Hows Olympus E-1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I'm new in photography and will want to pursue it more and am intending to get an Olympus E-1.

I've been taking alot of pics with just those small point and shot Digi cam, can see it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/climb_jam/

Now I'm intending to go further into photography. Do anyone of you have any reviews abt Olympus E-1?

I quite had my mind set on it after checking out other photography sites.

climb_jam said:
Hi,

I'm new in photography and will want to pursue it more and am intending to get an Olympus E-1.

I've been taking alot of pics with just those small point and shot Digi cam, can see it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/climb_jam/

Now I'm intending to go further into photography. Do anyone of you have any reviews abt Olympus E-1?

I quite had my mind set on it after checking out other photography sites.

Now is if you can still find the E-1 on the brand new maket or not.
Unless second hand...

oh yes, quite true.. hmm...
I'm also looking at E-500, but haven read much abt it yet. But def. if I can get an E-1, 2nd hand, good condition and all, it'll be good.

climb_jam said:
I'm also looking at E-500, but haven read much abt it yet. But def. if I can get an E-1, 2nd hand, good condition and all, it'll be good.

E-1 is a better choice, cos i used E-500 before but the WB is not gd...you will not regret getting E-1.

It's a lightweight system, but you might want to consider the lenses properly first. The viewfinder's kindof dark compared to "regular" Canons and Nikons, since Olympus has a 2x FOV crop. Might be a problem when you combine a shallow DOF with manual focussing. my dad used to have the E1, so that was based on my short experience with the camera then. Since then, I have handled a few friend's E330/500 setups, but I can't get used to the dark viewfinder. If you're considering lightweight shooting while climbing, the E1 may be your cup of tea.