Iphone data usage


Status
Not open for further replies.

pizzaboi

New Member
Sep 13, 2009
54
0
0
#1
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of getting an iphone for christmas, looking at new bundled data plans from SH & M1, 12 gb is a lot.

But are we able to know how much data we have used so far ??
Is there a setting that i missed out reading from Apple's webby.

Any iphone users able to advise?
 

Rafael

Deregistered
Jul 5, 2007
346
0
0
#2
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of getting an iphone for christmas, looking at new bundled data plans from SH & M1, 12 gb is a lot.

But are we able to know how much data we have used so far ??
Is there a setting that i missed out reading from Apple's webby.

Any iphone users able to advise?
So far only Singtel has the feature to control your usage by monitoring.
Checkout:
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/

Singtel also has its own iPhone app to check via iPhone itself.
 

Last edited:

pizzaboi

New Member
Sep 13, 2009
54
0
0
#3
cool, hopefully starhub can come out with sumtink lidat too ...

thks rafael
 

Rafael

Deregistered
Jul 5, 2007
346
0
0
#5
Watch out for data roaming while overseas, it will cost you a fortune.
 

Big Kahuna

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2004
2,126
1
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#7
Watch out for data roaming while overseas, it will cost you a fortune.
Not sure about the other plan, I called Sintel cust svc and they said the data roaming will cut automatically when using other telcos, i tried that on my last few trips to Msia and it did...so no worries. :p
 

Rafael

Deregistered
Jul 5, 2007
346
0
0
#8
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of getting an iphone for christmas, looking at new bundled data plans from SH & M1, 12 gb is a lot.

But are we able to know how much data we have used so far ??
Is there a setting that i missed out reading from Apple's webby.

Any iphone users able to advise?
Frankly speaking, with 12GB plan, IMO you don't need to check data usage any more, you won't go that far.

Check out my previous thread:
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=592449&highlight=iphone
 

CYRN

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2002
4,575
0
36
photoevangel.com
#9
Not sure about the other plan, I called Sintel cust svc and they said the data roaming will cut automatically when using other telcos, i tried that on my last few trips to Msia and it did...so no worries. :p
cuz the default setting on iphone disables roaming data... but if you itchy finger.. then... heeheehee :angel:
 

iMac08

New Member
Sep 4, 2008
1,122
0
0
Tiong Bahru,Singapore
www.flickr.com
#10
i use my data to surf net for laptop on the move and even for online games like COD....can easily hit 15g or 18g...but i am using a broadband on mobile plan to tag to my phone line
 

jlkk76

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2006
2,148
0
0
Tampines
#11
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of getting an iphone for christmas, looking at new bundled data plans from SH & M1, 12 gb is a lot.

But are we able to know how much data we have used so far ??
Is there a setting that i missed out reading from Apple's webby.

Any iphone users able to advise?
there app for u to install to check ur data usage...;)

anyway, do turn off ur data roaming when oversea...

I kena once wif a $200 data roaming....:(
 

May 11, 2009
315
0
0
#12
My current Singtel plan is 1GB....every month I only used 2~300MB...usage mainly on trading and forum :lovegrin:
FYI Singtel had revised the Dataplan to 12GB WEF 09 Dec 09.

Cheers happy surfing but dun over surf haha
 

NovJoe

Senior Member
Feb 15, 2009
5,650
0
0
~Sunny Little Island~
#13
What will you normally do when you get the data plan? Online gaming with iPhone? Surfing Internet? IM?

For me, I used to be on ST 50GB plan until I downgrade to a 1GB plan now. The reason is simple. I only surf net, forums & IM. Even with alot of apps downloading from Apple Store, I couldn't hit more than 500mb monthly. Bear in mind that any apps more than 10mb requires you to download using a wifi connection ;).

My 2 cents worth.
 

CYRN

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2002
4,575
0
36
photoevangel.com
#14
Hi guys,

I'm thinking of getting an iphone for christmas, looking at new bundled data plans from SH & M1, 12 gb is a lot.

But are we able to know how much data we have used so far ??
Is there a setting that i missed out reading from Apple's webby.

Any iphone users able to advise?
you'll burn out the iphone wifi antenna or kill the batt before you hit 12GB monthly. :D
 

pizzaboi

New Member
Sep 13, 2009
54
0
0
#16
there app for u to install to check ur data usage...;)

anyway, do turn off ur data roaming when oversea...

I kena once wif a $200 data roaming....:(
i thought that the telcos SH n M1 cap the data usage to a certain amt ?

for eg Sh its at $48 iirc, does it means that u cannot use anymore after that , or its unlimited usage at that price for the rest of the month ?
 

omahunk

New Member
Nov 18, 2009
254
0
0
Pasir Ris
#17
there app for u to install to check ur data usage...;)

anyway, do turn off ur data roaming when oversea...

I kena once wif a $200 data roaming....:(
Me too when I was in China...$1000plus just checking email.:angry:
it advisable to turn off.
 

iMac08

New Member
Sep 4, 2008
1,122
0
0
Tiong Bahru,Singapore
www.flickr.com
#18
What will you normally do when you get the data plan? Online gaming with iPhone? Surfing Internet? IM?

For me, I used to be on ST 50GB plan until I downgrade to a 1GB plan now. The reason is simple. I only surf net, forums & IM. Even with alot of apps downloading from Apple Store, I couldn't hit more than 500mb monthly. Bear in mind that any apps more than 10mb requires you to download using a wifi connection ;).

My 2 cents worth.
That's me. Haha.every month my bill come my data charges is above 1.5k and that is my saving.if this fried my iPhone then I can only say Nokia rocks,at least it is still working.
 

coolsigg

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
2,473
0
0
#19
you'll burn out the iphone wifi antenna or kill the batt before you hit 12GB monthly. :D
err, when u are using the 3.5G/3G data plan, u won't be using the wifi antenna at the same time right? :think:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom