Hi all! New to DSLR & choosing between 550D & 60D

ctxx83

Nov 29, 2010
Hi to all the pple here :cool: i am new to the DSLR realm and hope all the good pple here can guide me. I am thinking between 550D and 60D and still couldnt make up my mind. I've try 550D however the camera is too small for my hand, and i prefer the 60D though.
After studying between 550D and 60D, i find that there isnt much difference between this 2 camera and to fork out the exra cash for 60D is quite painful. hee. I've tried to go through some of the post in this forum but seldom i see pple commenting about 60D..
hmmm i really need some help here. i hope you good pple here can help me out. Million thanks in advance :D

there is quite some difference in the sense that the 60d would offer more features.

build-wise, i think the 60d is touted to be plastic, but probably would still have a slightly superior build to the entry level offering from canon.

one important point to note is that the 60d AF is likely to be more accurate (and faster) than 550d. of course, this is subject to tests to determine if this is the case, but that is a consistent trend to separate what is considered as a semi-prosumer dslr from the entry level dslrs.

as you also point out, the size and handling of the camera is likely to be different as well.

you can use this for a side by side comparison:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sidebyside.asp

looking quickly, same megapixels (meaningless, frankly), same iso range, 60d allows kelvin WB adjustments, faster max shutter speed (1/8000 sec versus 1/4000 sec) , faster fps (5.3 versus 3.7), pentaprism VF versus pentamirror (pentaprism is brighter, larger, better magnification, please google for more comparisons).

Thanks alot night86mare! ;)

By the way, what is kelvin WB adjustment?