How to use colour gel that comes with Diana F+


cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#1
Hi All!

Any tips on how to use the colour gels that comes with Diana F+.
The guy at the shop told me to put in the colour gel in the Flash.

I tried using the colour gel, but the picture didn't come out right,
but there wasn't any colour in my picture :cry:


This is what I did, pls do let me know if it's right or wrong:
A. Outdoor during a Sunny day
1. Load the colour in the Flash (I think it was blue)
2. The shutter speed is set to "N"
3. Turn on the Flash and fired the shutter (1/60 sec).

B. Lit indoor
1. Load the colour in the Flash (I think it was pink)
2. The shutter speed is set to "B"
3. Turn on the Flash and fired the shutter (5 sec).

Please do let me know if there are any Tips & Tricks in take picture with the colour gel.

Thanks a bunch :vhappy:
 

Last edited:

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#2
i have to assume u were not using b&w film to begin with. what type of film did u use and how did u process it?

assuming the pics came out perfectly fine other than the lack of tint.
 

coolsigg

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
2,473
0
0
#5
I tried using the colour gel, but the picture didn't come out right,
but there wasn't any colour in my picture :cry:


This is what I did, pls do let me know if it's right or wrong:
A. Outdoor during a Sunny day
1. Load the colour in the Flash (I think it was blue)
2. The shutter speed is set to "N"
3. Turn on the Flash and fired the shutter (1/60 sec).

B. Lit indoor
1. Load the colour in the Flash (I think it was pink)
2. The shutter speed is set to "B"
3. Turn on the Flash and fired the shutter (5 sec).

Please do let me know if there are any Tips & Tricks in take picture with the colour gel.

Thanks a bunch :vhappy:
My view:
Outdoor:
How far are you to the subject? Dont think the Diana flash can overpower the sunlight. Also, based on f8/f11 of Diana F+ and 1/60s, high chance of overexposure. Going by sunny 16 rule, you are at least 2-3 stops overexposed if using asa100 film.

Indoor:
Depending on lighting condition, my view is that 5sec exposure is also abit of overkill if u used high speed films.

Like the rest mentioned, show us the photo and we can advise more. :)
 

cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#7
Thanks for all the advice..

To start off.. I'm very very new at Lomography..
I shot my first row of film last saturday :embrass:

I used colour film (I hope that is the correct film :D)

I didn't under much of the tips as it seems to be a little technical for me as i dun use other types of camera other than a simple digital camera.

I'm sorry, but i dun understand what you mean by
"Also, based on f8/f11 of Diana F+ and 1/60s, high chance of overexposure. Going by sunny 16 rule, you are at least 2-3 stops overexposed if using asa100 film."

I can't attach my picture cuz i posted on facebook:(


Thanks again for all you help :sweatsm:

P.S: By the way can you guys advice me what is the best film to use?
 

Last edited:

coolsigg

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
2,473
0
0
#8
I'm sorry, but i dun understand what you mean by
"Also, based on f8/f11 of Diana F+ and 1/60s, high chance of overexposure. Going by sunny 16 rule, you are at least 2-3 stops overexposed if using asa100 film."

I can't attach my picture cuz i posted on facebook:(
*Please do add me, cutyhammy@hotmail.com*

Thanks again for all you help :sweatsm:

P.S: By the way can you guys advice me what is the best film to use?
for sunny16 rule, you can google for it.

yes, u can attach photos from facebook. you can right click on the photo and get the properties. copy the photo's url, then paste the url in this format (add the 2 img tags):



:)
 

cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#9
for sunny16 rule, you can google for it.

yes, u can attach photos from facebook. you can right click on the photo and get the properties. copy the photo's url, then paste the url in this format (add the 2 img tags):



:)
Thanks!
Here is my picture, I think I use blue colour.
I took it outdoor (sunny)

 

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#10
i think the sunlight is probably overpowered your camera flash. i would advise trying the flash at low light shooting.
 

Last edited:

cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#12
the pic is underexposed and i think the sunlight is probably overpowered your camera flash. i would advise trying the flash at low light shooting.
**Will it be better if I do the below:D:
1. Take in Lit indoor
2. Set Shutter speed to "B"
3. Aperture (middle setting)
4. Use flash with colour gel
5. Hold the shutter for about 10sec
 

flipfreak

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2007
7,030
0
36
Singapore
www.rogerchua.com
#14
**Will it be better if I do the below:D:
1. Take in Lit indoor
2. Set Shutter speed to "B"
3. Aperture (middle setting)
4. Use flash with colour gel
5. Hold the shutter for about 10sec
i am not familiar with the diana camera but i would suggest not using the bulb mode. use the flash as your main source of light and u will see the color tint already.
 

cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#15
This is my favorite shot from my 1st row..

What do u guys think?
*Urs comments are much appreciated ^^

 

coolsigg

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
2,473
0
0
#16
**Will it be better if I do the below:D:
1. Take in Lit indoor
2. Set Shutter speed to "B"
3. Aperture (middle setting)
4. Use flash with colour gel
5. Hold the shutter for about 10sec
IMHO, 1-2 secs should be sufficient. 10 secs might be a bit overdoing it. You might also be introducing a lot of handshake. unless you use a tripod or u want the fuzzy light trails and blurry images.

paging for unker ndroo the toy cam king to help this newbie! :D
 

ndroo

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 22, 2003
8,243
3
0
47
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
#17
IMHO, 1-2 secs should be sufficient. 10 secs might be a bit overdoing it. You might also be introducing a lot of handshake. unless you use a tripod or u want the fuzzy light trails and blurry images.

paging for unker ndroo the toy cam king to help this newbie! :D
Oy! I also just whack and pray one hor! :sweat:
 

ndroo

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 22, 2003
8,243
3
0
47
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
#18
**Will it be better if I do the below:D:
1. Take in Lit indoor
2. Set Shutter speed to "B"
3. Aperture (middle setting)
4. Use flash with colour gel
5. Hold the shutter for about 10sec
It is almost impossible to tell you what are the better options. It all depends on the lighting (indoor/outdoor). Other things to consider are the film speed (ISO), distance from your subject etc. If it is a dimly lit indoor scene, you can try mounting the cam on a tripod, open up the shutter in B mode for a few seconds and then fire the flash manually. That will give some cool results too. You can opt to do it without a tripod but the background will be some cool blur madness ba.
 

cutyhammy

New Member
May 3, 2010
18
0
0
#20
Thanks a lot for all your great tips..
I'll try it out again over this weekend..

It's True.. Films are so expensive these days.. :cry:

**I was wondering, will it be better to get a 35mm back instead, so that I can get more pictures... Will i get the same type of images as the 120m??**
 

Top Bottom