Learning

Status
Not open for further replies.

9mm

May 28, 2005
SINGAPORE
Want to ask for opinion. I am newbie photographer, just upgraded from traditional manual SLR to Nikon D70. I have no experience in taking models, although I am required to take photos of my gf once in a while. She does not know how to pose, and I do not know how to tell her how to pose too.

My questions are:

1. Should I go for one of these courses on, say, fashion or modelling photography?
2. Or should I join one of these organised shoots?
3. Or should I hire a pro model, MUA and learn from her how to pose?

To me, money is for spending and not exactly important, but I want to have a steep learning curve.

Please advise.

Cheap and slow way.... read magazine and offer TFCD

moderate and sure win way.... join paid shoot and courses

Expansive way.... hire professional model

9mm said:
Want to ask for opinion. I am newbie photographer, just upgraded from traditional manual SLR to Nikon D70. I have no experience in taking models, although I am required to take photos of my gf once in a while. She does not know how to pose, and I do not know how to tell her how to pose too.

My questions are:

1. Should I go for one of these courses on, say, fashion or modelling photography?

To me, money is for spending and not exactly important, but I want to have a steep learning curve.

Please advise.

Organize shoot you learn by experience and trial&error... can be expensive and learning curve depends on you. Courses is more guaranteed... not only u learn the right way but also learn from yours or your "classmate"'s mistakes.. it also has the element of organize shoot (makeup n model posing). Try join the SLCC makeover + posing course.

shoot alone....conceptualize ya ideas properly.....

ya learning curve is largely dependant on u..... if u got totally no knowledge...courses may be a start...but so is looking at other ppl's shots here... image the workflow...then experiment with it..

cheers..