how to take vertical object and display on PC vertically.


Status
Not open for further replies.

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#1
Bought this 500D recently, great pics, so far so good.
Was trying to take pictures of a building vertically, but when i copy to PC and view on the screen, the buidling instead of standing, became lying on the ground, meaning it is not showing the vertical image, instead show the horizontal image. Hence, i have to tilt my head 45 degree to the left or right to view the pictures of the building.

How to show the pictures vertically? There is 1 setting in the camera about this setting, i tried, but seems no different.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#2
when you open it it should be vertical.

are you talking about the preview only?

because 500d has built in orientation sensor.
 

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#3
when you open it it should be vertical.

are you talking about the preview only?

because 500d has built in orientation sensor.
preview on camera no problem, i can view vertically. But on PC, it shows horizontally.
 

Lolrence

Senior Member
Oct 15, 2006
1,147
0
36
#4
If you're using Photoshop, go to 'image', 'rotate canvas'.
If you're using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', click the 'rotate clockwise' or 'rotate anticlockwise' button.

When you open them up in Photoshop initially, the orientation should be correct though.
 

chalib

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2007
2,072
0
36
#5
preview on camera no problem, i can view vertically. But on PC, it shows horizontally.
Have you read the manual page 134???

Do you know there are 3 options for you to choose? If you have read and choosen correctly, you would be able to view it vertically on your LCD and computer screen.

Please read your manual lah

There is a reason why Canon has included the manual copy in your camera purchase, right?
 

Last edited:

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#7
If you're using Photoshop, go to 'image', 'rotate canvas'.
If you're using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', click the 'rotate clockwise' or 'rotate anticlockwise' button.

When you open them up in Photoshop initially, the orientation should be correct though.
using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', i know i can rotate 1 by 1, buy if i have like 200 to 500 pictures (mixture of horizontal and vertical image), i cannot be rotating 1 by 1.

Any way to take pictures vertically, and view vertically on PC without making any adjustment in photoshop to the picture.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#8
using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', i know i can rotate 1 by 1, buy if i have like 200 to 500 pictures (mixture of horizontal and vertical image), i cannot be rotating 1 by 1.

Any way to take pictures vertically, and view vertically on PC without making any adjustment in photoshop to the picture.
..in the past without orientation sensor, also have to rotate.
 

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#9
i read the statement (last 3 lines of page 134),

it says if vertical image does not rotate on computer screen, the software used is not compatible with image rotation. Use the camera's provided sofware instead.

I am using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', you mean it is not compatible with image rotation?:dunno:
 

Last edited:

chalib

Senior Member
Oct 4, 2007
2,072
0
36
#10
i read the statement (last 3 lines of page 134),

it says if vertical image does not rotate on computer screen, the software used is not compatible with image rotation. Use the camera's provided sofware instead.

I am using 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer', you mean it is not compatible with image rotation?:dunno:
If you can't view it is being rotated then it is not compatible.

Any reason why you want to Windows software instead of Canon provided software?
 

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#11
If you can't view it is being rotated then it is not compatible.

Any reason why you want to Windows software instead of Canon provided software?
because sometimes we may need to bring our memory card to friends house, office etc which do no have canon sofware, especially after coming back from holiday, taking so many pictures, with occasionally have to tilt head left and right 90 degree to see the pictures on the PC is quite annoying.
 

Last edited:

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#12
because sometimes we may need to bring our memory card to friends house, office etc which do no have canon sofware, especially after coming back from holiday, taking so many pictures, with occasionally have to tilt head left and right 90 degree to see the pictures on the PC is quite annoying.


open the bloody thing in a proper imaging program, instead of using preview or windows whatever
 

Last edited:

Dream Merchant

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2007
9,659
6
38
#13
Load up Canon Utilities. Often, can also download from wherever you are - friend's place etc. Or try several of the freeware available and see if any auto-rotates for viewing.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#15
because sometimes we may need to bring our memory card to friends house, office etc which do no have canon sofware, especially after coming back from holiday, taking so many pictures, with occasionally have to tilt head left and right 90 degree to see the pictures on the PC is quite annoying.
then suck thumb and do it.

how often do you do that? just rotate yourself lor....... got what choice?

or you can write one long long petition to microsoft engineers, who will ignore you.
 

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#16
then suck thumb and do it.

how often do you do that? just rotate yourself lor....... got what choice?

or you can write one long long petition to microsoft engineers, who will ignore you.
really sad to know microsoft cannot support auto rotation.

but how come i can see people posting here for there vertically image, did they photoshop it then post here?
 

Dan

Senior Member
Jan 8, 2004
797
2
18
#17
Canon have included a CD program call Zoombrowser... load your picture there. Automatically rotated during import. Hope it help..

because sometimes we may need to bring our memory card to friends house, office etc which do no have canon sofware, especially after coming back from holiday, taking so many pictures, with occasionally have to tilt head left and right 90 degree to see the pictures on the PC is quite annoying.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#18
really sad to know microsoft cannot support auto rotation.

but how come i can see people posting here for there vertically image, did they photoshop it then post here?
well, yes, usually people do that. they have to resize the image anyways, imagine submitting a full size 14 megapixel image online.. people will murder you if you post full size.

you can get free imaging programs over the net.

picasa is one.. gimp is another..
 

rocketatw

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2010
1,389
2
38
#19
well, yes, usually people do that. they have to resize the image anyways, imagine submitting a full size 14 megapixel image online.. people will murder you if you post full size.

you can get free imaging programs over the net.

picasa is one.. gimp is another..
thanks, never know there are free ware for resizing.

by the way, is there any freeware for digital photoframe? saw some people posting their photo nicely with black frames and custom signature.
 

night86mare

Deregistered
Aug 25, 2006
25,541
0
0
www.pbase.com
#20
thanks, never know there are free ware for resizing.

by the way, is there any freeware for digital photoframe? saw some people posting their photo nicely with black frames and custom signature.
GIMP will do the job too.

but it is more advanced, almost photoshop level, just freeware, and not so user friendly.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom