Iso during daylight


Oct 30, 2010
369
0
16
#1
Hi , wads are ur normal iso during daylight ? I used to use 100 all the way as long as thr is sufficient light , shutterspeed ard 160-200 . Or should i increase my iso to 400 and use higher ss ? Will it be better ? Thanks .
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#2
Hi , wads are ur normal iso during daylight ? I used to use 100 all the way as long as thr is sufficient light , shutterspeed ard 160-200 . Or should i increase my iso to 400 and use higher ss ? Will it be better ? Thanks .
You use the ISO you need based on your aperture to maintain the shutterspeed you need....

Really, there is no magic formula.
 

Oct 30, 2010
369
0
16
#3
So will there be noise even though its bright At high iso?
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#4
the is a reason you need to use particular aperture setting of this scene, so you compromise with the other two
the is a reason you need to use particular shutter speed of this scene, so you compromise with the other two
the is a reason you need to use particular ISO setting of this scene, so you compromise with the other two
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#5
So will there be noise even though its bright At high iso?
Generally ISO noise is more visible in dark areas, etc.

You have a camera, right? You have a window, or a door that will let you go outside? Ergo, you have the ability to test and try as much as you want to. why don't you do that? It will be much more productive to your learning than just typing away at a keyboard and thinking of theories.
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,042
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#7
Hi , wads are ur normal iso during daylight ? I used to use 100 all the way as long as thr is sufficient light , shutterspeed ard 160-200 . Or should i increase my iso to 400 and use higher ss ? Will it be better ? Thanks .
As far as possible, assuming that you are not constrained by the shutter speed, and are using the correct aperture that you want, you should use the lowest ISO possible for maximum image quality AND dynamic range.
 

Cowseye

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2010
3,786
0
0
Singapore
www.ttlo-cowseye.com
#9
catchlights said:
the is a reason you need to use particular ISO setting of this scene, so you compromise with the other two
Though, I find myself shooting as low an ISO as possible when I move from one scene to another.

No offense to catchlight, just sharing a thought:
It would be quite funny to think, "I need that many grains on my image, hence because I need this high ISO and I have to turn up my shutter speed and turn down my aperture". Not impossible but just find it amusing as a reason for a certain ISO.
 

ondoy

New Member
Apr 26, 2011
173
0
0
#10
usually use 100..
it there's a need to increase then increase by small increments..
no need to shoot at high iso in daylight.
 

Valkarian

New Member
Nov 28, 2011
276
0
0
26
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#11
You have a camera, right? You have a window, or a door that will let you go outside? Ergo, you have the ability to test and try as much as you want to. why don't you do that? It will be much more productive to your learning than just typing away at a keyboard and thinking of theories.
i was thinking:" what, shoot a window or door?" then i laughed very hard at this XD solid advice to people who worry they're not doing photography right.
 

Last edited:

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#12
Though, I find myself shooting as low an ISO as possible when I move from one scene to another.

No offense to catchlight, just sharing a thought:
It would be quite funny to think, "I need that many grains on my image, hence because I need this high ISO and I have to turn up my shutter speed and turn down my aperture". Not impossible but just find it amusing as a reason for a certain ISO.
if the photographer prefer digital noise from high ISO than adding grains in the post, by all means.
 

Bee-Phone

New Member
Nov 11, 2011
31
0
0
#13
AkemiOgre said:
Hi , wads are ur normal iso during daylight ? I used to use 100 all the way as long as thr is sufficient light , shutterspeed ard 160-200 . Or should i increase my iso to 400 and use higher ss ? Will it be better ? Thanks .
For me, I'll try to maintain the ISO as low as possible.
You can set to auto and set the max as well, after that u can more focus on ur object :)
 

Oct 30, 2010
369
0
16
#14
Hey thanks everybody for the contribution! Have a good night :)
 

Top Bottom