How to avoid overexpose and reflection with mid-day sun?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ConnorMcLeod

Jul 23, 2005
Singapore, West
Hi,

Was trying to get a good shot of the temple today at around 1pm.
Sun was strong. CPL didn't have any effect on reducing the reflection
on the golden dome at all.

Photo taken using Canon 350D and Sigma 28-300mm lens. Settings as follows:
- ISO 100
- Focal Length = 86mm
- Av = 9.0
- Tv = 1/250

Appreciate if experts here can share some tips on how to improve
quality of this kind of shots.

Picture was cropped, and reduced resolution to enable upload
(how can I upload > 100kbyte photo?)

Please post your suggestions here. Thanks!

showphoto.php

i'm no expert... but it seems it would be quite diffcuilt to capture a properly exposed picture espcially when the range of bright and dark is so vast...

i.e, details in the stone relif vs. details in the shadowy areas of the windows, statues and so on....

What I would do is to bracket my shots, over exposing(+) and underexposing(-) by 1 stop then digitally merge the pictures to achive what i think is known as a bigger dynamic range

This also works great on pics that require parts of the sky in the picture, as often the sky blows out...

What i think is needed would be:
A tripod
and i would use the time value to bracket, and keep my apature constant (i prefer a large F-stop in this case)

hope it helps!

Why do you choose to shoot in mid-day with the sun blazing down on your camera? Why, set yourself with this problem?
Are you doing a test on your camera?

The best time to shoot is morning before the sun becomes intense and afternoon after the sun about to set.Photographers always avoid the blazing sun.:)

Choose a good day to shoot.:cool:

both james and moo has said the main point..

but if u really have to take a shot at the very bright sunlight, then i guess bracketing and PS is the way to go ba..