how to 100% crop in CS2

hwchoy

Jul 16, 2003
Tampines, Singapore.
www.hexazona.com
how to define a crop area in pixels and have the 100%-sized crop zone? right now if I just type in the size I want, it gives me a crop rectangle with the correct ratio but unrestricted size, and it resizes to the specified size after cropping. I want it NOT to resize? can or not?

I dun hv CS2 with me now, but if my memory serves me correct, there are some tiny check boxes on the right side of the aspect ratio which u can set. u just need to uncheck or check it.

The crop tool doesn't allow u to do tt.
U have to
1. create a layer from background (if it's a background)
2. from the menu, Image --> canvas size
3. type in your dimensions
4. move the layer until u want the portion to be shown
5. flatten image.

Let me paraphrase for hwchoy :)

By default, if you set your crop rectangle at 800 px X 600 px and crop your unresized original picture,

the cropped portion will be resized to 800 px x 600 px.

What he wants is to have a unresized crop which is 100% the actual size.

AReality said:
The crop tool doesn't allow u to do tt.
U have to
1. create a layer from background (if it's a background)
2. from the menu, Image --> canvas size
3. type in your dimensions
4. move the layer until u want the portion to be shown
5. flatten image.

Cheem :confused:

try this..

1. select crop tool
2. set style to "fixed size" - see pic below
3. enter height and width. add 'px' for pixels, eg 1000 px
4. select area to crop

crop-example.jpg

madmacs said:
try this..

1. select crop tool
4. select area to crop

crop-example.jpg

ya, something like that, is this a customized skin for cs2? mine looks quite different.

madmacs said:
try this..

1. select crop tool
4. select area to crop

crop-example.jpg
I dun think tt's a crop tool rite?
Tt's the rectangular marquee tool.

Dun think can crop using this method.
But can copy the marqueed area, then create new image, paste inside.

AReality said:
I dun think tt's a crop tool rite?
Tt's the rectangular marquee tool.

Dun think can crop using this method.
But can copy the marqueed area, then create new image, paste inside.

oops..my mistake. i did mean rectangular marquee :embrass:

anyway...after selecting the area you want to crop, select Image, Crop to crop the selection.

hwchoy said:
how to define a crop area in pixels and have the 100%-sized crop zone? right now if I just type in the size I want, it gives me a crop rectangle with the correct ratio but unrestricted size, and it resizes to the specified size after cropping. I want it NOT to resize? can or not?

not sure about CS2, using PS7 here. i usually use rectangular marquee tool to do that. choose style->fix size, CTRL-C to copy, CTRL-N to open a new file, CTRL-V to paste. this way i never have to risk messing the original file.

thanx guys! learned how to use the marquee tool :)

evenstar, with the crop tool you can't fixed the size of the cropping rectangle leh.

hwchoy said:

If you want 100% crop (i.e. just a crop of original picture and no resizing), then only specify the width and height (in inches for the wanted ratio) but leave the resolution (pixel per inch) box blank :

http://forums.clubsnap.org/showpost.php?p=1849084&postcount=4