How to Focus correctly?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kerinong

Sep 21, 2009
Hi all,

I am new to DSLR and i am currently using a Canon EOS 400D. Like many newbies photographer, some of my photos turn out blur. I believe it is because i do not know how to manual focus properly.

I will look through the viewfinder and adjust the focus. Many a times, it may look "sharp" to me (even though the "focus points" did not appear) and i will press the button fully. When i go through the photos on the computer, i get a huge disappointment.

How do i do it correctly? Attached is one of my not-so-clear pic (it may seems fine here when it has been resized but the original is blur)

img3412i.jpg

Exposure Time: 1/125sec
ISO Speed: 400
Mode: Program
F-stop: f/7.1
Metering Mode: Pattern?
Taken in Broad daylight

I selected AI FOCUS AF for all my shots.

Also, can you advice which mode to use when taking pictures in general? I am usually using A-DEP or P though i cant really tell the difference between them.

Apperciate all tips and advises. Thanks! :)

Last edited:
Manual focus on AF lens isn't as easy as using manual focus lenses, especially zooms, I find. The travel of the focus ring is very little to get from the minimum focusing distance to inifinity, making it very hard to be precise. I would say other than primes, use AF and make sure the focus point is on your subject.

As to which mode, there's no fixed way. Different modes has different uses. If you are clueless about what modes does what, use P mode meanwhile, and read up on the uses of the different modes. P mode is like using a normal point & shoot though.

one quick thing...
did you change the diopter thing on the viewfinder?
i've dont that accidentally before... looks sharp but only because its going through the diopter at like minus something... then come back and its like :O haha

Also, remember that you're doing manual focus on a really tiny viewfinder. It's not the right tool for the job.