a Tokina AF 28-70mm f2.6-2.8 ATX Pro II. That costs $650 in Cathay or around $400 odd used.

Wah lau! Cheap cheap one also so expensive! YSLee also recommended a Sigma one, he say cheap cheap also $600+.:cry:

Look like I have to stick to myold lens 1st until I master the skill then can apply to my Finance Minister!:(

Moving lens discussion here.... :D

Wah lau! Cheap cheap one also so expensive! YSLee also recommended a Sigma one, he say cheap cheap also $600+.:cry:

Look like I have to stick to myold lens 1st until I master the skill then can apply to my Finance Minister!:(

Sigma!? SIGMA!? :p

Seriously, if you are considering Sigma, get the Tokina. Very, very well built, well designed, well reviewed. This was the legendary Angenieux 28-70 design on license.

$600+ is very good price for a constant f/2.8 lens. You can get the non-constant aperture ones too, but then you might as well stick with your old lens.

Alternatively, get a 50mm f/1.8 Minolta.

Sigma!? SIGMA!? :p
Oh Ow! Hope I didn't start a Flame

Seriously, if you are considering Sigma, get the Tokina. Very, very well built, well designed, well reviewed. This was the legendary Angenieux 28-70 design on license.

$600+ is very good price for a constant f/2.8 lens. You can get the non-constant aperture ones too, but then you might as well stick with your old lens.

Alternatively, get a 50mm f/1.8 Minolta.

How much is the 50mm f/1.8 Minolta? Also $600+ or more!!!:eek:

You can drop a Tokina 2 feet above a person's head and knock him unconscious. :bsmilie:

Oh Ow! Hope I didn't start a Flame

Nope. Just that I am not a Sigma fan.

How much is the 50mm f/1.8 Minolta? Also $600+ or more!!!:eek:

Nah, I don't think even the f/1.4 is $600. A Nikon AF 50mm f1.8 is $160 or so. Therefore, a Minolta can't be more expensive than that. The 50mm lens of any camera maker is probably one of the best lenses you can buy at a low cost.

That sound good for my wallet, hehe!

If I get a poloriser filter, can I share it with my DC? My current SLR thread is 49mm so need to set-up to say 55mm and my DC will step-up from 43mm to 55mm also.

Hi CK, hope you won't mind to help me on this question.

If I get a poloriser filter, can I share it with my DC? My current SLR thread is 49mm so need to set-up to say 55mm and my DC will step-up from 43mm to 55mm also.

Or should I buy 2 separate poloriser filters?

Thanks--

Hi CK, hope you won't mind to help me on this question.

Or should I buy 2 separate poloriser filters?

Thanks--

Just get the biggest and use step-up rings. Polarizers are not cheap. If you can afford to buy 2, why not just buy 1 very good one. Like a B+W. :D

:embrass: cannot afford two lah! just to clarify as figure of speech only. Pai seh. the price of the B+W at $118 is like a BMW to me leh.

YSLee, how much is the Nikon? > B+W?

Thanks guys.

Originally posted by ziploc

You can drop a Tokina 2 feet above a person's head and knock him unconscious. :bsmilie:

Yeah, well you can do that with a Sigma too. The difference is the Tokina will be in one piece but the Sigma won't!

Originally posted by Jed

Yeah, well you can do that with a Sigma too. The difference is the Tokina will be in one piece but the Sigma won't!

How about Tamron? Will it end up like Sigma or Tokina???;)