i am a one thousander!

congrats and time to start reading manuals and shoot more.
do post some photos, i'm sure most of us here willing to help u to improve.

not teachin him how to BBB meh? :think:

As a former 1000D beginner user....i'd say you've got yourself a pretty decent camera ! I've had alot of satisfaction from this cam and till this day i've nvr regretted having it. The only setbks i had was not having enough $ to buy better lenses and bcos i went into sports shoots i eventually had to change to a 40D because of the burst rate.

jlkk76 said:
anyway, welcome to the lightside

why is it the lightside. then where's the darkside? ha.:bsmilie:

not teachin him how to BBB meh? :think:

hahaha... will BBB after i learn more.. i think my first buy is prolly as expected... 50mm f1.8.

Oh ya. do u guys put screen protectors on the lcd? i forgot to ask abt it ytd.:sweat:

hahaha... will BBB after i learn more.. i think my first buy is prolly as expected... 50mm f1.8.

Oh ya. do u guys put screen protectors on the lcd? i forgot to ask abt it ytd.:sweat:

u wont go wrong with a screen protector, it will protect your lcd screen from getting scratch.

join us in our thread in kopitiam and we will teach u more...:devil:

u shld have ask for a free screen protector when u purchased ur cam....go get it a harvey norman at ard $5 bah...and ask them to stick for u..:)

ya lor. totally forgotten abt it... argh. harvey norman? ok later go there n buy hoo

Congrats to ur new camera purchase, now is to go out & shoot more !

congrats on your new 1000d! I also just bought my 1000d 1 month ago and is enjoying every moment of it. But during this 1 month, my shutter count went up to 4.3k as I was always trying different angles to take pictures, looking for things to take and learning all the skills that I have learnt in this forum. I love to take landscape shots and always find that the kit lens was quite limited with its 18mm. I always couldn't manage to take the pics of whole building and scenery and decided to upgrade my lens. I then finally decided to upgrade my kit lens to 15-85. It gives me the ability to have a wider angle and much more zoom then my kit lens as I needed a walkabout lens instead of so many lens. One day you will feel the same like me too :bsmilie: Enjoy your taking photos!

welcome to the world of D-SLR! and yay! +1 to the Canon family!

kohanson said:
congrats on your new 1000d! I also just bought my 1000d 1 month ago and is enjoying every moment of it. But during this 1 month, my shutter count went up to 4.3k as I was always trying different angles to take pictures, looking for things to take and learning all the skills that I have learnt in this forum. I love to take landscape shots and always find that the kit lens was quite limited with its 18mm. I always couldn't manage to take the pics of whole building and scenery and decided to upgrade my lens. I then finally decided to upgrade my kit lens to 15-85. It gives me the ability to have a wider angle and much more zoom then my kit lens as I needed a walkabout lens instead of so many lens. One day you will feel the same like me too :bsmilie: Enjoy your taking photos!

can i ask how big is the difference from 18mm to 15mm focal length?
I reckon 15-85 must be an expensive lens... i sometimes wish i can have a better zoom at things i shoot outside too. but i think at the moment i can only afford 50mm 1.8. :sweat:

SnapSniper said:
welcome to the world of D-SLR! and yay! +1 to the Canon family!

yesyes!

your road to being an Oned or a Oneds and getting L'ed starts from today :bsmilie:

shoot shoot shoot

welcome onboard !

Welcome to the 1000D family ... while u save 100 to 200 when u choose 1000D, so u can get a Dry cabinet or Nissin flash as well...

can i ask how big is the difference from 18mm to 15mm focal length?
I reckon 15-85 must be an expensive lens... i sometimes wish i can have a better zoom at things i shoot outside too. but i think at the moment i can only afford 50mm 1.8. :sweat:

yesyes!

the difference is a slightly wider angle which I have always wanted as I only wish to have 1 lens for walkabout. Its a good investment. the lens cost 1130 and its a new edition to the EFS series, there are vignetting at the sides when the aperture is wide open at 15mm and 85mm. But I don't mind :bsmilie: below are comparison shots. All are shot at f3.5 and iso 800 as I m lazy to take out my tripod.

18mm
4208034217_7707978ef3.jpg

15mm
4208798912_1db58fe1d7.jpg

the difference is a slightly wider angle which I have always wanted as I only wish to have 1 lens for walkabout. Its a good investment. the lens cost 1130 and its a new edition to the EFS series, there are vignetting at the sides when the aperture is wide open at 15mm and 85mm. But I don't mind :bsmilie: below are comparison shots. All are shot at f3.5 and iso 800 as I m lazy to take out my tripod.

18mm
4208034217_7707978ef3.jpg

15mm
4208798912_1db58fe1d7.jpg

Wah, if u really took the effort just to show me the difference between the 2 focal length, its really very big thank you for that!!!

Ok. the difference is quite big from wad i see.:thumbsup: these freaking lenses are just so ex, i will have to save up for some time before i get one of these. Till then, i should have plenty of time to decide wad i need... :think:

Wah, if u really took the effort just to show me the difference between the 2 focal length, its really very big thank you for that!!!

Ok. the difference is quite big from wad i see.:thumbsup: these freaking lenses are just so ex, i will have to save up for some time before i get one of these. Till then, i should have plenty of time to decide wad i need... :think:

haha. I just happen to have the photo when I took it with my 18mm a few days back. So i took it with the 15mm yesterday to show the difference.

Save up for lens, don't be tempted to upgrade ur camera. Get the best lenses u can afford and use them everyday.