How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?


Status
Not open for further replies.

A-Von

New Member
Jul 12, 2005
188
0
0
#1
ok, for eg.

i had saved my image & wanted to go back to change my font or blending options, how do i go about doing it?

Thanks in advance.
 

Zplus

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2002
2,397
0
0
19
Some equitorial, tropical isle
#2
If you had saved in psd format its layers should still be there.
Once you save to jpg, the layers are flattened and you are unable to seperate layers.
;p
 

A-Von

New Member
Jul 12, 2005
188
0
0
#3
wow, that's fast..thanks

ok which means if i save in jpg format, there's no way back in unlocking?

does imagehosting sites accept psd format?
 

jOhO

Senior Member
Apr 20, 2003
6,485
0
0
41
Singapore
www.expressivelyjoho.com
#4
after saving in jpg the layers are flattened (and locked). but there is still a layer, called the BACKGROUND.

to unlock that, double click on the name and just rename the layer.
 

A-Von

New Member
Jul 12, 2005
188
0
0
#8
sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)
 

Clown

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2003
3,780
1
38
Singapore
#9
A-Von said:
sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)
no. it's all gone.
 

Zplus

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2002
2,397
0
0
19
Some equitorial, tropical isle
#10
A-Von said:
sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)
No, once you save as jpg it, all the layers are flatten (merge into one).;)

The rest who say can unlock background is talking about a different thing. When you open an image, it is by default called a background layer. This background layer is "locked" and you are only allowed limited editing. To "unlock" it you make a copy of it and then edit on that. I think they probably misunderstood your question. Sometimes happens in CS as some folks just tend to write w/o thinking much.
;p
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom