how to avoid grainy (noisy) picts when using high ISO?


Status
Not open for further replies.

psyber85

New Member
Mar 23, 2006
62
0
0
AMK
#1
Taken using high ISO night scene.
how to eliminate the noise?

 

Witness

Senior Member
Mar 18, 2004
6,943
0
36
34
www.maverickatwork.com
#3
how to avoid?
there are programmes such as neatimage and noiseninja out there .... free for trial if i am not wrong...they should help to reduce noise on ya images...

of coz if u didnt wanna do this the other obvious answer is to get a camera with better noise control then hahah

cheers
 

jonnie84

New Member
Jan 21, 2006
224
0
0
Pasir Ris
#4
any other softwares that can perform noise reduction? photoshop can?
 

Redsun

Senior Member
Nov 27, 2005
7,931
1
0
37
Singapore
www.flickr.com
#5
i think the best way to have low noise is to use long exposure,and u would need a tripod for that.for photoshop i think theres a plugin to clean up the noise but i cant recall the name..anyone knows the name?
 

DT_

New Member
Nov 4, 2005
883
0
0
#6
there're more then a dozen noise remover softwares... some jus plug in PS.. do you shopping with google..
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#7
psyber85 said:
Taken using high ISO night scene.
how to eliminate the noise?

http://img61.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture19ut.jpg
Wah.. what camera and what ISO did you use? Have you resized the picture or is that a 100% crop?

Here is a night image shot at ISO800.


And here is a 100% crop of the region with the moon. And excuse me for being blunt, I think the noise is still better than that of your image.
 

smtan24

New Member
Dec 21, 2005
1,496
0
0
45
Tampines
#9
I heard if you cool your camera down you reduce the noise off the CCD. Less heat less noise. don't know how true this is.
 

lsisaxon

Senior Member
Nov 29, 2004
11,941
0
0
#10
smtan24 said:
I heard if you cool your camera down you reduce the noise off the CCD. Less heat less noise. don't know how true this is.
Yes.. Some astro people use thermo electric coolers to cool their CCD during the astro shots. One problem is condensation.
 

yqt

Senior Member
Sep 8, 2004
1,750
0
36
East of Singapore
#12
anyone tried using the "Long exp. NR" on their D70? I usually set it to "OFF". Anyone care to comment?
 

compro_1975

Senior Member
Apr 24, 2005
1,983
0
0
#15
wat cam u using??? looks more jia lat then my fx8
 

yqt

Senior Member
Sep 8, 2004
1,750
0
36
East of Singapore
#16
wildstallion said:
mines off too, it does nothing but slow down processing time
Just did a test. Notice the slow down ( when shooting on con't mode ) the improvment is very min. when blow up to 100% in CS on my laptop.
 

#17
yqt said:
Just did a test. Notice the slow down ( when shooting on con't mode ) the improvment is very min. when blow up to 100% in CS on my laptop.
yup takes ages man, and no real improvemnt, so i just leave off, yet another great invention from nikon :bsmilie:

nah i love them really :thumbsup:
 

yqt

Senior Member
Sep 8, 2004
1,750
0
36
East of Singapore
#18
wildstallion said:
yup takes ages man, and no real improvemnt, so i just leave off, yet another great invention from nikon :bsmilie:

nah i love them really :thumbsup:
well fuji S2 have very good noise control, their iso 1000 is like the iso 640 on the D70:bigeyes: :bigeyes: but the writing is waaaaaay tooooooooo sloooooooow:bsmilie:
 

yqt

Senior Member
Sep 8, 2004
1,750
0
36
East of Singapore
#20
wildstallion said:
well d200 is supposed to have better noise control
better than the S2? I though S2 and S3 have got the best noise control in the market so far!!!:bigeyes: :bigeyes:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom