Len: M42 screw-mount user fall-in :B

whoelse

Oct 17, 2003
01: (whoelse) MC Jupiter-9 85mm f2, Industar-61L/Z MC 50mm f2.8, Industar-50-2 50mm f3.5, Mir-1b 37mm f2.8, Jupiter-37A 135mm f3.5, Helios 44M-4 58mm f2
---
02: (tiong78) J9, CZJ 35/2.4, CZJ, 135/3.5, tak 50/1.4
---
03: (denniskee) Hoya 35 f2.8, SMC Takumar 50 f1.4, Zenit MC Helios 44M-5 58mm f2, Super Takumar 150mm f4, Super Takumar 200 f4, Pentacon 6 500mm f5.6
---
04: (nihraguk) Pentax Takumar SMC 50mm f1.4, Pentax Takumar SMC 28mm f3.5 soon..
---
05: (patch17) Pentax Super Takumar 55 f1.8, 28 f3.5, 135 f3.5, Pentacon 50 f1.8, Hanimex 28 f2.8, CZ 50 f2.8, Hoya 135 f2.8, Yashica 50 f1.8
---
06: (blurblock) Volna 50mm f/2.8, Helios 44-M 58mm f/2, Helios 40 85mm f/1.5, Pentax 50mm f/1.4, Pentax 28mm f/2.8, CZ 35mm f/2.4, Pentacon 135mm f/2.8, MC Kaleinar-5N 2.8/100, MC Jupiter 9 85mm f2.0
---
07: (szekiat) CZJ 135mm f3.5
---
08: (denniskee) Hoya 35 f2.8, Zenit Helios 44M-5 58mm f2, Super Takumar 150mm f4, Super Takumar 200 f4, Pentacon 6 500mm f5.6
---
09: (singscott) CZJ 28mm f2.8, 35mm f2.4, 50mm tassar f2.8, 50mm pancolar f1.8, 135mm f3.5, 200mm f2.8, 200mm f4 and other MF lenes with adapters
---
10: (CZJena) 20/3.5 Mir, 20/2.8 CZJ, 35/2.4 CZJ, 50/1.8 CZJ, 50/2.8Ind, 50/1.8Tak, 50/2Tak, 50/4 CZJ, 80/1.8 CZJ, 80/2.8 CZJ, 120/2.8 CZJ, 135/3.5 CZJ, 135/2.8Ptc, 180/2.8 CZJ, 200/4Russian, 300/4 CZJ/PTC, Vivitar Series-I 90/2.6 macro, 50/1.8 Fujinon EBC

01: (whoelse) MC Jupiter-9 85mm f2, Industar-61L/Z MC 50mm f2.8, Industar-50-2 50mm f3.5, Mir-1b 37mm f2.8, Jupiter-37A 135mm f3.5, Helios 44M-4 58mm f2
---
02: (tiong78) J9, CZJ 35/2.4, CZJ, 135/3.5, tak 50/1.4
---
Zenit Helios 44M-5 58mm f2, Super Takumar 150mm f4, Super Takumar 200 f4, Pentacon 6 500mm f5.6
---

So far only Pentax Takumar SMC 50mm f1.4, but might be getting a Pentax Takumar SMC 28mm f3.5 soon..

patch17

- super takumar 55 f1.8, 28 f3.5, 135 f3.5
- pnetacon 50 f1.8
- hanimex 28 f2.8
- CZ 50 f2.8
- Hoya 135 f2.8
- Yashica 50 f1.8

Volna 50mm f/2.8, Helios 44-M 58mm f/2, Helios 40 85mm f/1.5, Pentax 50mm f/1.4, Pentax 28mm f/2.8, CZ 35mm f/2.4, Pentacon 135mm f/2.8

Was wondering if Whoelse can lend me his Jupiter 85mm for test :D ..... The Helios 40 does not seems to gel on with me too well ;D

Hoya 35 f2.8, Zenit Helios 44M-5 58mm f2, Super Takumar 150mm f4, Super Takumar 200 f4, Pentacon 6 500mm f5.6

Hi guys, I was at Cash Convertor (Jurong East) this afternoon, I saw a couple of Carl Zeiss Jena lens 35 and 50mm if I''m not wrong both going for $95 each. The shop was closing so didn't manage to check the condition but I didn't see any dings or anything like that though they are dusty. FYI. :)

overcrash said:
sorry to OT.
was thinking about getting a M42 mount pentax.
any body to recommend ?

Spotmatics

But I would recommend a Voilangder, it is a M42 mechnical body like Pentax, but the technology is the best as it is recently designed. The flash sync is up to 1/125, not found in most mechnical bodies. It is slim in design too.

take a look at this offer :

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=115136

Also check out the Fujica ST801 if you can really get one ;p

There is this M42 guru in clubsnap -- Keltzar
He has many M42 bodies and uses many M42 lens from CJZ to Pentax to Russian plus many may not heard of brand. His knowledge is good too and I know he like to collect portrait len esp. SMC 85mm variants.

PM him for opinion.

whoelse said:
Also check out the Fujica ST801 if you can really get one ;p

There is this M42 guru in clubsnap -- Keltzar
He has many M42 bodies and uses many M42 lens from CJZ to Pentax to Russian plus many may not heard of brand. His knowledge is good too and I know he like to collect portrait len esp. SMC 85mm variants.

PM him for opinion.

Keltzer giving up with M42 bodies and going toward digital :cry:

He have been shooting digital for a while I guess and probably nothing wrong :)
But his knowledge in M42 is valuable ;) I know he does use M42 on his EOS/digital if I'm not wrong and he is quite a friendly guy and dun mind sharing experience.

You won the rare MC Kaleinar-5N 2.8/100 Russian lens- M42 version.
Show me some comparison picture once you've tested it.

whoelse said:
You won the rare MC Kaleinar-5N 2.8/100 Russian lens- M42 version.
Show me some comparison picture once you've tested it.

Sure :D .... were you the other competitor? :D ..... anyway, I found another same lens :D ...... from Moscowphoto .... they indicated it wrongly as M52 lens, so no one actually bid for it .... LOL.

I will compare it with my other 100mm fixed and zoom lenses ;D

Hey, clubsnap link to your brain is it? u response so fast...
Humm.. I oso respond quite fast haha.

I wanted to bid. This one not much ppl bid cos I think the name spell wrongly. But then that moment I was watching FA Cup drinking beer and eating pumpkin seed then I forgotten about it, felt sleepy and zzzz.

This one look good in condition and a FSU model which is better built quality plus M42 model are rare. Actually there are delicated convertor for this model I think to convert to Nikon mount or other mount.

But I think this is a automatic M42 w/o the manual switch. Is this correct?

whoelse said:
Hey, clubsnap link to your brain is it? u response so fast...
Humm.. I oso respond quite fast haha.

I wanted to bid. This one not much ppl bid cos I think the name spell wrongly. But then that moment I was watching FA Cup drinking beer and eating pumpkin seed then I forgotten about it, felt sleepy and zzzz.

This one look good in condition and a FSU model which is better built quality plus M42 model are rare. Actually there are delicated convertor for this model I think to convert to Nikon mount or other mount.

But I think this is a automatic M42 w/o the manual switch. Is this correct?

Actually I do not know if this version is one w/o the manual switch. But this is a very rare lens, all the 5N I had seen are all for Nikon mount ... this is the only M42 mount I had came across, thus I bid for it ..... closing the gap between the Pentacon 135 and Helio 40 .... Now I like manual camera more and more ... I don't know why, but it is growing onto me :D. If you want, after I got the lens, you can try it :D.

Oh, I had ordered a Jupiter 9 MC too ..... is yours a MC edition? if not then we can compare the output of a MC vs Non MC edition :D .... figured I better get a Jupiter 9 becaue the Helios is really too big and too heavy, nice for shots I want for shallow depth of field, but too heavy to bring around :D. Just got another adapter for My Minolta camera too, thus new adapter can focus to infinity. The old one can't.

Yalah. tat time I suggest u to get the MC J9 instead of the more expensive H-40. But Keltzer like the H-40 so much, probably a unique len by itself. Mine is the MC version and got it quite cheap I remember. I dun think the MC and no MC will have much different since u use a hood on them. But then hard to say...

135mm sometime is abit too long for portrait isnt it? I got the SMC-M 135mm f3.5 and it is really amazing. The resolution and contrast is even better then all my 50mm prime and very good bokeh. How is your H-44? Do you use it often?

Hehe, I like M42 too. I figure out that although not as easy as delicated mount len, it is reliable and easy to establish a "relationship" with this len in long term and you can use it in all other mount cameras. Plus they are cheap and have lotsa character when using them. When stop down it always give the meter the real time diaghram. I've seen too many out of alignment manual len and have repair quite a handful too. You cant tell when you are shooting because the mount linkage is all over the place. For many cases, you have inconsistent exposures and you can tell whether it is your metering error or the meter's fault or the len's fault. How to tell?

M42 dun really have alignment problem. It is very wise for Canon to separate manual len and go fully electronics for their EOS EF mount 20yrs ago.

Nikon (G len) and Pentax (KAJ) is slowly doing it now.

... OT.

I been using M42 lenes on digital with no problem or whatever.

CZJ 28mm f2.8, 35mm f2.4, 50mm tassar f2.8, 50mm pancolar f1.8, 135mm f3.5, 200mm f2.8, 200mm f4 and other MF lenes with adapters :cool: