HDR steps?


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
can any kind soul teach me how?what are the kind of images i must shoot and how do i merge them in cs2?

i did a search but couldnt find if this has been discussed b4.
if therre is, please point me to it.appreciated.:heart:
 

#2
hi,
the most effective ways is for u to use a HDR merging software called photomatix, but i use photoshop. use a tripod and bracket a minimum of 3 shot 1 half stops apart. then use the hdr tools to merge them. i do some post processing after that to add my editing styles. here's an example. i hope it helps.

shah

 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#3
what are the ps steps involved to merge?is there a 'merge HDR' button?:dunno:

your 'haunted house' pic really gives me the creeps!:)
 

glensky

New Member
Aug 11, 2004
758
0
0
49
#4
what are the ps steps involved to merge?is there a 'merge HDR' button?:dunno:

your 'haunted house' pic really gives me the creeps!:)
click e merge to hdr at e automate,then choose three files or more u can add or delete.then viola.remember images should be e same size.:nono:
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#6
thanks glensky and ahzeep:heart:
 

dominator

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2005
1,662
0
0
11
Amazon Forest
#7
hi,
the most effective ways is for u to use a HDR merging software called photomatix, but i use photoshop. use a tripod and bracket a minimum of 3 shot 1 half stops apart. then use the hdr tools to merge them. i do some post processing after that to add my editing styles. here's an example. i hope it helps.

shah

Pardon me but somehow this does not look like a HDR photo to me...maybe just me :dunno:
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,587
0
0
Singapore
#8
not very HDR.

jeanie. do a search here in CS. theres at least 2 threads on this HDR on this section. ;)
 

Blu-By-U

Senior Member
Aug 2, 2006
1,631
1
38
Selangor D.E.
#9
Here is one I tried..

Large size here. The shots that contributed to the picture.


Large size here if you want to try them for yourself.
Shot 1, Shot 2 and Shot 3
Feel free to d/l the pictures here and do your own adjustments. Only 1 condition, just post the result up for us to see. If possible the steps and setting you have used.

Have fun. :D
 

LENS

New Member
Apr 8, 2005
755
0
0
#10
well, i guess how HDR look depends very much or what kind of scene u capture, color and tone.. guess HDR make photo look a bit unrealistic in landscape with big contrast and many color tone..

maybe u can try to get a photo and use photoshop to adjust underexposure and overexposure, and save as 2 photo and try a HDR in photoshop? let's see your results..
 

Blu-By-U

Senior Member
Aug 2, 2006
1,631
1
38
Selangor D.E.
#11
Yes you can also do that. Only problem is that you should capture it in slightly underexpose. Over exposed shots will loose details. So preferably shoot it in RAW hence the conversion to multiple exposure shots can be easily achieved.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#14
thanks all.

blu-by-u...
nowadays, PS so powerful...seriously, having a DSLR is ONLY the basic necessity to digital photography.

it's 'kind of' sad.:cry:
 

Blu-By-U

Senior Member
Aug 2, 2006
1,631
1
38
Selangor D.E.
#19
It is HDR. The trees and foreground Are relative bright. If you notice my earlier attempt, I skip the toning (tone) so the picture turn out rather like normal...but when I played around with the tone, it is totally different.

HDR can also be created with a single shot in RAW. All you need to do is to have separate shots developed of different exposure. Since most of the time the details are captured by the sensor but not possible to display.

So a single shot of a model taken in RAW can actually be used. How it turns out is another story.

Just out of curiosity, if trees and clouds move and HDR can still be done, then why a slight movement of a model cannot be compensated??

The 3 shots i posted, the wave are hitting the shore all at different positions but the final looks ok...why??
 

#20
It is HDR. The trees and foreground Are relative bright. If you notice my earlier attempt, I skip the toning (tone) so the picture turn out rather like normal...but when I played around with the tone, it is totally different.

HDR can also be created with a single shot in RAW. All you need to do is to have separate shots developed of different exposure. Since most of the time the details are captured by the sensor but not possible to display.

So a single shot of a model taken in RAW can actually be used. How it turns out is another story.

Just out of curiosity, if trees and clouds move and HDR can still be done, then why a slight movement of a model cannot be compensated??

The 3 shots i posted, the wave are hitting the shore all at different positions but the final looks ok...why??
Slight movement of the model? Maybe that's because the model is the main subject of the photo :). Do you think an image of a model with handshake blur look nice to you?

The clouds for landscape are in the background, the slight movement doesn't really affect the picture cos (in my opinion) the image works as a whole :). Infact, I don't really like the slight movement of trees in my "HDR" images ;p. I'll go find a RAW model image and try one :).
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom