HELP my computer crashed ?


Status
Not open for further replies.
#1
Hi fellow clubsnappers..

My desktop running on XP , just only when i restart my computer, it cannot boot up to the windows... stop till after it load Windows XP and it goes blank.. have anyone ever encounter this before ? i tried to reformat my com by putting in the windows XP disc but seems like it didnt work as it didnt prompt me abt reformatting my computer..

need some help guys.

cheers !
 

limwhow

Senior Member
Jun 9, 2009
7,048
0
0
Life revolves arOnd East Coast
#2
Hi fellow clubsnappers..

My desktop running on XP , just only when i restart my computer, it cannot boot up to the windows... stop till after it load Windows XP and it goes blank.. have anyone ever encounter this before ? i tried to reformat my com by putting in the windows XP disc but seems like it didnt work as it didnt prompt me abt reformatting my computer..

need some help guys.

cheers !
Two possibilities:
1. There is a conflict between two or more USB equipment on your system. Try taking out all your USB dongles (esp Bluetooth, hard drives, what ever) and restart. If after this, Windows can start properly, then your question is answered: USB conflict. Then slowly insert them one by one.
2. Power supply box faulty. Happened twice to me. If there is no USB conflict, then could be this. Got to send for testing at your computer man's shop.

My humble opinion. I hope this could help.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#8
maybe , RAM ,graphic card or HD, hmmm or maybe your CPU fan spoil ?
alot of unknowns, try reinstall first.

go ur bios and set pc start up run your CD-ROM first to reformatt HD.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#9
i got another question , i think i will send it to servicing .. but then again, my andyson500w PSU is still under 3yrs warrenty, so i go back to the shop where i bought all my stuff from and let them repair ?
YES, that would be the best.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#11
sad man , i put in the XP disc still cannot reformat..
u mean after u set ur com to boot-up from CD-rom it does not ?
insert your cd-rom first when u power on it.
you should not see any windows bootup screen at all... you should just see a black screen promting .... boot from cd-rom.... after that you will go to a windows setup screen.

gp slp liao, oyasumi.
time to send for sevicing.... if ya can't do the above mentioned.
have fun :sweat:

i normally partition a second drive for a backup OS, so i can boot up on another OS , just in case ....to just back up my files.
 

Last edited:

zaxh81

Senior Member
Jan 29, 2003
4,339
0
0
Earth
louisleow.blogspot.com
#12
Try reseat ur RAMs and see how it goes
Could be HDD problem too.

Go to BIOs and choose 1st boot device as CDrom, insert your Win XP disc and restart.
 

Last edited:
#13
u mean after u set ur com to boot-up from CD-rom it does not ?
insert your cd-rom first when u power on it.
you should not see any windows bootup screen at all... you should just see a black screen promting .... boot from cd-rom.... after that you will go to a windows setup screen.

gp slp liao, oyasumi.
time to send for sevicing.... if ya can't do the above mentioned.
have fun :sweat:

i normally partition a second drive for a backup OS, so i can boot up on another OS , just in case ....to just back up my files.
err.. even if i put in the disc, it didnt prompt me the black screen asking me to reformat.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#14
Try reseat ur RAMs and see how it goes
Could be HDD problem too.

Go to BIOs and choose 1st boot device as CDrom, insert your Win XP disc and restart.
hmm resert the CMOS ?

err.. even if i put in the disc, it didnt prompt me the black screen asking me to reformat.
its not just put in the disc , must set the computer... got a boot up sequence wan :)
got read the manual for your motherboard.

time to visit the local tech :x


fyi, normally if overclock too high or HD crash, you can get missing files error just before windows starts.
 

StrifeYun

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2006
2,231
0
36
Rivervale Drive
#17
fwah , glad to hear, hope ya had a gd nite slp liaoz :p
computer sometimes .... can have million scenarios :sweat:
 

Mar 12, 2006
911
1
0
Jurong West
#18
" it cannot boot up to the windows... stop till after it load Windows XP and it goes blank.. "

It means your hardware is functional. More of XP and software problem, assuming your XP is original, sometimes the automatic update can F$% up your windows. Happens to me sometimes too.

Get a Recovery Software installed. I use Paragon Hardisk Manager 2009 , where the installed copy has a function to make a copy of itself on a usb flashdrive which is self booting.

Very useful for me when windows xp simply refuse to boot. Just plug that thumbdrive, reboot , set boot on usb drive, Paragon loads, select appropriate function.

Also not to skip installing a antivirus software. It's really essential on XP. Anyway I've said bye-bye to XP, using Windows 7 RC 64bit, power!
 

Last edited:
May 24, 2008
103
0
0
north
#19
well guess , i finally manage to reformat my whole comp. thanks for the advice..

but i still dont know what is the cause of this weird incident.. might be virus attack..:sweat:
maybe the "good brothers" playing around on your com?? its 7th ghost month...:cool:
 

#20
fwah , glad to hear, hope ya had a gd nite slp liaoz :p
computer sometimes .... can have million scenarios :sweat:
Wah liew, didnt have a good night lor. after set up everything , dl back my stuff till 6am , went to bed and got to wake up at 7.15am for lecture. :sweat::sweat:
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom