How to Fire SB600 without using Body Flash


Status
Not open for further replies.

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#3
... or buy a radio trigger (does not support TTL).

BC
 

Nov 16, 2004
680
0
0
#4
You can go to custom > e3 built-in flash > set built-in flash from TTL (default) to '--'
define which group your SB-600 is going to be, the assign how it will be triggered accordingly by remote.

the built-in flash on your body, will need to be up, as it will fire an 'invisible' flash to trigger the remote SB-600.

See HERE.

This is with reference to D200, not sure about your body.


Hope that helps.
;)
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#5
You can go to custom > e3 built-in flash > set built-in flash from TTL (default) to '--'
define which group your SB-600 is going to be, the assign how it will be triggered accordingly by remote.

the built-in flash on your body, will need to be up, as it will fire an 'invisible' flash to trigger the remote SB-600.

See HERE.

This is with reference to D200, not sure about your body.


Hope that helps.
;)
Like that the built-in flash will still fire to trigger the SB-600. But, yes, it is 'invisible' in the photo. However, if there is a reflective surface head-on, you will still catch the low power pre-flash in the reflective surface of your photo.

BC
 

Nov 16, 2004
680
0
0
#6
Like that the built-in flash will still fire to trigger the SB-600. But, yes, it is 'invisible' in the photo. However, if there is a reflective surface head-on, you will still catch the low power pre-flash in the reflective surface of your photo.

BC
yeah, u r right? why havent i thought of that.... :dunno:
all the while, I thought the 'invisible' flash is like a pre-flash thingy that fires for a very brief moment before the shutter opens and actual TTL flash fires.

maybe i should do a test on it.
;)
 

Minus70

New Member
Jan 21, 2007
137
0
0
Infront of Computer
#7
You still need the body flash to trigger the Sb600. Is there a device like a small strobe that can be mount on the hot shoes that will do the job?
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#8
You still need the body flash to trigger the Sb600. Is there a device like a small strobe that can be mount on the hot shoes that will do the job?
Why you want to do that? Is the built-in flash causing any problem? Which camera are you using?

BC
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#9
yeah, u r right? why havent i thought of that.... :dunno:
all the while, I thought the 'invisible' flash is like a pre-flash thingy that fires for a very brief moment before the shutter opens and actual TTL flash fires.

maybe i should do a test on it.
;)
Try shooting into the mirror, you will see the preflash(maybe the fading of the preflash).:)

BC
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#11
Cat eye flash trigger device.

Regards,
Arto.
Is this a SU-4 type trigger? SB-600 cannot be triggered by SU-4. You'll also need a SU-4 hotshoe trigger for the SB-600.

BC
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#12
Try shooting into the mirror, you will see the preflash(maybe the fading of the preflash).:)

BC
That preflash is not recorded on photo right. It is stop just before shutter open.

....PRE_FLASH....SHUTTER_OPEN...FLASH.............SHUTTER_CLOSE...

Unless if you set your flash mode to slow sync or rear sync..., it might be recorded.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#13
yeah, u r right? why havent i thought of that.... :dunno:
all the while, I thought the 'invisible' flash is like a pre-flash thingy that fires for a very brief moment before the shutter opens and actual TTL flash fires.

maybe i should do a test on it.
;)
In my D70s, I have never record on the photo flash's preflash and or flash's cls command strobe from build-in flash of D70s.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#14
Is this a SU-4 type trigger? SB-600 cannot be triggered by SU-4. You'll also need a SU-4 hotshoe trigger for the SB-600.

BC
Yes, SU4 mode. SB600 can not do INTERNAL SU4 mode, so need external SU4 device (or some called it Cat Eye flash trigger).

Regards,
Arto.
 

Scaglietti

New Member
Jan 14, 2005
1,541
0
0
#15
That preflash is not recorded on photo right. It is stop just before shutter open.

....PRE_FLASH....SHUTTER_OPEN...FLASH.............SHUTTER_CLOSE...

Unless if you set your flash mode to slow sync or rear sync..., it might be recorded.

Regards,
Arto.
I have tried. It does appear on the photo. Try it out on a mirror, you will see it. Both my bro's D70 and my D80's preflash (built-in flash set to '--') showed up in the mirror. I wanted to confirm because I get flash reflection off my fishtank even the built-in flash does not contribute to the flash exposure.

Some fish photography fanatic using a D200 has bought a SU-800 to get over this pre-flash reflection problem.

BC
 

catchlights

Moderator
Staff member
Sep 27, 2004
21,903
46
48
Punggol, Singapore
www.foto-u.com
#16
that are many ways to trigger off camera flash.

beside bulit in flash, you can use
SU800
TTL cord = have TTL function
pc sync cord = manual
IR trigger = flash have to set to SU4 mode, no TTL
radio trigger = come in pair, no TTL
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#17
I have tried. It does appear on the photo. Try it out on a mirror, you will see it. Both my bro's D70 and my D80's preflash (built-in flash set to '--') showed up in the mirror. I wanted to confirm because I get flash reflection off my fishtank even the built-in flash does not contribute to the flash exposure.

Some fish photography fanatic using a D200 has bought a SU-800 to get over this pre-flash reflection problem.

BC
Do you mean preflash to determine flash's power for iTTL, or flash's strobe command for CLS (D70s build-in flash as commander mode)? They are 2 different things.

If preflash, it doesn't recorded on the photo. It IS build-in flash exposure (real flash) recorded on the photo.

By right, it you use CLS mode, its flash's strobe command for CLS will stop before shutter open, so it will not recorded.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Artosoft

Senior Member
Aug 31, 2005
3,710
0
0
Tanjong Katong
#19
I have tried. It does appear on the photo. Try it out on a mirror, you will see it. Both my bro's D70 and my D80's preflash (built-in flash set to '--') showed up in the mirror. I wanted to confirm because I get flash reflection off my fishtank even the built-in flash does not contribute to the flash exposure.

Some fish photography fanatic using a D200 has bought a SU-800 to get over this pre-flash reflection problem.

BC
Ok, I have tried it. And you are right. The build-in flash still recorded on my D70s.

If you say some use SU800 to overcome this problem, you can try using InfraRed pass filter to cover your build-in flash. This one I have no idea where to find it, but I saw the material on remote control TV like black plastic on the front of remote.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Witness

Senior Member
Mar 18, 2004
6,943
0
36
33
www.maverickatwork.com
#20
i remember u can set it to cls and use the d70's built in flash in commander mode to remotely trigger it
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom