Is this a CA problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zhaowei

Apr 10, 2008
Singapore
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to DSLR photography and I'm still trying to pick up all the jargon that fly around photo sites and forums. One term I thought I understood was Chromatic Aberrations (CAs).

Up till recently, I've only shot with my Nikkor 16-85mm VR and the double zoom kit lenses, ie the 18-55mm and 55-200mm VR. I usually do some slight retouching of photos after I upload them to the computer, and I usually zoom in to within the 25% to 100% range while doing that.

One thing I don't think I've seen is CAs in my pictures. I think it's mostly because the three aforementioned lenses are not known for high CAs, plus the fact that I don't shoot wide open with them much anyway.

Recently, I bought a new lens - the Nikkor AFS 60mm. Eager to test it out to make sure I got a good copy, I've been shooting random objects all over the place. However, I noticed that in a few shots I took at the camera store, there seems to be something resembling CAs, with greenish and purplish fringes on the metal screw in the picture. From what I understand, CAs can only be noticed if you zoom in quite a bit, but for this picture, even at 20% or less the purple and green fringes are impossible to be missed.

Original shot, f/3.8, 1/80sec, ISO 400, -1/3EV, and yes, I shot a tripod handheld
DSC_0359.jpg

50% centre crop.
DSC_0359a.jpg

Can anyone help verify what's the problem here? I'm honestly clueless about what's wrong here. I'm wondering if it's simply because I'm shooting a metal surface.

Thanks in advance for replying!

Zhaowei