Help needed, 2mp or >3mp???

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cegnet

I am a newbie at digital camera, (had been using SLR all along)
Could someone be kind enough to help mi.

i heard pp saying that if u wan to print out hardcopy of ur pic, u needed at least 3Megapixel and above.

This is true?? If not, wat is the most reliable, cheapest digital camera around?
Thank :)

Originally posted by cegnet
I am a newbie at digital camera, (had been using SLR all along)
Could someone be kind enough to help mi.

i heard pp saying that if u wan to print out hardcopy of ur pic, u needed at least 3Megapixel and above.

This is true?? If not, wat is the most reliable, cheapest digital camera around?
Thank :)

3mp will be the coming low-end... the models wil generally be going 3mp...
meaning that if u're on a tight budget, 2mp cams will be cheaper.
and afaik, the low end cameras are never going to have any major features/functions improvements..
so any one will do....

as for hardcopy, the higher the better, as usual. sharper the more mp. but generally 2mp is good enough at 5R to "miss" the jaggies, and 3mp at S8R, for general detailed pics. if u shoot skies and tones the res dun matter that much...

cheapest reliable"st" one? imho think they all suck at this range... yeah imho :)

As a previous SLR user, u will definitely miss the control u have over your pics if u go for a 2-3 MP cam, as most have not enough manual settings for u to play around with. Furthermore, the feel and 'power' of the camera will also not be there.

If possible, try to go for 4 MP cams. It's a good compromise between pic quality, price & ease of use. Last time, 2 MP was the standard. Now it's 3 MP. I estimate by the end of this year, 4 MP will be what manufacturers aim for. My 2 MP cam bought almost two years ago is a little 'obsolete', compared to now.