How to dispose old laptops?


Status
Not open for further replies.

mich_2103

New Member
Jul 26, 2003
193
0
0
35
Visit site
#1
Dear CSnappers,
I have a couple of questions that I am not very sure how to go about doing it, so I am hoping someone can enlighten me the correct way of doing it.

1.) I have finally shifted all my workload to my Macbook (yeah!), and I guess it is time for my 6yr old Acer to "retire" officially. Took me a while to transfer all my files. However, the question is, what am I supposed to do with the Acer? :dunno:

Although it has served me well over the years but frankly speaking, it is time for it to "go". I have a barely 1yr old desktop which is much more powerful so in a way, it is pointless for me to keep the Acer. My friend said I could sell it for a low-low rate as scraps or spare parts but at the same time, I don't want people to try and recover my files. I don't mind selling it but how do I go about the proper way before discarding my Acer?

2.) Yesterday, I finally converted my place to wireless surfing! I got someone from Starhub to come down and set up everything for me (FOC, since I also subscribed to cable). So when I asked him about setting up a password to prevent anyone from mooching, he said "Starhub doesn't encourage their customers to install passwords because customers may forget their passwords, and it becomes their problem" :dunno:

The technician also mentioned that he has "created a filter so that nobody can have access to my network". I followed my router's instructions that comes with the package and went to the website. Trouble is, I don't know how to go about setting a password and (gasp), I am scared that I may just screw up something easily. :confused:

Hope someone can enlighten me because I am pretty much a tech idiot, and this is my first time I am using wifi at my place so a lot of things appear quite alien to me. :embrass:

{Mich} ;)
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#2
Exactly what router?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#4
It is the Linksys wireless-G broadband router.
Ok, that's easy then.

Open a web browser and access: 192.168.1.1

You should get a username/password prompt.

Leave the username blank, use "admin" as the password. Can you log on to the menu now?
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#5
This is all in the manual though...
 

mich_2103

New Member
Jul 26, 2003
193
0
0
35
Visit site
#6
Ok, that's easy then.

Open a web browser and access: 192.168.1.1

You should get a username/password prompt.

Leave the username blank, use "admin" as the password. Can you log on to the menu now?
Yah can.

But I want to setup a password for my network. So I clicked the "Administration" tab to find that under "Router Password", there's already a password there so I am scared to touch anything.... :S
 

germ_boi

New Member
Oct 3, 2003
856
0
0
30
Sedna, Orion Stars
Visit site
#7
Ok, that's easy then.

Open a web browser and access: 192.168.1.1

You should get a username/password prompt.

Leave the username blank, use "admin" as the password. Can you log on to the menu now?

The technician talk c-ck la. the one that came over to my place taught me how to do it, set password, and protect internet even down to doing MAC access!

Even if you forgot how to do it, there is a reset button at the bottom of your router, just reset it and start over :)
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#8
Yah can.

But I want to setup a password for my network. So I clicked the "Administration" tab to find that under "Router Password", there's already a password there so I am scared to touch anything.... :S
That's normal. You can change the password now. After changing the password, you will need to log on with:
username: admin
Password: your password

That will set the ROUTER password. You now need to set the wireless password.

If you go to "wireless" then "security", what security option is selected?
 

mich_2103

New Member
Jul 26, 2003
193
0
0
35
Visit site
#9
That's normal. You can change the password now. After changing the password, you will need to log on with:
username: admin
Password: your password

That will set the ROUTER password. You now need to set the wireless password.

If you go to "wireless" then "security", what security option is selected?
Hi,
Thanks for guiding me through this. I really, really appreciate it. :)

Are you talking about the security mode? If that is what you are referring, the security mode is "disabled".
 

Hobbesyeo

New Member
Feb 16, 2005
990
0
0
Singapore
www.sxc.hu
#10
1.) I have finally shifted all my workload to my Macbook (yeah!), and I guess it is time for my 6yr old Acer to "retire" officially. Took me a while to transfer all my files. However, the question is, what am I supposed to do with the Acer? :dunno:

Although it has served me well over the years but frankly speaking, it is time for it to "go". I have a barely 1yr old desktop which is much more powerful so in a way, it is pointless for me to keep the Acer. My friend said I could sell it for a low-low rate as scraps or spare parts but at the same time, I don't want people to try and recover my files. I don't mind selling it but how do I go about the proper way before discarding my Acer?
If I were u, I'll just keep the acer as a simple travel laptop where I can download all my holiday pics into it (assuming all that's wrong with it is that is old).

Otherwise you can just flog it off to some garang guni man for a couple of bucks. I'm not sure if those 2nd shops at SLS would even want a 6yr old laptop.

If you are selling, then you should clean off the harddisk with software that's similar to this:- http://www.dirfile.com/active_kill_disk__hard_drive_eraser.htm
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#11
Hi,
Thanks for guiding me through this. I really, really appreciate it. :)

Are you talking about the security mode? If that is what you are referring, the security mode is "disabled".
No problem. :)

Ok, if it's "disabled" it means that ANYONE has access to your wifi.

You can try setting it to WEP, 64-bit encryption. This will generate a string that'll look like:

64DA5AS56FF (for example)

That would be your wireless password, and your laptop should prompt you for it when you try to connect.

If you ever forget it, just connect to the router with a LAN cable, go to 192.168.1.1, log on, and then go to wireless -> security and you'll see it again.
 

mich_2103

New Member
Jul 26, 2003
193
0
0
35
Visit site
#12
No problem. :)

Ok, if it's "disabled" it means that ANYONE has access to your wifi.

You can try setting it to WEP, 64-bit encryption. This will generate a string that'll look like:

64DA5AS56FF (for example)

That would be your wireless password, and your laptop should prompt you for it when you try to connect.

If you ever forget it, just connect to the router with a LAN cable, go to 192.168.1.1, log on, and then go to wireless -> security and you'll see it again.
God... Yeah, the technician was talking nonsense man!

Ok, the site is asking me to key in a passphrase. So this passphrase is like my password?
 

satay16

Senior Member
Jan 14, 2006
3,067
0
0
#13
God... Yeah, the technician was talking nonsense man!

Ok, the site is asking me to key in a passphrase. So this passphrase is like my password?
passphrase is used to generate your key. methinks.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#14
God... Yeah, the technician was talking nonsense man!

Ok, the site is asking me to key in a passphrase. So this passphrase is like my password?
It's what will be used to generate the password. You can use anything... your name, etc.
 

shawnlim

New Member
Sep 22, 2004
252
0
0
44
Jurong West
#20
so, may I know where to dispose old laptop?


:)
i guess you could donate it to some charity organisation or someone near your work place, some poor family in singapore really need one for their child. i gave my old p3 desktop sometimes like 3 years ago to cleaner who works in the same company as my wife. she's pretty pity. she's a widow and she has to hold two jobs just to feed her two children and she only earn like $800 a month. barely enough to eat not to mention buying a pc for her kids.
well if you concern abbout your data, just refomat it before giving out of just plug in a new one for them, now HDD dont really cost much nowsday.:)
i must say i'm not rich or well to do, just trying to do some good deeds while i still can.
For the TS. if you dont mind a small token from me , i guess i would like to buy your notebook. you can remove your hdd, i will get a new one myself and i guess i will pass it to the widow again.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom