I need help on shutter speed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chameleon20

Jul 31, 2008
Hihi,

I am really a noob in photography and have been trying out my new toy - D40 recently.
Tried to take night shots but all the photos appeared blurry...I chose P mode & using ISO 1600 recommended for those without tripod but the end results are blur too.
I tried S mode, ISO 200 & f5 and it turned out better but not perfect.
Can someone teach me how to create sharp & nice night photography?

Also, I have a very stupid qns...How do I adjust on my D40 to change the shutter speed?
Don't see any button to adjust shutter speed...:what:

Thanks in advance! :)

i dun know anything abt D40, but nite photography is one of my favourite.

a tripod is really critical for scenary.

really, u can get away w hi ISO, large aperture... ...but its the really slow shutter that makes the shot.

so, i'd advise u invest in a good tripod if u havent got one.

Basically for "sharp & nice" night photography, you need a tripod.

To adjust your shutter speed, turn the knob on the top of the camera to "S". After which just spin the dial near your right thumb.

Thanks for your replies.. :)

But I still have some queries.
Does it mean without tripod, the photos definitely will not be sharp?

hi racoon31e, I tried to turn the right dial, I saw the numbers changing (eg. 2.5 to 4 to 5 to 8...) and this number is besides the f5.0 aperture...Is this the shutter speed? Sorry for asking such qns... :p

Read your manual man, it really helps ;)

And yes, just for the most most basic intro to photography for complete novices,
Faster shutter speed -> less blur, image darker
Lower aperture number -> Image brighter, but usually less sharper
Higher ISO -> Image brighter but lower quality (more grainy)

For more detail, you can always refer to the wikipedia ;)

this is the basic,
fast shutter, less light enters in, picture is darker. but it wld't pick up hand shakes.