How to protect against Virus?

Sion

Today my ISP sent me a warning about the new virus Nyxem.

To the digital photographers the computers are as important as the cameras.

What are the safeguards you take to protect your computer?

are you serious?

plenty of good antivirus around. aside from the paid.

free - avg, avast[using this one]
paid - nod32

best just keep updating your current antivirus, update your pc and keep the firewall on. that'll do.

I would recommend Mcffee.

Aiyaa, computer virus niah........

I thought STD :bsmilie:

Since now new year time... alot of tangerines... just place 2 infront of the monitor lor... if kena virus, den squeeze the tangerines' juice over the system... a dose of vitamin C helps... ;p

Pull the UTP cable out of your modem, confirm safe.

Sion said:

If your digital pictures are that important then it makes sense to own two computers. The one you use for your digital photography you NEVER use for internet access at all. If you want to email the picture to someone online, simply cast to CD or some removable media and transfer it to the other computer and email from there. Sounds dractic and as crazy as some of the creative ideas "offered" here heheh

I use a somewhat similar method but on one PC. I do my DTP, graphic and digital photo editing on my home PC but when I want to go online, email or ftp..etc, I simply shut down my PC, remove my hdd and put in my other hdd and reboot and go online. What that means is I have two "C" drive each with their own XP OS. The one I use for my design work is exclusively just for designing work software only. And the other will have setup internet access and other stuff. The one positive thing about this set up is not just that the "design hdd" is almost immune against virus attack and also as it only have the bare programs, it boots fasts!, works smooth and snappy since very little startup programs comes online in the background unlike my "internet access hdd". All it cost me is another hdd and purchasing the hdd harness that allow you remove exchange hdd using one of your 5.25" front bay on your computer casing. And there is also my notebook which I can plug to the net if I want to do my design work while I access the net for one reason or another.

The virus, spyware and spam situation will not improve. These day just visiting some unrated site will already infect your system. Hackers are getting more creative with new ways to enter your system. Buggy OS or secret hidden backdoors that hackers finds out and take advantage...etc Just one anti-virus and maybe 1-2 spam/spyware programs installed in your computer are STILL not enough to keep your system safe....not on a long run anyway. Too many new ones are program that slips through the AV's detection net. Till something better comes along, I am sticking to a 2 PC or 2 hdd method hehe....

To be frank, in these day and age, it would be a hundred time more likely you get hit by a spam ware and then a spy ware then a virus. This is becasue there is a more profitable market to be had for this code writers then to destroy your machine. If it was a malious virus attack, it is usually personal and more likely someone you offended or come across while surfing. Others really just want to set your PC up to spam others. Ihave yet to have a virus attack in the last 8 yrs on any of my systems including my company's network. It is about being more careful and not do silly things esepcially with opening emails. Which is still rated one of the highest reason for virus or spy ware attacking one's system.

But I would not mind keeping two tangerines next to my PC too heheh might be handy with its vitamin C...I do hear some virus are afraid of it! heheheh.

Since now new year time... alot of tangerines... just place 2 infront of the monitor lor... if kena virus, den squeeze the tangerines' juice over the system... a dose of vitamin C helps... ;p

this one better.

paper6.jpg

or

6272_oc.jpg

no anti-virus software will help, it is the user habit

u can install all the anti-virus software that u can find, but if u visits sites that infect you with spyware, or anyhow download/install program (such as screen saver, toolbar..etc) it may open up all the security holes and introduce more virus, torjan into your system, there are new viruses everyday so some of them may be able to bypass all your anti-virus software. That's why it is necessary to update all the security patches and virus definition regularly.

For me, i only scan my email box because it is the only source for virus to me. You can't stop pple from sending you email virus because they are being send automatically by another victim. Try to use web-based email (hotmail/yahoo/gmail) or keep your personal email address private, and setup another web-based email just for all those "online registration"

but IMO, the best solution is to get a Mac :p

- Update your anti-virus definition / firewall / spyware applications
- Update regularly your OS and other software.
- No piracy and no installation (incl. email or otherwise attachment) of applications or scripts from unknown source.

If your data are really that important to you, may I suggest that your development work be done on a non-internet / non-network connected terminal. It is troublesome but give a peace of mind

Better still, squeece a lemon on your hard disk if your PC caught a virus :devil: .... <sneeze sneeze>

At least for now, installing an effective AV and keeping it updated would be good enough. Running a good anti-spyware like Xoftspy daily to check would cover just about it. Unless you have a public IP for your PC, infections are not so simple yet for today's viruses. Some virus infect CMOS so swapping hdd does not prevent this type of virus.

User habits.
  1. Don't open suspicious emails + attachments.
  2. Don't surf suspicious sites that require you to download ActiveX components or what-nots - think porn and warez sites. Always say "no" unless you KNOW EXACTLY what is it for.
  3. Don't install the this-toolbar or that-desktop addons. Spyware is more like it.
  4. Don't anyhow give away your email addresses to sites.
  5. Use anti-virus/anti-spam software. Personally I use the free AntiVir. Good and have updates once every few days.
On the extreme end, if you want to be virus-free, switch to MacOS or Linux. BTW Linux has GIMP, which has plugins to open RAW files.

actually 1st 1 help u to earn money 1... den 2nd 1 for protection i think... me not really good with talismen...

You're right, #1 suppose to be Chai Sheng. #2 I also don't know.:bsmilie:

paste #1 onto your CPU for good luck.

hand #2 on your monitor to deter evil thing, but remember to remove it when you surf porno site, if not, next time buay leng liao.

catchlights said:
You're right, #1 suppose to be Chai Sheng. #2 I also don't know.:bsmilie:

paste #1 onto your CPU for good luck.

hand #2 on your monitor to deter evil thing, but remember to remove it when you surf porno site, if not, next time buay leng liao.

i think 1st 1 should use as wallpaper lor... den put an urn infront and light 3 joss sticks every morning & night, b4 going to meet customer also must put another 3 joss stick...

:sweat::sweat::sweat: