How to convert .THM format to .JPG all at once ?


Status
Not open for further replies.

S11loop

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2005
3,530
3
0
Pasir Ris
#1
i got about 400+ photographs all in .THM so is there any way i can convert them one shot into .JPG without rename them one by one ???
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#2
Go to command prompt:

C:\[folder name]>move *.THM *.JPG <enter>

One reason why I always loved command line interface over GUI.
 

Clown

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2003
3,780
1
38
Singapore
#3
either that or use ACDsee
 

judeseah

New Member
Jan 20, 2005
474
0
0
51
1 Dalvey Road
#4
Clown said:
either that or use ACDsee
like this route,
just select all from 'Edit' tab,
press F2 and carryon from there.

sorri about ur incident, bro S11loop.
 

S11loop

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2005
3,530
3
0
Pasir Ris
#5
judeseah said:
like this route,
just select all from 'Edit' tab,
press F2 and carryon from there.

sorri about ur incident, bro S11loop.
huh sorry ? oh its nothing and its suppose to purposely delete all the photos i have taken due to some rights issue now i just want to retrieve it back to read thru my own photographs
 

huggable

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,702
0
0
East side
#6
I'm not sure if the data format of .thm is the same as .jpg. But if you want to batch rename the filename extension, "ren *.thm *.jpg<enter>" would perform the job.

espn said:
Go to command prompt:

C:\[folder name]>move *.THM *.JPG <enter>

One reason why I always loved command line interface over GUI.
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#7
huggable said:
I'm not sure if the data format of .thm is the same as .jpg. But if you want to batch rename the filename extension, "ren *.thm *.jpg<enter>" would perform the job.
The recovery software gave the extension of .HTM for S11Loop's file in another thread that he started, after testing 1 renaming to JPG he managed to see the file preview, so thus he requested for help on batch renaming.

And you're probably right on using 'ren', I must be thinking of the UNIX command 'mv' instead. My bad.
 

huggable

Senior Member
Nov 2, 2004
3,702
0
0
East side
#8
No worries, now I get the full picture too. For command-prompt usage, either the "ren" or "rename" will rename the file name/extension. OT a bit, the "move" command actually has a hidden usage, that is to rename directory names!
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#9
On unix, to rename it's to 'mv', :) same reasoning behind I guess.

I still remember copy and xcopy on windows :)
 

Clown

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2003
3,780
1
38
Singapore
#10
espn said:
On unix, to rename it's to 'mv', :) same reasoning behind I guess.

I still remember copy and xcopy on windows :)
i remember the days before xcopy and deltree...
it's a total nightmare trying to delete panzer general without deltree.
arj and pkzips were fun..
 

Apr 12, 2004
549
0
0
#11
yup... esp when u need to span into multiple disks..
wow.. those were really the days siah.. haha... ;)
 

slaam

New Member
Aug 29, 2004
1,548
0
0
West
naturespies.blogspot.com
#12
if you need a good batch renamer google for 14a rename or 1 for all renamer...
if you need to batch convert image formats check out irfanview its a free image program
 

Srinivasu

New Member
Sep 5, 2008
1
0
0
37
#13
if you need a good batch renamer google for 14a rename or 1 for all renamer...
if you need to batch convert image formats check out irfanview its a free image program
when ever i try to change the files thm to jpg formate below error is occered

Given command is: E:\Srinivas_songs&wal\Themes>move*.THM*.JPG<enter>
Error is: ,move*.THM*.JPG, is not recognized as an internam or external command,
opperable program or batch file.

Please give me sugastion
 

GavinTing

New Member
Oct 16, 2007
1,299
0
0
26
#14
when ever i try to change the files thm to jpg formate below error is occered

Given command is: E:\Srinivas_songs&wal\Themes>move*.THM*.JPG<enter>
Error is: ,move*.THM*.JPG, is not recognized as an internam or external command,
opperable program or batch file.

Please give me sugastion
you forgot the space.
 

lennyl

New Member
Mar 27, 2008
1,520
0
0
Northern California
#15
Given command is: E:\Srinivas_songs&wal\Themes>move*.THM*.JPG<enter>
you forgot the space.
Specifically : rename *.THM *.JPG

(more than 1 space between parameters is harmless)

Edit : For huggable : I looked at the thumbnails for my video files from Canon SD450 and they are JPEGs, complete with EXIF.

OT : Speaking of command lines, who's old enough to remember PR#6 and is not ashamed to admit it? :bsmilie:
 

Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom