Is it necessary to calibrate our pc monitor for color??


Status
Not open for further replies.

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#1
I am thinking to get a spyderexpress3 to calibrate my monitor...is it necessary?
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#2
it is necessary if you want to produce stuff that can be printed properly (at the right shops), and if you want people to see what you see, for the most part.

especially since most browsers these days have color management enabled.

if hey, you don't mind thinking that the sky is blue when people are seeing it as purple, it's not necessary at all.

my advice is, get one , or borrow one, you can pool with a group of friends and share it.
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#3
How do you want to measure without reference or ruler? Calibrating (or correctly: profiling) your monitor brings it to a known reference point based on which you can judge and adjust colours. Everything else it hit and miss.
 

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#4
it is necessary if you want to produce stuff that can be printed properly (at the right shops), and if you want people to see what you see, for the most part.

especially since most browsers these days have color management enabled.

if hey, you don't mind thinking that the sky is blue when people are seeing it as purple, it's not necessary at all.

my advice is, get one , or borrow one, you can pool with a group of friends and share it.
i seldom print out my stuff but i do upload to website..and i dont really get to understand what you mean as "if hey, you don't mind thinking that the sky is blue when people are seeing it as purple, it's not necessary at all" for example the picture i take is blue sky but when upload to my pc...the color is purple so when i upload to the website ... other ppl also see the sky in purple??
 

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#5
How do you want to measure without reference or ruler? Calibrating (or correctly: profiling) your monitor brings it to a known reference point based on which you can judge and adjust colours. Everything else it hit and miss.

That true...so syderexpress3 is it enough?? or should i get the pro version as it has 3 version..express, pro and elite
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#6
i seldom print out my stuff but i do upload to website..and i dont really get to understand what you mean as "if hey, you don't mind thinking that the sky is blue when people are seeing it as purple, it's not necessary at all" for example the picture i take is blue sky but when upload to my pc...the color is purple so when i upload to the website ... other ppl also see the sky in purple??
let's put it this way.

most monitors, uncalibrated, will not display colors accurately.

if you photoshop, and then adjust color to your tastes, it may appear blue on your *uncalibrated* monitor, but to others, it will look purple. this is just an example of things that can go severely wrong if you do not calibrate your monitor.

most people here will tell you (where's uncle catchlights ar) that it is no point buying expensive camera, photoshopping, taking pictures, if end up what you see on your screen is not what other people see.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#7
That true...so syderexpress3 is it enough?? or should i get the pro version as it has 3 version..express, pro and elite
i am using spyder2express

so far no one is telling me that my colors are very off.

but i did have some problems with the photos i had BEFORE calibration. :bsmilie:
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#10
i'm using spyder3 express, its really easy to calibrate and works. if you're looking for simple calibration, you don't need the elite/pro ones.
interesting... tks for sharing...where to get it and how much does one cost??
 

grantyale

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2004
1,798
0
36
Bedok
#11
Note: Spyder2 cannot handle wide-gamut displays. Spyder3's automatic calibration doesn't do a very good job in producing the LUT (slight hue shift here and there across the gray scale, probably due to its coarse sampling). You may want to tune the LUT manually. As for profiling - I have no "ground truth" to compare against so can't speak of the quality of Spyder3's profiles.
 

Last edited:

DonnyDan

New Member
Dec 4, 2009
231
0
0
30
#12
I am only using spyder2 but calibration is a must.

We get expensive lense, we talk about camera sharpness and everything. But after all if the color isnt correct we are we editing in the darkroom? So It is necessary or i say a must unless you are keeping it for yourself and viewing it on the same screen everytime for display.
 

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#13
interesting... tks for sharing...where to get it and how much does one cost??
cathay photo got sell...at S$177.00

so might get one today...

ya i want to see correct color too..so i can do adjustment correctly..
 

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#15
Isn't it tricky calibrating a laptop? Since which is the right angle of view?
And if we connect the laptop to a secondary monitor, will it show the calibrated results or still have to calibrate the other monitor as well? And if need to, how to do it?
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#16
Isn't it tricky calibrating a laptop? Since which is the right angle of view?
And if we connect the laptop to a secondary monitor, will it show the calibrated results or still have to calibrate the other monitor as well? And if need to, how to do it?
Laptop isn't more tricky than any other normal screen. Sometimes some buttons or functions are missing but the spyder software can handle that. Just select accordingly. You put the device in the center (or the other spots as indicated by the software) and that's it. It's rather a question of you being at the right spot with your eyes when working :)
For secondary monitor just calibrate each monitor separately (as main monitor), then use the system tools or spyder profile selector to pick the correct profile for each screen. Even Spyder2 can do that.
 

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#17
OK..i got the software and after calibrating my monitor...it look yellowish is that normal??
 

Octarine

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 3, 2008
12,543
33
48
Pasir Ris
#18
OK..i got the software and after calibrating my monitor...it look yellowish is that normal??
Yes. Because your eyes are used to the overly blueish images resulting from standard settings. Takes a bit to 'readjust" your eyes to normal colours without any cast. My gauge: gray menu bars of Firefox. That's a nice and neutral gray.
 

rysouke

New Member
Apr 25, 2009
294
0
0
#19
i see...hahaha..really look so difference ...
 

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#20
Laptop isn't more tricky than any other normal screen. Sometimes some buttons or functions are missing but the spyder software can handle that. Just select accordingly. You put the device in the center (or the other spots as indicated by the software) and that's it. It's rather a question of you being at the right spot with your eyes when working :)
For secondary monitor just calibrate each monitor separately (as main monitor), then use the system tools or spyder profile selector to pick the correct profile for each screen. Even Spyder2 can do that.
I don't mean the missing function buttons. I meant the tilt of the laptop screen, as you said, being at the right spot with your eyes when working. That means we must always be almost or must be spot on at the angle while we viewing the laptop.
Because a slight shift of the viewing height or different angle tilt of the screen gives you a different look as it is different from a table top monitor where the angle is fixed most of the time.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom