imac for lightroom


weekh

Senior Member
Sep 6, 2004
4,101
0
0
#1
Is the imac core i5 good enough for lightroom?
 

emlee

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2008
1,763
1
38
Ang Mo Kio
#2
Is the imac core i5 good enough for lightroom?
Quad Core or Duo Core? I am using iMac i7 Quad core, runs quite smooth. Though occasionally slow in rendering the previews. however, I have to add that I may not be using it efficiently as my library runs into 20k shots. (Juliene Kost kept saying there is no reason to keep multiple library, hence i only use 1 for my entire collection). It wasn't like that. I was migrating my library from iPhoto, and when the library was still small, there wasn't any slow rendering detected. It also did not happen when I was doing the trial.

hope that helped. I do think it will work fine on i5, Quad core nonetheless.
 

emlee

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2008
1,763
1
38
Ang Mo Kio
#4
oh ya, that reminds me, yes, I upgraded the ram too. thanks for reminder.
 

weekh

Senior Member
Sep 6, 2004
4,101
0
0
#5
Thinking of getting the latest imac to replace my pc desktop.
 

Agetan

Senior Member
Dec 31, 2004
4,669
15
38
www.tomato.sg
#6
It will be more than sufficient.

I am still using the older C2D processor iMac and it works remarkly well.

Not the fastest machine but no complaint for a couple thousands of images per week.

As others has mentioned, just max out the RAM and you will be good.

Regards,

Hart
 

weekh

Senior Member
Sep 6, 2004
4,101
0
0
#8
Thanks.
Seems that I should just get the 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 rather than the 2.8GHz Intel Core i5, and use the $400 savings to buy extra RAM.
 

Jun 15, 2010
328
1
0
Singapore
miltontan.com
#9
Quad Core or Duo Core? I am using iMac i7 Quad core, runs quite smooth. Though occasionally slow in rendering the previews. however, I have to add that I may not be using it efficiently as my library runs into 20k shots. (Juliene Kost kept saying there is no reason to keep multiple library, hence i only use 1 for my entire collection). It wasn't like that. I was migrating my library from iPhoto, and when the library was still small, there wasn't any slow rendering detected. It also did not happen when I was doing the trial.

hope that helped. I do think it will work fine on i5, Quad core nonetheless.

I don't think there is a quad core version of i5 for laptops.
 

Top Bottom