How to take street shots/photography?

Kavana

Mar 7, 2005
I try to take some street shots, but the people end up staring at me. :embrass:
How you all take those sneaky shots, without getting noticed?

Golden rule 4

always be ready to run (sprint more specifically) at a drop of a coin!! :bsmilie:

Golden rule 5 -

1) Walk away (*pretend lar...) :cool:
2) Take :eek:
3) Smile :D
4) Run! (Depends on situation.... :bsmilie: )

Street photography is never sneaky. In fact the more sneaky you are the more conspicuous you will be. Relax, let people know you are taking picture and avoid jerky movement. Smile alot, chat with strangers if possible to put them at ease. Capa used to say that let people know that you like them and you could get 'close' to them. Always respect others rights and if they do not like to have photos taken, give a smile and a short bow and walk away. Always be prepared to talk your way out. I was confronted once when I was taking photos of some Baskers. One of them turned aggressive and demanded to have the negatives, I have to calmly talk to him for more than 15 minutes to reassure him that I am not press and I am just documenting Singapore street culture and no images of him will be used for commercial purposes. You could take a look at my PBase gallery, all the street and documentary work is done with a 35mm prime. :)

1. Talk to them
2. Understand what they're doing
3. Blend in
4. Shoot
5. Post

wow that was a fast reply, thanks everyone. I guess I have to train my sprinting now ;p.

zaren said:
Pretend to be shooting something else, then at the last minute swing your camera around to catch the decisive moment for a split second, then continue to shoot other things before walking away.
I sometimes do that but sharpness get a bit of compromise. Cannot brake the camera in time. :bsmilie:

Now just shoot first. The rest worry later! ;)

Slim said:
I sometimes do that but sharpness get a bit of compromise. Cannot brake the camera in time. :bsmilie:

Now just shoot first. The rest worry later! ;)

dun worry about sharpness. the most famous street shot by hcb, "behind the gare st lazare", was not sharp at all.

Kavana said:
wow that was a fast reply, thanks everyone. I guess I have to train my sprinting now ;p.
army training is good for street photography... it trains you to...

sprint - shuttle run
jump over obstacles - standing broad jump
upper body and torso strength - chin-up & sit-ups
endurance - 2.4km
all-in-1 - SOC!!! hahaha :bsmilie:

always wear a friendly smile, always helps in extinguishing any unfortunate incidents. :)

Cactus jACK said:

sprint - shuttle run
endurance - 2.4km

always wear a friendly smile, always helps in extinguishing any unfortunate incidents. :)

dun forget marksmanship skills for sharp photos that always hit the mark.

Cactus jACK said:

sprint - shuttle run
endurance - 2.4km

funny.... army never train me to smile leh... :sticktong

If your subject is looking at you,ask:can i have a pic of you.... :)
If not looking at you,just take a shot or two & walk away...... :sweatsm:

StreetShooter said:
1. Carry a big tripod
2. Look like a 300 pound gorilla
3. Growl at anyone who looks your way
4. Shoot whatever you like

HAHA! now then i know how SS got all the super nice street shots~
must learn from this sia...

oh ya.. one more thing to add for streets...
must have fast hand fast leg also~

1. mount a lens < 50mm so you have to get real close
2. engage the subjects
3. make your intention visible (do not hide camera or behind tree)
4. respect subject's decisions if they object shooting
5. act weird (slap youself on the head and scream "I will not obey you") when confronted

"If your pictures aren't good enough, your're not close enough" ~ Robert Capa