Killing a crab

xray

Jul 28, 2004
www.hachisu.com.sg
How to prepare live crabs for cooking?

I don't want to dump them into hot boiling water to cook. Does anyone know how to kill 'em with a knife?

There is a triangle thing at the bottom of the crab, use any knife to chop in it and the crab will die, then release it. Open the shell by pulling to both side. thats it.

dunno how to explain... hope u understand me.

not with a knife.
u use a chopstick, flip them over, and in the centre of the body, whereby it's the softest, just stab it with the chopstick.
then u use the knife, hold it under the shell, where the legs are connected to the body, and pull up the shell. just so u can clean it properly.

flip the crabs over and look for the triangular flap on the back side. at the point of that apex stab a sharp knife/ice pick(personal favourite) thru. the crab will still twitch and move from reflex action, give it a few minutes and the deed is done. don't miss though 'coz u could do more damage to the crab even if your intentions are humanitarian.

u could also put them in the freezer first to knock them out. then do the deed.

stabbing in between the eyes also works but not a favourite practice of mine.

have fun and enjoy.

actually simplest way is to freeze it for a while... hehehe... just throw into freezer for 1 hour... but den u will get frozen crab meat...

this does not applies to the 'hairy crab' which lives in the cold

just dump them alive in the steam bath or hot pool

simon80 said:
this does not applies to the 'hairy crab' which lives in the cold

just dump them alive in the steam bath or hot pool

den bo pian have to shave the protective hair from the hairy crab... ;p

but that defeats the purpose of it called the hairy crab :bsmilie:

yesterday prawn..... today crab...... tomorrow wonder wat sia.... haahaa.... must go eat them tonight......

Very important to clean properly! Use a brush to brush clean. Running under water is not good enough! Don't kena food poisoning!

no need any tools lar, go "shao lin temple" learn "yi ci chan" can liao. become "gold finger".

lol ..
learn from shaolin temple .. become vegeterian liao ..

the crabs will laff also :bsmilie:

it a "opt in" policy, can always join as "shu jia di zi", sorry, my han yu ping ying as bad as my english.

like stephen chow in the god of cookery?

I always felt so disgusted at those cook who killed crabs that way. If I even see the animals been killed for my food, I won't eat it. But damn, I have a weak mind. I can't resist chilli crabs, black pepper crabs, steamed hairy crabs etc... just don't let me see how it's killed... :sobs:

eric69 said:
I always felt so disgusted at those cook who killed crabs that way. If I even see the animals been killed for my food, I won't eat it. But damn, I have a weak mind. I can't resist chilli crabs, black pepper crabs, steamed hairy crabs etc... just don't let me see how it's killed... :sobs:

tats y i dun drink turtle soup... i've seen how they are killed...

kegler said:
yesterday prawn..... today crab...... tomorrow wonder wat sia.... haahaa.... must go eat them tonight......
still got lobsters and maybe some other exotic seafood? :eek:

tats y i dun drink turtle soup... i've seen how they are killed...
Oh turtle soup huh? I saw a video clip before. Very cruel, cook will lurk its head out by using some bait and then "chopped"! Sobss.. I never taste turtle soup before.

cmwong said:
Very important to clean properly! Use a brush to brush clean. Running under water is not good enough! Don't kena food poisoning!

Errr ... remember to remove the crab's 'lungs' (donno how to describe but they look abit furry) before cooking them because if you don't remove them, the crabs will taste like crap :rolleyes:

eric69 said:
Oh turtle soup huh? I saw a video clip before. Very cruel, cook will lurk its head out by using some bait and then "chopped"! Sobss.. I never taste turtle soup before.

this is ok what, compare to some, they bbq the crap alive, see the poor thing struggle till death.

also, this is true, long ago, how to cook the best chicken feet? throw the live chicken onto hot plate, slowly tune up the heat, chicken run untill die. blood rush to the feet. that how? cruel? yes, but its neccessary. else where got meat to eat.

Sinker said:
Errr ... remember to remove the crab's 'lungs' (donno how to describe but they look abit furry) before cooking them because if you don't remove them, the crabs will taste like crap :rolleyes:

its not lungs, its called filter. can be called lungs too since the part will allow the crabs to survive in land for a period of time.

to kill a crab, flip it over and use a chopper and chop it down into half. OR alternatively use a chopstick and poke it into the top part of the triangular section of the crab.

all internal sections of the crab muz cleanse properly before cooking.

IF cooking chili crab or curry or black pepper, u can steam the crab, or fry the crab first. set aside and prepare the sauces for the crab.

hope these helps.. ;)

asian cooking not my area of specialisation. but its basic knowledge.. heh..