How to stop spamming others & (danger) send stuff to Public WITHOUT asking you first


ricohflex

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2005
3,353
8
38
sing
#1
#1 First things first.
If all else fails to stop this...Cancel your current Facebook account. See if you can set up a new one (if you want to) under a different name and password.
.........................

#2 Second things....

Please note that you may think it is alright to let your Friends read your stuff. But beware that once you do that, there is a possibility that "Friends of Friends" can also see your stuff. Then what about "Friends of Friends of Friends"? It may be as good as open to entire Public. This is an unknown...allow if you think you can live with the risk. It is your choice. If your Friend emails/reposts the Facebook item to some one else, then it is likely to go out of the control loop and into the public domain.
.........................

Read:

How to stop spamming on Facebook Friends' profile?

How to keep Facebook spammers from hijacking your wall

How to stop your facebook account spamming people (revoke and remove app permissions)
........................

Go your Facebook page
Go to upper right hand corner
Click the down arrow

Go to
How You Connect
Control how you connect with people you know.
Click "Edit Settings"

How You Connect
In this section, you cannot choose "No One". There is no such choice given.

Pick the most secure choice out of the choices given. Never choose "Everyone"

Who can look you up using the email address or phone number
you provided? Choose "Friends"
Who can send you friend requests? Choose "Friends of Friends"
Who can send you Facebook messages? Choose "Friends"

.............................................

Go your Facebook page
Go to upper right hand corner
Click the down arrow


Click
>Account Settings
>On left hand side look for "Facebook Ads" and Click it

Look under "Ads shown by third parties"
Click on "Edit third party ad settings"
Choose either "Only My Friends" or "No One".
If you are not sure...pick "No One"
Then Save Changes.

Go to "Ads and friends"
This is if you like to share what you like with your friends. Please note #2 above.
Click on "Edit social ads setting"
Go to:
Pair my social actions with ads for
Click on "Only My Friends" or "No One"
If you are not sure...pick "No One"
Then Save Changes.

...............................................


Go to top right hand corner, click on down arrow
Click on Privacy Settings on scroll list.

Go to Timeline and Tagging
Click on Edit Settings

Who can post on your timeline?
Change to "No One"

Who can see what others post on your timeline?
Change to "Custom"  Within Custom, Choose "Only Me"

Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline
Set to "Off >"

Who can see posts you've been tagged in on your timeline?
Change to "Custom" Within Custom, Choose "Only Me"

Review tags friends add to your own posts on Facebook
Set to "Off >"

Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are
uploaded?
Change to "No One"

........................................

You can also Limit the Audience for Past Posts.
This is to limit the audience for posts you shared with friends of friends or Public.
Just make the necessary changes.

........................................

Go your Facebook page
Go to upper right hand corner
Click the down arrow
Click on "Account Settings"
>On left hand side look for "Apps" and Click it

You will see App Settings
"You have authorized these apps to interact with your Facebook account:"

A list of apps are listed. You may be surprised that some you were not aware of.
Click on the "Edit" on the right hand side.
The details of the App scrolls down.

Look out for "This app can also:"
If "Post on your behalf" is shown, then click on the "X" to delete this permission.

...................................................

Look out for "Posts on your behalf: Who can see posts this app makes for you on your Facebook timeline?"
Sometimes this is already set to "Public".
You can choose from
Public
Friends
Only Me
Custom
Close Friends
The school that you input
The University that you input
The workplace that you input
Family
Acquaintances

Change this to "Only Me"

Go through all the Apps. Change the choice to "Only Me"
........................................


Go your Facebook page
Go to upper right hand corner
Click the down arrow
Click on "Privacy Settings"
>On left hand side look for "Apps" and Click it

Scroll down to
"Ads, Apps and Websites
Manage your settings for ads, apps, games and websites."

Click on "Edit Settings" on the right hand side.
A new page will appear.
Go to the second item "How people bring your info to apps they use"
"People who can see your info can bring it with them when they use apps. Use this setting to control the categories of information people can bring with them."

Click on "Edit Settings"

A dialogue box will appear "How people bring your info to apps they use" with several check boxes.
"People on Facebook who can see your info can bring it with them when they use apps. This makes their
experience better and more social. Use the settings below to control the categories of information that people can bring with them when they use apps, games and websites."

You can see the ticks already inside the boxes.

Bio....................... My videos
Birthday................... My links
Family and relationships.......... My notes
Interested in........... Hometown
Religious and political views.... Current city
My website............... Education and work
If I'm online.............. Activities, interests, things I like
My status updates........... My app activity
My photos

Untick all of them if you want to protect your privacy. Especially for "My Photos" and "My videos" since you don't want them re-distributed by others without your express permission being asked.

Remember to Save Changes before you exit the dialogue box.
 

Last edited:

Shizuma

Senior Member
Mar 19, 2012
2,557
25
0
#3
in the fool's mouth is a rod to shame their pride, but the lips of wise men preserve them...
 

Top Bottom