Ladakh Festival

elias601

Aug 3, 2007
Pasir Ris
I am heading back solo to Ladakh during the first 2 weeks of September for the Ladakh Festival and wondering if any CSers heading there during that period. Visited there with a group of CSers and love it.

http://www.jktourism.org/cities/ladakh/festivals/ldfestiv.htm

If anyone happened to there, maybe we can meet up there for coffee or some shooting if circumstances permit.

Please do not hesitate to pm me.
Thanks
Paul

I also heard ladakh is a beautiful place, been wanting to go there but could not find either time off or people who wants to travel there.

Sept is a good time with the festival - but too bad - unless I quit my job.

I would like to do a trip to Xin jiang - not this year though but next March/April wl be the target. Wl hv time to plan + to polish up my skills in photography

we are looking for travel mate to visit Ladakh festival.

fly to Delhi. and travel to Manali by 4WD.

from manali to Leh. this route is very enriching.
( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leh-Manali_Highway )

then we visit Ladakh festival in leh.

after that fly back to Delhi and to SG.

cost around SGD2k.

SGD800~900 (SG <=> Delhi)
SGD200 (Lah to Delhi)

the rest are enough for transport, budget stay and makan.
we are looking around 12 days, and depart on 28/aug

please leave contact via PM to elias601 or me.

Inspired by zoosh pic here, we want to make our foot print on the Manali<=>Leh highway.

A bit more update on the pricing/detail

Aug 28 : SG => Delhi => Manali => Leh
Leh fly back to Delhi, stop over 1 night and fly back to SG on Sep10/11/12 (as u wish)

Around 12 to 14days.
Budget : SGD2K

Air Ticket
SG <=> Delhi SGD800 (all in) Jet Airway
Leh to Delhi SGD180 (all in) Decca Airway

Local Transport
Delhi - Manali - Keylong - Sarchu - Leh
Rupee 25,500 (sharing basis)

* Accommodation along with dinner and breakfast at Keylong @ Rs.750/- per person.
At sarchu @ Rs.750/- per person. (camp stay at Sarchu)

quite similiar to what oeyvind had experienced. He shared his photo here

Once we are in Leh, we will spend 1-2 days for Ladakh Festival. And then look for tour to get around Leh region.

helping elias by giving more links. some newer oeyvind threads are not yet updated though, below got a few links that is found in clubsnap forumers.

2008/06 Ladakh - New Delhi, Manali, Keylong, Sarchu, Leh, Hunder, Spangmik

001leh366.jpg
001lehmap.jpg

Initial itinerary with some information (red, orange, black: country, region, venue of accomodation)

Travel Summary: photographic trip
Short notes on India written 2007 Jun
Cost spent: <S$450 in 11 days (6man group), <$100 in delhi in 2 days, $90 visa, flight to delhi $750-1100 depends on season/airline
Accomodation: Manali Apple View, Keylong, Sarchu Camp, Leh Lumbini, Hunder Snowleopard, Spangmik camp
Transport: Antrek Travels
Acute mountain sickness (AMS): Manali - Leh highway, how to avoid AMS?
Clubsnap threads in himachal pradesh and ladakh: thl, aichap, oeyvind, redoxsim, AReality; Youtube video by redoxsim

helping elias by giving more links. some newer oeyvind threads are not yet updated though, below got a few links that is found in clubsnap forumers.

thanks zoosh.

Here is the final itinerary ; -

28-Aug : Depart Singapore 11pm
29-Aug : Arrive Delhi 230am. Check in to rest. Take coach to Manali 6pm.
30-Aug : Arrive Manali 9am. O/N at Manali
31-Aug : Manali
1-Sep : Start 4WD on the Manali-Leh highway. O/N Keylong.
2-Sep : Keylong to Sarchu Camp
3-Sep : Arrive Leh
4-9 Sep : Leh Region/Surroundings
10-Sep : Fly back from Leh. Arrive Delhi 850am. Check in. Red Fort in the noon. O/N Delhi
11-Sep: Depart Leh 9am.

Total Cost breakdown :

Travel
Jet Air $794 => SG - Delhi
Air Deccan $160 => Leh - Delhi
HPTB Coach Rs990 => Delhi - Manali
4WD Rs12500 (shared basis) => Manali - Leh

Accomodation
Delhi 2 Nights Rs800 X 2
Manali 2 Nights Rs300 X 2
Keylong 1 Night (Rs750 per person)
Sarchu Camp 1 Night (Rs750 per person)

Based on the above , SGD1,300.

We will commit the travelling around Leh when we arrive there.

Entire tour should be within SGD2K.