How to choose a camera (the sensor format method)

This thread is now accorded 'Sticky' status ....... thanks for gathering the research and info bro '

ed

I agree really great info about the cameras. Thanks Shahmatt. Keep it coming! ;p;p

nice, good info...

:)good info:)

hey guys~~ im new to photography and was thinking of buying a new camera to start practicing. do you all think a digi cam is good enough? was gonna wait for Megatex but i saw at (superdeals.insing) that this is a pre-event sales and $88 for a FUJIFLIM JV210 sounds cheap enough (plus im on a budget) . havent been able to find much helpful reviews on the camera and wanna seek your advices!!! thanks in advance! :D please helpppp ^^

Awesome stuff. I like the diagram below.

But how do I know in video cameras like Sony NX70P, Sony VG-20 and Canon XA10, what are their image sensor size ?

Thanks

The most common types of sensor formats available right now are: 1/2.5”, 1/1.6”, four-thirds and APS-C. An illustration of sensor formats is show below:
500px-Sensor_sizes_overlaid_inside_-_updated.svg.png

Source: Image sensor format - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I'm not a close follower of videography, but according to google your options have the following sensor sizes:

Sony NX70P: 1/2.88" sensor
Canon XA10: 1/3" CMOS Sensor
Sony VG20: APS-C sensor

In theory the VG20 should offer superior image quality with better dynamic range and low image noise. However reviews seem to suggest that the unit offers poor value for money in terms of features.

Actually modern day cameras with liveview offer very good alternatives to dedicated video cameras. In fact the 5D Mark II has secured quite a reputation amongst amateur videographers as an extremely good full-frame video camera that offers very good value for the features within.

It may be that the video camera and the DSLR are both slated for extinction in the medium to long term - just like film has now been on the endangered list for some years now.