Hoya Close Up filter for Product Shots???

wenx

Mar 27, 2004
Hi, I been thinking of getting a Close Up filter for simple product shots, but have some doubts. I know that a Macro Lens/extension tube will fare better than a Close Up filter, but will still stick to a Close Up filter to keep cost low.

1) Read somewhere that a +2 produce better quality than +4, someone like to comment on this?

2) Anyone has done some simple product shots using Close Up filter? Can share some images here?

Thanks for reading and please Share your experiences!

1) of course... cos the level of magnification is lesser, hence lesser impurities.

2) If only using for the net, aka 320x240, 640x480 den your source is about 6-8mp, yes by all means, since nobody would see any difference. if for printing, then forget it... the image quality just sucks...

1) of course... cos the level of magnification is lesser, hence lesser impurities.

2) If only using for the net, aka 320x240, 640x480 den your source is about 6-8mp, yes by all means, since nobody would see any difference. if for printing, then forget it... the image quality just sucks...

Oh... I was thinking of doing prints using the close up filters...
Hmm... :(

Then buy Canon or Nikon closeup filter lor... better quality at a price.

Ha... Well, then I think saving up for a Macro Lens is a better choice liao. Too Badz...

Then buy Canon or Nikon closeup filter lor... better quality at a price.
haha yea but at tt price i'll consider topping up for a cheap marco like the 60/2.8 nikkor instead.

actually, unless ur making big prints, u can crop the img(like when posting online)

roti_prata said:
haha yea but at tt price i'll consider topping up for a cheap marco like the 60/2.8 nikkor instead.

actually, unless ur making big prints, u can crop the img(like when posting online)

Yah, thought about cropping, but if want to print that out, really cannot make it lah.

Is there anyone who like to speak up for Close Up filters?? :dunno:

u trying to comfort yourself? :bsmilie:

:bsmilie: ... U saw through me! Just hoping to see a little hope so I can save a few hundreds bucks on a Macro Lens. Bahaha...

yanyewkay said:
how big you printing?

Perhaps Super 8R?? What do you think the results will be?

if you have a Digital Compact, why not use it? some can do close ups as close as 1cm, and the results are good for S8Rs too. save more...

Xing said:
if you have a Digital Compact, why not use it? some can do close ups as close as 1cm, and the results are good for S8Rs too. save more...

Hmm... true. Have seen some real nice Macros here done by digicam.

Hmm... I guess no more comments about hoya close up filters liao??

u need a shoulder to cry on? :bsmilie:

No need lah... well, I think I give up liao. Ha... Too bad for a cheapo Me.

wenx said:
No need lah... well, I think I give up liao. Ha... Too bad for a cheapo Me.

anyway, u shoot with it already, if not, just shoot already... quality is up to individual, some can accept, some cannot, u ask us here, most will go for the best, so different expectations.

you can just buy a close up filter and if it doesn't work out then get something better
Close up filter is not that expensive.

I just bought one Hoya +4
I've used it a few times.
It's quite alright for net images. But i am not sure about printing. Maybe you can try and let us know the result

anyway, u shoot with it already, if not, just shoot already... quality is up to individual, some can accept, some cannot, u ask us here, most will go for the best, so different expectations.

Ya, I know quality is very subjective.

Ha, anyway, thanks for sharing your experiences huh. I guess this thread has served its purpose and I shall now close it.