Hi New Here, Seek Comments

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackCloud

Sep 1, 2008
Central
Hi, I am new to DSLR and Photography and seek to learn more on how to improve my photography skills.

Please give your valuable comments on the this shot that I have took.

2875714528_4f45efde22.jpg

The image was taken on the following settings on a EOS 450D with Kits Lens 18-55mm:

Shooting Mode:AV
Shutter Speed: 0.3
Aperture Value: 5.6
Exposure Compensation: 0
ISO Speed: 400
Focal Length: 55mm

The image seems okay on a smaller scale. However it looks grainy when scale to 100% (4272 x 2848 RAW).

Why is that so? Is it due to my settings or Camera shake? Or is that limitation of the kit lens?

Thanks for viewing.

BlackCloud :)

Probably ISO noise. Try using lower ISO.

The image was taken on the following settings on a EOS 450D with Kits Lens 18-55mm:

Shooting Mode:AV
Shutter Speed: 0.3
Aperture Value: 5.6
Exposure Compensation: 0
ISO Speed: 400
Focal Length: 55mm

The image seems okay on a smaller scale. However it looks grainy when scale to 100% (4272 x 2848 RAW).

Why is that so? Is it due to my settings or Camera shake? Or is that limitation of the kit lens?

Thanks for viewing.

It's not because of lenses that you get grain, not is it camera shake. It's your ISO. Try shooting at 100 ISO.

This is especially evident when shooting RAW, as it does not pass through noise reduction.

Thanks for your prompt replies, I will bear that in mind regarding the ISO. :)

But, will reducing the ISO cause the image to be darker?

Yes as the sensor's sensitivity to light is decreased. To counter this increase exposure length

Yes as the sensor's sensitivity to light is decreased. To counter this increase exposure length

By exposure length, do you mean the exposure compensation? Hehehe... (New to the jargons)