If the lens is not focusing what does it mean?


Jul 9, 2011
140
0
16
#1
Hi all, I've a question to ask:

I've a 70-200 VR1, just bought recently a few months ago from a fellow CS-er. Everything worked fine, but just now when I took it out for a shoot on my new D7000, the AF failed to work. May I know is the AF mechanism failed, or the contact point dirty? Need advise on this matter.. Thanks!
 

daredevil123

Moderator
Staff member
Oct 25, 2005
21,660
68
48
lil red dot
#2
Hi all, I've a question to ask:

I've a 70-200 VR1, just bought recently a few months ago from a fellow CS-er. Everything worked fine, but just now when I took it out for a shoot on my new D7000, the AF failed to work. May I know is the AF mechanism failed, or the contact point dirty? Need advise on this matter.. Thanks!
No one can advise unless you show the camera and lens. I suggest you bring to NSC or bro fatigue.
 

ziploc

New Member
Jan 17, 2002
4,576
0
0
Snoopyland
#3
Did you accidentally switch the camera to manual focusing mode? Check the switch at the side of the camera near the mount.
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#4
check what mod ziploc suggests first. if it is set correctly,
try un-mount and re-mount the lens, make sure you hear a click sound.

still have problems, bring both to Nikon Service Center tomorrow.
 

Jul 9, 2011
140
0
16
#5
Thanks moderators for all replies. Guess need to head down to service centre. Dunno how much will the cost be.. This lens no more warranty =/
 

edutilos-

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2010
6,042
17
38
The Universe
www.facebook.com
#6
Hi all, I've a question to ask:

I've a 70-200 VR1, just bought recently a few months ago from a fellow CS-er. Everything worked fine, but just now when I took it out for a shoot on my new D7000, the AF failed to work. May I know is the AF mechanism failed, or the contact point dirty? Need advise on this matter.. Thanks!
AF not working could be so many things, could be:

1) Your switch is on MF
2) Contact point dirty
3) Camera fault
4) Lens fault
5) No contrast where you are focusing at
6) Too dark to focus

Not sure what you mean by AF failed to work, does the lens try to focus, or does it not even bother trying to focus?
 

Entity

Senior Member
Mar 19, 2009
601
0
16
#8
If it's not because of the A/M switch on the lens, try focusing with the AF-On button on your camera, maybe your shutter button is faulty. Or maybe some other settings have shifted, possibly prior to this you were on Mirror-Up or timer mode.
 

pasay

New Member
May 13, 2010
508
0
0
Singapore
#9
also be sure your subject is far enough from you. 70-200 has a minimum focusing distance of 1.5 meters
 

Apr 7, 2010
2,560
0
0
Southern Enclave
#10
also be sure your subject is far enough from you. 70-200 has a minimum focusing distance of 1.5 meters
*eeeeks!* Ghost!!! Where have you been bro?! :bsmilie:

To add to your advice... also not forgetting to mention that you should check if the delimiter switch is not turned on for 5m to infinity (if you happened to be focusing on something closer)... Sometimes I forget to switch it back, and I thought my lens is trying to be funny as well... :sweat:
 

Last edited:

pasay

New Member
May 13, 2010
508
0
0
Singapore
#11
*eeeeks!* Ghost!!! Where have you been bro?! :bsmilie:

To add to your advice... also not forgetting to mention that you should check if the delimiter switch is not turned on for 5m to infinity (if you happened to be focusing on something closer)... Sometimes I forget to switch it back, and I thought my lens is trying to be funny as well... :sweat:
haha, was out-station for about 4 months, bro. good to be back. :)

i almost forgot about that delimeter switch on the "bamboo cannon". maybe coz i dont usually shoot more than meters away from my subject. :sweat:
 

sidloojl

New Member
Jul 8, 2009
509
0
0
Singapore
#12
i actually encountered this poblem with my nikon 24-70 before. I couldn't figure it out but i just remounted the lens and everything went back to normal. Any serious problem there?
 

alan choo

Senior Member
Apr 18, 2006
588
1
18
Bukit Batok
#13
HI, TS. Wonder whether you have your problem solved. I had also encountered this problem before. You can try pressing the shutter release and at the same time use the other hand to lightly turn the front focusing ring. In my case there is a slight friction that prevent the motor to run. In another word,its like push starting the motor.
 

Top Bottom